We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spotted Horse Ranch
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We returned to the Spotted Horse Ranch for the second time in July and echo the other reviews here. It is a fabulous place for a family vacation. We can't say enough about the job that Kevin and the staff do to make it a special week. The wranglers and fishing guides are terrific, whether you are a beginner or expert. It is a great family atmosphere, and everyone from grandparents, to teens, to a 6 year old had the best time. it is a great place to create family memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

In early August 2013, we stayed at SHR for 6 days. Great experience. The customer service was terrific as well as accommodating, and the environment is just terrific. We have two boys who fly fished each day or went on long horseback rides. We will likely go back next year. Well done to Kevin and his staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warrenjadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was my second trip to the Spotted Horse Ranch and again, it was everything, and more, than our family remembered. The food was great, the cabins just darling, the staff is super accomodating and the wranglers bent over backwards to ensure our horseback ride was perfect. We were able to have private rides regularly and couldn't wait to see more gorgeous terrain the next day. Our wrangler Chris was the nicest guy, thoughtful of our needs and always smiling.

Our family has food issues and Cheryl sweetly ensured us our requests would be taken care of, and they were!!! The two chefs, Mike & Rich, made a gluten free version of everything for one person in our family, something we were extremely grateful for. Not to mention, it was delicous, not just thrown together. Our family also celebrated a birthday while we were there and Cheryl surprised us by arranging a cake to be made to celebrate my daughters birthday. Rich was the creator of that fabulous cake and how he knew chocolate was her favorite flavor is a mystery. The whole family was delighted.

All that, plus the rodeo and the whitewater, made our 2nd visit just as much fun as the first. And watching all the children play outside in the evening reminded me of days long gone...kids nowadays play on their computer at night, so watching the different families' chldren all play together, with the wranglers joining in no less, was a refreshing experience, one we will duplicate. Thank you to all the wranglers, especially Chris and Matt.

To us, this ranch is perfect; however, If we could change anything, we'd prefer to have the river trip scheduled in the afternoon rather than in the morning - we were up early and a few of us were cold on the river. It makes more sense to do it when it's warm, but that's not a deal breaker. Just an easy fix.

Our thanks to ALL the staff for their hard work - each one of them helped us in one manner or another. And our special thanks to the housekeepers, keeping our cabin in tip-top shape, neater than some high end hotels that I've stayed. Hats off to all of you!

So if you're considering the Spotted Horse Ranch as a vacation spot, don't hesitate to get your trip scheduled. I promise, if you're social and like the outdoors, you'll love this beautiful spot (and social is critical...there is no private dining for two). To us, it's heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annikaplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

So I celebrated my 60th birthday with my wife, three grown kids and my son-in-law at the Spotted Horse Ranch and I have to say it was just perfect! This was my third experience on a dude ranch and we all agreed that the country couldn't be more beautiful, the staff more accommodating, the facilities more comfortable, or the camaraderie more infectious. The relaxed atmosphere and family styled meals led to new friendships, endless stories and plenty of laughter. The horses were healthy and manageable with more vigorous equestrian opportunities available upon request. We went to a rodeo, rafted the white water, fished for trout, and took a pack trip deep into the mountains. I highly recommend The Spotted Horse Ranch!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family and I went to the Spotted Horse Ranch for my dad's 60th birthday... we could not have enjoyed it more! The staff was fantastic - incredibly friendly and inviting. The cabins are adorable and cleaned every day. The horses were well behaved and the trail rides stunning. We did an overnight pack trip with two staffers that was absolutely fantastic. It's located directly on a beautiful river and truly relaxing.... I highly recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just returned from another vacation at the Spotted Horse Ranch, just south of Jackson Hole, Wyoming. We have visited this ranch for many years now and it just wouldn't be summer without a week with Kevin the manager,(along with his lovely wife and two children) and his wonderful staff at the ranch.
This year, as we were on our porch our first day, having a glass of wine just before dinner, a tall beautiful woman wearing jeans and a cowboy hat came striding up to our cabin with a huge smile. That was Sally, one of the staff and we became good friends in minutes! The staff at the ranch couldn't be nicer and more fun! Everybody makes sure that your stay is perfect!
The horses are wonderful, not the usual "plodders" that you find at a "dude ranch". The rides are varied and so beautiful. This year we saw elk, moose, deer, sandhill cranes and a bear! The rides are custom, so the beginners can go on an easy ride, while the more experienced can ride high in the aspen tree meadows and explore new trails. My favorite ride is the all day ride where we stop for a bbq grilled lunch at the top of the mountain.
The rooms have all the amenities and the beds are amazingly comfortable. We meet some really nice people every summer, and they become friends whom we keep in touch with. This ranch is great for the young and the old. My mother is 88 and has enjoyed coming to the ranch for something like 10 years. This year she had trouble walking and right away, they constructed a ramp to the cabin so as to make it easier for her to get to and from her cabin with her walker. This is just the way they run this place; your comfort is their top priority.
The food is very good, and if one has allergies or dislikes, they will always take care of you and serve you what you like. The appetizers at happy hour are especially delicious!
The Hoback River runs along some of the cabins and if you haven't had a chance to fall asleep with the sound of the river running, it's time to go to the Spotted Horse Ranch!
Yellowstone is close by and we take a day to drive up to see all of the animals and sights there.
Don't forget to watch the horses run across the bridge after a days' ride, it's truly spectacular!
If you've been thinking of going to a dude ranch, I highly recommend the Spotted Horse Ranch!
We keep going back year after year and we are never disappointed! Each year it gets better and better! Thanks to everybody there, from Cheryl who cheerfully books our reservations to all of the wranglers who make sure your day on the horses is amazing, to the cleaning staff who make your room perfect when you return to the chefs who prepare the great meals and finally to Kevin who oversees the entire operation and makes sure everything is perfect! Thank you Spotted Horse Ranch! We will be back next summer!!

Room Tip: The cabins along the river are great, it's so peaceful to hear the sound of gently running water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoemberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a great time! We stayed a whole week!There is nothing I can say that is bad about this place!Food/cabin/staff beyond GREAT! Close to Jackson Hole/Yellowstone....made lots of friends,thanks for the memories...you can not go wrong with Dude Ranch.I promise you that!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICP13015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
13.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
13.4 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
13.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Antler Inn
Antler Inn
#17 of 40 in Jackson
625 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Lodge at Jackson Hole
13.1 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Horse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Horse Ranch

Address: 12355 S US Highway 191, Jackson, WY 83001-8815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Jackson
Price Range: £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Spotted Horse Ranch Hotel Jackson
Spotted Horse Ranch Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing