We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but good location”
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk Country Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but good location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here one night before our trip north into the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. This is considered a value-priced accommodation for the location. Seriously overpriced for what you get. The room was large, but dated, old, dark, and the window looked out over the very active parking lot. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The motel is located walking distance from the town square which was great. You don't get breakfast for the almost $200/night cost, but they do have cookies in the evening and fruit, coffee and tea in the morning. There is a little bagel place not too far down the street that was great for breakfast. Overall - good for one night if your budget can take it, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: There are tons of rooms - we stayed in the main building, so it was convenient to check-in and go ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaS91360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    266
    66
    16
    5
See reviews for
260
242
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I arrived in Jackson to find that our hotel (Jackson hole Lodge) was just gross. We ended up running into a staff member, of the Elk Country Inn, at a restaurant. She was eating dinner with her family and heard us discussing our situation and how we were grossed out by the Jackson Hole Lodge. She offered to help because she just wanted us to enjoy our stay in Jackson. She found us a cabin at the Elk Country Inn. We ended up checking it out and could not be happier. The Elk Country Inn had comfortable beds, unbelievably helpful staff, and fresh baked cookies each afternoon.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone. Our stay was perfect. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

3 queen loft very commodious but dated. Located in main building, they back up to Bubba's barbeque rib place. You can smell the ribs early in the day as they prepare, but you also hear the delivery tractor trailers and the grease removal trucks. Stay at the far end of the building.

Room Tip: stay at the far end of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the most overpriced accommodation on our 3 week trip of the national parks - I enjoyed the stay very much but would not stay for that price again.
Good clean comfortable accommodation. Also loved the hot tub and freshly baked cookies from reception. Reception staff great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There is so much to do in and around Jackson Hole in the summer. A stones throw from downtown Jackson, you have access to shops, restaurants, art and much more. The airport is a short and easy drive. The Grand Teton National Park is simply spectacular. And, you can drive to Yellowstone and enjoy the sights along the way. Wildlife is abundant.
The Elk Country Inn provides clean rooms at an affordable price. We opted for a suite with 2 rooms and a living room/kitchen combination (6 adults). It worked brilliantly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel after traveling from Colter Bay Cabin, to Old Faithful Cabin (very small), to Grant Village hotel room (sparse). The rooms are large with 2 queen beds, refrigerator and microwave. Two sinks, one with shower and toilet, and one separated by door with another mirror. The beds were very comfortable with quality sheets. It is a short walk to the town square and all the shopping. Also, a short walk, although not as nice a walk, to the rodeo. Great cookies at 5:00 and the hot chocolate in the morning was a hit for our three kids. I would definitely stay here again. I might look into the cabins. We walked in one while we were there. More seating and room, but with a family of 5, I'm not sure we could fit in one. The only drawback is there is no elevator. We were traveling with our 79 year old mother in law.

Room Tip: We were in the building farthest away from the office. Rooms 340 and 341.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great stay. The cabin was fantastic. Very nice, very clean, had our own porch and patio set. The kitchenette was great for warming stuff up in the microwave, cleaning out coffee mugs etc. The cabinets and drawers are full of dishes and silverware which is great for dishing up a snack. There was even some dish washing soap. Bathrooms are very nice, and the on-site laundry has multiple machines so you can get all your laundry done at once. The coffee in the office is excellent as is the fresh fruit and bakery offered free daily. Bubba's next door is great for breakfast. All of the square and even the Rodeo is within walking distance. The Elk Country Inn brought some of the convenience of home to our trip. Great Value!

Room Tip: There's no pool, just a hot tub, which was o.k. Public hot tubs in general kind of gross me out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goliath209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.6 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
49'er Inn & Suites
49'er Inn & Suites
#19 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Property: Elk Country Inn
Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001-8409
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Business Hotel in Jackson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing