We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Duncannon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were on our last leg of our trip West, and had booked a room, nearly a year in advance, a room that included a full kitchen. Tired and exhausted, we checked into our room, around 3pm. Dinner that night had been prepared at a previous location and frozen, so all we had to do was pop it in the oven. I looked around our room, and realized that did not put us in the desired and booked room with a kitchen. I went back over to the office and spoke with the owner Christy, to find out that they do not guarantee rooms, unless you stay for more than 2 days. The owners husband told me that we were actually in a more expensive room, which would have been great, if I had a family (it included bunk beds). The owners allowed me to use their oven, which sort of resolved the problem, but it did not resolve our problem, no place to cook breakfast the next morning. I feel that it really wasn't my fault they overbooked rooms with kitchens. So upon returning home, I went back to the motel website, no where does it say, rooms tyoes are not guaranteed unless you book for more than 2 nights. It only states that AFTER you have PAID for the room, on the confirmation paperwork. Regardless, the room was acceptable and clean. Bed was too soft though. It was extremely noisy, as the person staying above seemed to be jumping up and down all night long. Amazingly, I am hearing impared, when I take my hearing aids out, I usually do not hear anything, but, I definately heard the person above us stomping - all night! Now, someone stomping has little to do with the accomodations, but I would say the walls are paper thin. The bathroom was tiny, but it had plenty of towels and toiletries - toilet paper, well...I don't mind changing the toilet paper roll if I was staying somewhere for several days, but I do not, when I am only staying one night! Overall, it was ok, but a huge disappointment for us. If I ever venture to Jackson again, we would be looking to spend our money eleswhere. Not having the kitchen blew it for us.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchen, you better book more than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    166
    57
    16
    16
See reviews for
159
202
29
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having tried to find a "name brand hotel" in area, but finding all booked, we came upon the Pony Express....what a find. Quaint little motel from the 60's but with all the modern upgrades..very clean.....fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, nicely decorated throughout....and most helpful staff...reasonably priced for area. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBG8ator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed a week at pony express and it was awesome. most important to us were the comfortable beds. condo #2 was awesome with porch sitting on the pool since we had 3 kids.
condo was cleaned everyday while we were out. Please get with Clint(owner) on resturants to visit for there are some very bad resturants in jackson hole. He sent us to Nora's in Wilson near end of week and it was the best food we had all week. Mexican place by Kmart was the worst experience i ever had, they should be shut down. They don't eat like we do in the south out west....Other than food, pony express and wyoming was most awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived here and were greeted by one of the owners Clint. He made us feel very comfortable and was very helpful giving us information. We stayed for 7 wonderful nites. Our room was very clean with a well stocked kitchen. Which was really nice to have. After a full day out we always came back to a nice clean room..
The location of the hotel is perfect. Everything is in walking distance if you choose to do so. Which was nice.
Because of our stay of 7 days we had a chance to get to know the owners which were full of information and very personable. The staff also was very helpful.
We would highly recommmend this hotel to stay while you're in Jackson.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassy0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first decent hotel of our trip. The rooms were amazing. They even had the easy shut drawers in the kitchen. The staff greeted us by name and were great. The pool was nice. Other than the driveway is shared with the gas station, it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for six days and when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly and helpful staff member. She gave us a map of the area and pointed out places of interest. She also gave us brochures on things we might be interested in doing.
Our room came with a stocked kitchen which was great. I enjoyed having the option to have a home cooked meal rather than going out all of the time. It also helped us save some money.
Another nice thing was that they had a laundry downstairs so we could keep up with fresh clothing instead of traveling back home with dirty laundry.
The room was clean when we checked in and was kept up when we left for the day.
I highly recommend coming to visit this hotel and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in many hotels on our way out to Yellowstone and back and this was one of our favorites! It had plenty of room for a family of four and our kids loved the bunk beds. The room was clean as well as the pool area and we enjoyed the coziness of the hotel! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bdtravelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#26 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.1 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.1 mi away
49'er Inn & Suites
49'er Inn & Suites
#20 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Property: Pony Express Motel
Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing