We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk away!”
Review of Teton Steak House - CLOSED

Teton Steak House
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“walk away!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The sign looked nice, although the place looked closed. That should have been our first clue! I ordered a buffalo burger and my husband had a regular burger. The meal took forever to come out. It was to the point that we were about ready to walk out. (l guess that's why you pay when you order instead of after your meal!) I'm thinking our meal took so long because they cooked my burger until it was hard and dry. My husband's was cooked to perfection, although they served his water in a broken plastic cup that leaked all over our table. The place looks dated, with worn out seats in the booths. Our plates had grooves cut into them, they had been in service so long.
This place seems to be hanging on by a thread. I can see why with the quality of food and service they offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    27
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Average & Definitely Overpriced”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our experience there was like that of so many others; just average quality food, just OK service and way overpriced for what you get. This is basically a diner with salad bar and a neon steakhouse sign out front.

We stopped by again this year (Oct 2012) just to give it a 2nd chance, saw no major changes and decided on another option.

This place has real potential -- good location, a block off the main drag. But, you can't eat potential... Someone with money, labor and vision could easily turn it into a really good steakhouse. It looks as if it might have been special back in it's day -- but that must have been many, many years ago.

Bottom line: Too many other good choices in the area; skip it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brion57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Trip out west”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I had gone their for there breakfest buffet. It was $7.99 per person, now we know why. The selection of food was minimal and the taste was even more so. It was a great disappointment. I would not recommend the breakfast buffet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kereez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Low quality.”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Teton Steakhouse used to be a franchise place, but it still eats like one. It caters to bus tours, which should tell you pretty much all you need to know: The food is terrible.

Helpful?
Thank GlobalSkiSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover, SC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs some new management”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This place was a disappointment. We had eaten here before a few years back and we decided we'd try it again. A few years ago it was just OK. We were hungry and this was about the only place open before 5. We ordered 2 steaks, 2 salad bars and 2 cokes, the bill was $75! That would be ok if the service and food were good but it wasn't. The coke was flat and tasted like pure syrup. We asked the server to change them out and they did but it didn't improve. I thought they would offer to remove it off the bill but they didn't. We had to send the steak back a few times because it wasn't cooked well. Each time we needed something we had to get up and find someone to get help. If the meal would have been $40 it wouldn't have been as big of a deal but if I'm paying $75 without the tip, I expect better service. We will not return. I just hate I lost $75, I would have rathered saved $65 and ate at McDonalds.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teton Steak House also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing