We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food, so-so service”

Local Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Broadway and Deloney
Transit: Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop.)
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good food, so-so service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for lunch with my daughters. Started with the french fries. Really good, basil dip yummy. Shared the Korean wrap which was delicious and a buffalo burger. The burger was cooked to perfection. Service was good, but the establishment looks like it should be better. Will come bavk, but a little wart since service was a little slow and other reviews mentioned it also.

Helpful?
Thank Innga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    339
    114
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clementon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner one evening. If your looking for decent priced, kid friendly fare you will want to go elsewhere. My fish was good but my son's pasta was 'too fancy/ had weird ingredients' that no kid likes in their pasta (it was just veggies but in his mind pasta should just be spaghetti and sauce). I thought the menu lacked many choices and was overpriced. The wait staff was fine I was just disappointed in the lack of a more extensive menu and how much they charged.

Helpful?
Thank moncrief20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The food and our service was fantastic. The meal was just incredible, tasty, and delicious! We both built our burgers and I had mine with foie gras, which was amazing. Every bite was a bite of heaven. I do wish we had gotten the name of our waitress because she was fantastic (We came for lunch on Saturday, July 5 late morning). She was attentive without overdoing it. We would come again because it was one of our favorite meals during our visit to Jackson Hole, WY.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveourMastiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can be astoundingly great, but inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I am bit torn about this place as I had two drastically different experiences within the same week. The first time eating lunch here on a whim a few weeks ago was nothing short of a religious experience. I am a bit high maintenance when it comes to TRULY excellent burgers, and our buffalo burgers were absolutely divine: pink in the middle, juicy, and overall one of the most delicious things I had ever eaten (the side salad with the citrus dressing was also to-die-for good). Hooray! Later that week, we returned for a repeat blissful experience, and both burgers came out QUITE overcooked (despite asking for medium, bordering on medium-rare). Not only was this letdown, but since buffalo is so lean anyways, it was a mediocre meal at best. Perhaps the most irritating part of our visit was watching the table next to us also order medium-cooked buffalo burgers and receiving perfectly juicy ones about 5 minutes later (although the table next to them didn't get so lucky with their burgers, so apparently is was lunchtime roulette). This isn't some dive place...a restaurant specializing in meat (and charging $15 for a burger) should be able to cook it relatively consistently and to order. I guess that I just found it puzzling and clearly disappointing that coming here would clearly be a bit of a "shot in the dark" when it came to the food. Otherwise, the restaurant itself was very nice, but (as others have mentioned) the servers are either a bit snooty or just rushed and appear uninterested. So, overall, can be over-the-moon fantastic...if you're there on the right day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMB1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Kitchen running far behind the servers, super long wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

went in on a wed night, after 9 PM, took 35 minutes plus to get food. waitress took the order then brought out a very small basket of bread, size of a large banana (for 3 people ) she chatted up the couple at the next table who were ordering appetizers and wine- maybe the 3 of us were not viewed as big spenders even tho we ordered $100 worth of food, after about 30 minutes after ordering I got up and walked around - about 4 empty tables so they were not full, and no one waiting to be seated, about 9:40 now,
I asked the waitress " can you check and be sure that the order has not been lost?" she immediately replied that the kitchen had it and said we are "running behind" tonight. about 5 minutes later 35 min total the food came. Seems they could have given you some small item to eat during that time (like more bread or some small appetizer.? Or offered a small free desert at the meals end. Or if they were short of staff maybe closed a few of the tables to ease the strain on the kitchen.
will not go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tanguero43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Local Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Local Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing