We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems at all - nice!”
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No problems at all - nice!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We got an insanely good deal far in advance via AAA, so that was pretty much the only reason we could afford to stay in Jackson.

The Elk Country was very nice. We experienced a quick and friendly check-in, and our room was clean, nicely appointed and plenty large for our six suitcases (we're on a 3-week road trip). Internet, fine. Noise level, absolutely no problem. Old TV, but we're not that picky.

The bathroom was on the roomier side, with a bit more floor space than a standard hotel room usually offers. Shower, fine; water pressure, fine. There was a guest laundry that we did not need to use.

Front desk staff were friendly (my hope is that they either fired the person referenced in older, negative reviews, or she mended her ways), and were quick to recommend a place for dinner.

I don't know where else to put this suggestion, so I'll put it here. We never leave home without two things:

1. A power strip (there never seem to be enough outlets for our various laptops and phones)
2. A small, personal fan (Honeywell makes a little black one for about $16)

These two items have saved us untold hassle; the first for obvious reasons, and the second for all-important white noise. It cancels out voices passing in the hall, traffic noise, and in general, noises you're unfamiliar with away from home. It's a godsend, and we wouldn't leave home without it. Just a suggestion.

If you're concerned about noise and cannot handle "white noise," you might consider earplugs for sleeping. It might save you a lot of aggravation.

But back to the Elk Country -- it was a great stay. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
It truly was pleasure to accommodate you while staying with us at the Elk Country Inn! Thank you for all of your compliments regarding the stay and the advice too! We hope that you will continue to enjoy the rest of your travels and please give us a call the next time your in Jackson, WY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    276
    68
    16
    5
See reviews for
273
251
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the Elk Country Inn on a recent visit to Wyoming in June 2011. The room was beautiful with rustic cabin style furniture, very clean, and the staff were helpful. They even have fresh baked cookies available every afternoon! The location was convenient and we were able to walk to shops and restaurants each day. We wish we could have stayed longer and would love to go back. We will recommend it to our friends and to anyone going to Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for spending the 4th of July holiday with us at the the Elk Country Inn! Our property is a convenient walking distance to everything in beautiful historic downtown Jackson. I have shared the compliments with the staff and they want to thank you for your review! I hope that the two of you continue to have safe journey and we want to see you again the next time you visit the Jackson Hole area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We recently stayed one night on our way to Yellowstone to take in the sights and sounds of Jackson. My husband came through town a year and a half ago and noticed the Elk Country Inn and it's proximity to the town square , but had stayed elsewhere. We were pleasantly surprised! We ended up in a cabin, cozy, clean, with kitchenette and everything we could need. The bed was amazingly comfortable and with 2 ! flatscreen TV's, it was just like being at home...The town square is a few minutes walk, as is the Snake River brewery, excellent food and brews! We would highly recommend the Elk Country Inn, very friendly ,helpful staff, quiet, and a great value for the money.

Room Tip: ask the staff for anything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Our staff thanks you for your kind words regarding the level of service, property, and recent stay at the Elk Country Inn! The cabins are a unique way to spend your time giving the guest a wilderness feel in a cozy cabin in the heart of downtown Jackson Hole! We are excited that you took advantage of the great restaurant Snake River Brew Pub within walking distance to the property. thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtown, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I stayed in Cabin 220 it was clean and very nice. I have nothing negative to say about the Cabin, Service, or Price. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillShiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
We want to thank you for your review of the Elk Country Inn! Our staff is glad that you enjoyed one of our luxury cabins! We certainly hope that our property will become your premiere destination when choosing properties in Jackson Hole, WY! Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The staff greeted me warmly and had our room ready per our reservation (including dog). The room was very clean, included a refrigerator and microwave, the TV and Internet worked well, and the dog area was handy to our room. The checkout was equally quick and the staff (owners?) were very helpful with regard to driving directions and dining recommendations. Coffee and fresh fruit were available in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for your kind review of the Elk Country Inn! We love to know when we have excelled in service and accommodations! It is nice to hear that you took the time to enjoy the courtyard we provide to our guest for a common area for grilling out and for kids and pets to play! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Jackson Hole area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Not sure about their pricing in peak season but in April you cannot find a better option for the price. From the beginning of our stay to the end. The staff was super, rooms were function, clean and the beds were great. Great internet speed at no extra cost. I will check with the Elk Country Inn before any others the next time I go to Jackson.

Room Tip: Try the cabins - we were upgraded free of charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Our staff wants to thank you for taking your time to review the Elk Country Inn! We love to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, clean rooms, and our location in town. It is always nice to hear when guest enjoy the FREE amenities in which we offer at the property. We look forward to seeing you again at the Elk Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed in one of the two-bedroom cabins at Elk Country Inn for seven nights and had a fabulous ski vacation! The value is outstanding and the location is perfect -- in town and close to all the restaurants and night spots -- all within short walking distance. The Inn provides free shuttle service to and from JHMR so no need to worry about driving your own car up and back to go skiing. The Inn is also on the free town bus line so it is easy to get to the grocery store and the liquor store any time you need. Inn employees were very friendly and helpful and service is outstanding. The only two aspects of the Inn that left a little to be desired were the hottub facility and the "continental breakfast". The hottub facility seemed old, in need of renovation and small, plus the water never really got good and hot. And, the light "continental breakfast" we were told was served, was really light-- only apples, oranges and bananas with coffee and tea. But the fresh- baked afternoon cookies were an unexpected treat every day!! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bswietlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for your kind review of the Elk Country Inn! We are glad that with a full week ski vacation we were the perfect fit for you. It is nice to hear when guests take the opportunity to enjoy all of the amenities in which we have to offer at our unique property. We hope that we will be your only choice when staying in the Jackson area and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.1 mi away
49'er Inn & Suites
49'er Inn & Suites
#21 of 40 in Jackson
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.5 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
0.3 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Property: Elk Country Inn
Address: 480 W Pearl Ave, Jackson, WY 83001-8409
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Business Hotel in Jackson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing