We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views variable food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granary

Granary
Reserve with OpenTable
Granary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views variable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We read high praises of the restaurant and visited it with great expectations. The views of the Grand Teton mountains is outstanding. Service was good. Wines selection is elaborate and mark-up is moderate. The food is around $40 per entrée and $10 per appetiser and $10 per dessert.

The cajun spiced elk tenderloin is clearly the star dish. The Idaho trout is decent. The Bison rib-eye is average at best, and the salmon was totally tasteless. The raspberry cheesecake is very good, the flour-less chocolate cake tasted more like a Snickers bar thanks to the liberal dose of caramel.

All this considering I introduced myself as a member of one of the world's largest gourmet foodie organisations to the chef via the server.

The service was good and attentive.

We spent about $150 for the meal without drinks and gratuity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Devesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    78
    38
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast with spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Yummy breakfast with yet another vantage point of the magnificent mountains. Pancakes and omelets were enjoyed by all. And according to our little people, the hot chocolate was really special.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Loved the atmosphere, views and service. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed the live music and bar menu. We dined here twice during our week stay at The Aman.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sallyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Celebrating Mom's Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dan & I flew out to celebrate my mom's 82nd birthday weekend. Sometimes, it can be very daunting trying to find a restaurant on the internet, but this place was AMAZING!!! It's a long drive up with many switchbacks, but once you're up there, you'll be thrilled with the view. I don't think there's a bad table in the restaurant. Service was a bit slow at first since our server was somewhat dominated by another table, but a fellow co-worked stepped in to help her out. We started with a smoked trout appetizer which, to my surprise, was hot. There was also some cheese in there which really gave it a nice mouth feel. I really wanted some game and there was a pasta dish with bison & elk tips in it, but it was in a Marsala sauce and I'm highly allergic to mushrooms! I was told the kitchen could make it without them, so that's what I ordered. Dan had the elk loin which was fork tender and mom had a steak. Not sure why she ordered it medium (grrr), but there was a lot of flavor. I know she's been to Jackson quite a bit as has my sister, but they had never been there before. She's talked quite a bit about it since then. So glad we went.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view, average food, subaverage service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Booked the Granery thru Open Table. On arrival, the hostess couldn't find our reservation but after a few seconds located it. Escorted us downstairs to seat us at a table with an in-window air conditioner blowing on one seat! We declined, and pointed out that a window table had been requested, at which point a manager-seeming person stated that an 8-top had just been vacated and that would be our table, and that we were early (7:55 for an 8:00 reservation).

We eventually were seated at a table with a great view. The food was what I would consider average for this level of restaurant. And the service was well below average. Our waiter whisked the wine list away before we had ordered. The butter was removed before the bread was consumed. Our before dinner cocktails were misdelivered.

Having eaten at the Amangani Grill the night before, the only way the Granary was better was the view. Ambiance was noisy (2 large groups and a vaulted ceiling contributed) and the manager seemed to keep all service staff off balance.

Would we go back? Likely not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 55Kevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granary also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing