We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, not Service”

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
Reserve with OpenTable
Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 146 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is a locally owned and operated restaurant which opened in 1993. Enjoy Jackson Hole's finest steaks & game dishes, all cooked over an open river-rock mesquite grill in a rustic hunting lodge atmosphere. The Gun Barrel is located just one mile from the world famous Jackson Town Square and a short drive from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Come visit us today!
Utah
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, not Service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had to wait almost an hour for a three person table. The food was good but the service wasnt. Our waiter kept going off and chatting with other people which also delayed the delivery of our food. So it was pretty time consuming. I wouldnt go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    611
    253
    74
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Hollywood, CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved the theme, not the service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On a Sunday night had to wait 4o minutes for a table for 3. Then didn't get a server for another 10 minutes. Expensive and the food was so so. Salmon is farmed raised so didn't order that. Had the flat steak and it was cooked correctly but just ok. Wouldn't have to go back next time I go back to Jackson

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgrs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Buffalo sirloin was outstanding”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great atmosphere with stuffed animals and gun collections on the wall. Waiter recommended either the buffalo sirloin or the elk chop because they are cooked on a mesquite grill. Buffalo sirloin was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Prices aren't that much higher than the rest of Jackson. Food is simply higher priced here than in Texas. Friends had recommended the place and we were not disappointed. Service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasGunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American abroad
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A tourist institution -- but pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We weren't sure what to expect at a restaurant that caters to tourists and bus tours, but we were pleasantly surprised. This prices aren't cheap, but the kitchen definitely knows how to cook game, the selection is respectable, and our meals were delicious. The bison prime rib was excellent. Our only complaint would be the considerably over-salted garlic mashed potatoes and green beans. Recommend sticking with a baked potato for a side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zawojska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We ate there twice on our trip to Yellowstone. The food is amazing. We got the chance to try elk and other game animals. The price is on the high end but the food is definitely worth it. There are a lot of historic guns on display and a good history starting in Texas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gun Barrel Steak & Game House also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Gun Barrel Steak & Game House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing