We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at the Pony Express”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Pony Express Motel June 28-July 5th 2013. The pony express is cute well maintained and the staff was very friendly. A special shout out to Clint the owner he was very friendly and helpful. He helped by boyfriend unload our Motorcycle and reload it when we were leaving even calling in a friend of his to help us. Thank You Clint!!

Our room was located in the middle of the motel on the bottom floor easy access to our bike and vehicle. Our room was very clean and cleaned very well daily, a full kitchen with all the pots pans dishes etc. The bathroom was tiny but we made do, nice bathroom amenities also. Our room was quiet we were never disturbed by the rooms next door so that is a plus. The pool was a nice touch and we hung out a couple days and enjoyed it. There is even a grill by the pool and we bought steaks one night and grilled out very nice to be able to do that. They do have laundry which is located in the basement (not scary) :) which was a huge plus. There is a pop,snack machine and an ice machine also. The Pony Express is located right next to the Phillips 66 gas station if that helps to find it just turn into the gas station and you will see the driveway. The location is a little away from the main town but you could walk to a few things easily and we did, but if your going into the town you would want to drive or take the bus.
It isn't far from the Gran Tetons and beautiful Jenny Lake we really enjoyed this area and can't wait to return just breathtaking!! Make sure you go to the Bunnery for breakfast but go early cause the line goes down the sidewalk! :)
We really enjoyed this gem of a Motel and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Kristi welcomed us with a smile and information on local events, not just tourist places.
She walked us to the room to make sure it was cleaned. The room with a
full kitchen was perfect. The bath area was updated with the sink separate from bathroom.
The place was spotless and room great. The one draw back was the street noise which we overcame by opening the back windows and running the fan. The bed was comfortable and inviting after a long day of hiking.
The location was a mile out of town, which was perfect. Town was crowded and hard to get around in. We had nearby grocery, liquor and gas station
Going left could be a challenge, ask Clint and he gives you the ideal way to go- along the frontage road to the light!
I would recommend this to all ages, we never heard our neighbors. When we get back to Jackson we certainly wil stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very friendly and accommodating owners and staff. Jordon was especially hospitable. We stayed in the condo unit and it was perfect. Hotel is very good for what it is. Remember, you are not staying in the city, this is a rustic setting with good serviceable accommodations. The pool is clean as well. The entire motel faces the road, as do all the motels on this strip. We could not hear any street noise. The bedrooms are in the back.The only thing to be aware of is that the entrance to the hotel is through a Phillips 66 gas station. It is easy to miss so be aware.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlacklabMookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I needed a place to stay for one night and found the Pony Express on the TripAdvisor site. Small motel that was very convenient. It's a short drive from the town center, but easy to get to town. It's on a very busy corner which can be challenging. My room had a full kitchen with a dishwasher so they clearly market toward extended stay guests. Room was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Everything about this place is average, but the price. The good news is that the place is clean-- but well scrubbed also describes the décor. It is a hike to central Jackson. If this review is less than enthusiastic, so was the experience. It is just a place to stay on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at this motel while visiting Jackson Hole. The room assigned to us was not the room promised. Instead we were given a room [#7] right outside the vending/ice machines and the stairs. Since we had a dog, this was not the best location.
The room was clean and had a small stocked kitchen. The bed was not comfortable due to the mattress. Ours definitely needed to be replaced- offered no support.
Getting to this location is not easy and it would be helpful if the management would inform their guests prior to arrival. Be very careful departing from the hotel as the main road is extremely busy.
This location is most likely the least expensive but I would choose another location even if it cost more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vending machines and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elleb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonyExpressJackson, General Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thanks for your review. We also got one from the other person who stayed in the room with you on the same visit. We are disappointed that you felt the need to give us two average reviews for the exact same stay. We do acknowledge we are an older property. But we believe you'll find no other staff or property who works harder to ensure our guests needs are met in every area of their stay at The Pony. We are also aware that many who travel have unrealistic expectations, especially when it comes to accommodations in Jackson. We know we are by far the best value in a very expensive destination, and will continue to provide excellent service and real old school hospitality, in spite of having an older motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pony Express Motel for three nights in August, 2013. It served as a good base for exploring the Jackson Hole area and though it was a bit more expensive than we might have liked, it was a good value compared to similar hotels in Jackson.

It is located on the southern edge of the central area of Jackson, at the junction of the road to the Teton Village ski area and to Teton National Park. For us this was a good location because it made it quick and easy to reach those areas for hiking. Although it might be fun to be closer to the old historic district, we were just a short drive to it. The Pony Express is just across the road from a new shopping center with a large supermarket, a very handy place for supplies.

The Pony Express was originally built in the classic two-story motel style, with rooms accessed by a common walkway along the front of the building. The rooms have been totally redone, though, so that inside they have been upgraded into attractively decorated and very comfortable accommodations complete with full kitchen. Our room (#20) was on the second floor and was large with a comfortable king bed (but hard pillows), a small table with chairs at the window, a reading chair, a large five-drawer dresser. The kitchen had a bar counter across one side with stools. Although we didn’t cook full meals we liked being able to make our own breakfasts and keep supplies for picnic lunches. The bathroom was rather small but adequate, with a tub/shower combo and a separate vanity area that had just a small amount of counter space. Wifi is included and worked well.

There were a few quirks that probably were the result of retrofitting an older structure – there was room for only one night stand, there was no closet and only pegs for hanging clothes (though the 5-drawer dresser provided adequate storage for folded items), and the attractive kitchen tile raised the floor level to the point of requiring care not to stub a toe at night. The large windows across the front provided plenty of light but also gave people walking by outside visual access to the room unless the shades were closed. These were minor problems, however.

The staff was uniformly friendly, helpful and welcoming. They seemed to really care about their facility and making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
624 reviews
1 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
765 reviews
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#23 of 40 in Jackson
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £55 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing