We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Bang for your Buck!”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More Bang for your Buck!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

When I was looking for lodging in Jackson, I was worried because all the downtown hotels cost at least $300.00 a night. I was pleased to find the Pony Express at half that price. When checking in the gracious lady at the front desk (so sorry, I've forgotten your name) offered to make dinner reservations. I took her up on her offer, since we did want to eat a specific place, and the town seemed crowded. She led me to our room, deemed a "family" room, which had a bunk bed set and what was described as a double bed, but I think it was a queen. We loved our room, and the location was ideal for getting on the road east the next day. Don't let the downtown prices scare you, this place is a wonderful place to stay, and it only takes a couple of minutes to drive back downtown!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwithaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    173
    57
    16
    17
See reviews for
169
211
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were not disappointed. The location is just a couple minutes down the road from downtown Jackson, but there are also a number of restaurants and stores even closer. We took a rafting trip and the office where we met up for the trip was not far at all from the hotel either. The grocery store across the street is within walking distance. The staff at checkin and checkout were friendly and made us feel welcome. The exterior of the property is well-maintained and the room appeared to be clean, but the bed was not very comfortable and overall I thought that maybe the room could stand to be spruced up just a bit. I would recommend a second-floor room because we were on the ground floor and I was awoken on both nights by the footsteps of the folks staying above us. Overall, at the price we paid, I'm not sure that I would call it a good value, but notwithstanding the price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Enjoyed a three day stay at Pony Express. The hospitality and room were excellent. A clean, pleasant experience for a fair value. Will definitely consider for future trips.
The location is adjacent to numerous attractions and conveniently located off the highway. The owners were helpful and offered suggestions for local businesses.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, IA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When our plan for a week in Estes Park, CO/RMNP had to be changed at the last minute, we were delighted to have Pony Express Motel recommended as a good place to stay. We were not disappointed with our 5-night stay as we explored Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks. Our queen unit had a full kitchen with a dishwasher. When we arrived we were made to feel welcome and escorted to our room. It was on the second level and faced the road. There was a minimum of traffic noise although the intersection is a busy one. There is plenty of space in the cupboards for your groceries and several hooks to hang your clothes on with a bench beneath for putting packs, purses, etc. on. The vanity in the bathroom had storage space for makeup bags and other essentials. There was only a small round table with a couple of hotel stye chairs, but there was a nice breakfast bar with 3 stools for eating. There are plenty of outlets to recharge all of your electronic devices. Although the space was on the small side, I found plenty of space where I could tuck things away, so they weren't underfoot. There is a large grocery store across the road for stocking up on supplies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We received a kind welcome from the owners. We took the two-bedroom suite : two connecting rooms, with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Clean, spacious, functional, good beds and a brand new air conditioner.

It’s a well located motel, close to Jackson. You can find a supermarket right across the road.

A good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the P.E. for two nights in the 2bedroom. The rooms were little tired but clean. The Motel is a little rustic and could use some updating but met our needs. The motel is within 1/8 mi from the Alamo/National car rental around the corner so very convenient if you have to drop a car and get the early morning shuttle. It is also very convenient to getting to Grand Teton Park from the south entrance. Very close to grocery store across the street for picking up items, McDonalds across the street. Cliff was very informative and very friendly. Our plane was late landing and he just left the keys on the front door, check in the next day. If you are looking for the Four Seasons this is not the place but very convenient, friendly staff and good place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HaggisDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI NY
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Its just about a mile outside the town. Albertsons grocery store is right on the corner & its a really nice one.The room we had was different then the usually hotel room. There was a queen bed & bunk beds.Refg & microwave. Room was really clean.The staff was great.We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 40 in Jackson
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Property: Pony Express Motel
Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing