We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent for over a decade”
Review of Blue Lion

Blue Lion
Ranked #5 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1.5 blocks from Broadway and Millward
Description: The Blue Lion was built as a residential home in the late 1930's, in 1974 it became The Tourist Trap restaurant and then in 1976 The Blue Lion. I bought it in 1978 after graduating college. The Blue Lion has evolved a lot since those early days mostly due to retired head chef, Tim Libassi who's was with me for almost 25 years. We continue to add and change dishes semi-annually. The lamb, elk and fresh fish are our biggest sellers. There was a restaurant in southern California where I grew up that served mud pie and my mother made a home made hot fudge sauce which we incorporated into our own version of mud pie, a local favorite. The restaurant has been enlarged several times, the upstairs dining, the kitchen, the waiting area and the outdoor deck. In the winter The Blue Lion can accommodate 60 diners at one time. In the summer we open the deck enabling us to accommodate 80 diner. We are open nightly at 5:30 and usually feature an acoustical guitarist as entertainment.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent for over a decade”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had another great meal at the Blue Lion. Their menu is superb and include a list of nightly special. I had one of my favorites, macadamia nut crusted halibut. The food is always fresh and delicious. If you are seated before 6 PM and bring the coupon from the free Jacson newspaper you egt a 20% discount.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    195
    97
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food was really great but a little pricey!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the rack of lamb which we shared and it was more than enough food for two! The restaurant is famous for this dish and definitely for a reason. The stuffed mushrooms were just heavenly. One of the waiters, he was a little, shall we say abrupt, but everybody else was fantastic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect end of day”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great service, great menu, good wine list. We had eaten there before and would again. Atmosphere is quiet with a friendly staff. Reserve early if you want to eat on the patio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAS524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The food here was so good! I had the curry shrimp and it was one of the best meals I have ever had! My husband had the lambchops and they were also delicious. There was an acoustic singer there that was so good - it made the whole experience unforgettable!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Jackson”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were in Jackson Hole for a wedding and visited several restaurants. Most were average and a bit pricey but The Blue Lion stood out. It is a converted house across from a park on the outskirts of downtown. This is a relief from the normal touristy spots. They featured a very good variety on the menu; we had halibut and the rack of lamb (a specialty) The halibut was very good but the lamb was outstanding. The couple we were with raise sheep and cattle and we all agreed that this lamb was the best we had ever had. A full rack, moist, tender and cooked perfectly. The wine list was good and was properly priced (I hate paying $200 for a wine that retails for $50). The service was quick and attentive good making for a very pleasant evening. Would highly recommend this restaurant and if you like lamb, do not miss it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lion also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing