We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was our 4 straight year returning to Flat Creek.”
Review of Flat Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flat Creek Ranch
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was our 4 straight year returning to Flat Creek.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

It is like no other place we have stayed.Only having five cabins makes it both very intimate and enjoyable, with no crowds. Our hosts Marcia & Joe are just the best. The cabins are so beautifully set up and the meals are truly 4 star. We are really looking forware to our 5th visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
54
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I and two teenage daughters visited Flat Creek Ranch for the first time. The ride into the ranch started through the elk refuge, continued through gorgeous fields of wildflowers, scenic overviews and flowing creek beds from melting snow. All of this unfolding into the most pristine setting of lakeside cabins and serenity. We arrived late because of a delayed flight and were whisked in to a fabulous dinner with new friends and Joe and Marcia. I immediately felt I had stumbled into a very special place and group of people. Our long weekend was amazing and filled with gorgeous trail rides (we ride a lot and own horses and the trail horses at Flat Creek are outstanding), hiking and fly fishing. Shelby, Trey, Todd, Madora, Calvin, and Stephan assured that we had the best rides, fishing, hiking and food. The time we shared as a family and with the other guests will be one of my most favorite memories. We spent a few days in Jackson Hole and also in Yellowstone, but Flat Creek Ranch was the shining star of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottiemaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My grown daughter and I took a one time opportunity to experience a ranch out West for the first time and loved Flat Creek Ranch. There was a family with 2 daughters and a father/grown son we shared our expereince with, together with the incredible staff and owners. The property is spectacular (it requires a drive from the staff through Wilderness protected land), the activities are great and the staff loves what they do and are great at it. (horseback trail rides, expert fishing instruction, challenging guide lead hikes and 3 great meals a day) A very special place and people!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jano33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

So many places to visit in the world, but Flat Creek Ranch is one worth returning to. After a 4 night stay in 2010, we opted for a 7 night stay in early July, with no regrets. If you seek any of the following, you will be rewarded by a stay here --

1. Beautiful (and some tough) hiking options, all on/near the ranch, so no driving required (if you do like to hike, consider arranging wtih the owners to hike in and out, a 5 mile hike (with the car taking your luggage, of course).

2. Amazing fly fishing and fly fishing instruction by Trey, even given the unusually high water this year due to snow melt. You can fish in a small lake or the creek, plenty of options. Or just row on the lake in the boat or canoes.

3. Horseback riding on trails through the forests and open hills, led by Todd or Shelby - very experienced and good with those who aren't.

4. Great food (we are vegetarians and need gluten free, and the chefs Don and Stephan were as creative with our food as with that enjoyed by everyone else).

5. Comfortable, historical cabins in the spirit of the location - as we said in last year's review, "rustic luxury." That means really nice, clean and very comfortable - but no hot tubs or huge bathrooms... if that if what you want, a hotel is better. Great views from all of them; consider if you want a stream or stream/lake view.

6. Interesting company from guests - sure to learn new things/views as you share breakfast and dinner (and sometimes lunch). If you just want to hang by yourself, you could probably do it, but it'd be awkward.

7. Warm, smart, interesting staff and owners -- the owners hire carefully and as a result, have a group of great employees who seem to love their work and appreciate the surroundings.

8. Quiet. Absolutely. Well, except for the constant running of the creek and occassional running of the generator to supplement the solar system. No cars, boom boxes, loud people, etc.

9. A sense of seclusion and privacy - you will see very few people. Almost feel like it's your place.

10. An appreciation for the history of the ranch -- a very interesting family connection with the current owners and original founder.

This is the type of place where you should stay once you arrive - the road in and out is long and bumpy. So, shop in Jackson before you go. And just be prepared to relax once you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Tetons are spectacular terrain, wide-open fields of wildflowers over undulating hills set off by the mountains. We came in July when snow still melted off the high mountains and the rivers overran their banks. Marcia and Joe of Flat Creek Ranch hosted us with impeccable hospitality at this small property, with only a handful of cabins and a high ratio of staff to guests. The guest ranch was full at the time, with four couples and a few children. We stayed in a private multi-room cabin a short walk from the lodge. We learned to horseback ride and fly fish with competent and patient instructors, drank wine on the veranda on the lake, and roasted some s'mores. The ranch serves three hot meals a day, all good, and sends coffee out to the cabins in the morning. They will pack a picnic lunch if you're out for a long hike or ride. The ranch pays attention to every detail of the guest experience, and one gets the sense they will immediately fix anything that goes wrong. We would recommend the ranch to anyone looking for a full-service stay in a quiet location amid spectacular scenery. The ranch itself has an interesting history as a guest ranch that is worth discovering.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We enjoyed every minute! We never stopped! While some might enjoy simply sitting lakesite reading and enjoying the magnificent views, we jumped right in and took advantage of all the activities and adventures we could find. We could hardly wait for the next hike or the next horseback ride and especially the fantastic fly fishing!

Nature came alive for us at the ranch with wildlife and scenery unmatched. It is a rustic settng for sure, but the staff pamper you every minute you are there. Friendly and accommodating, they become good friends in short order. Joe and Marcia make the history of the ranch come alive as they describe the evolution of this remote paradise.

We worked up an appetite and the chef always had just the right thing to satisfy. Delicious! What else is there to say...this was a great vacation for us!

Our thanks and best wishes go out to Joe and Marcia and their wonderful staff. We hope to see you again soon. It truly was a fun and exhilerating experience. Oh, and did I mention that the fly fishing was great??!

John & Martha Moore

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmoore7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Flat Creek Ranch exceeded our expectations in every way. We felt like we were staying among friends and enjoyed getting to know the family staying with us, who were returning for their fifth consecutive visit to the ranch. Although fly fishing is a major draw for some, we came for the horseback riding, guided mountain hiking, and amazing dining. We were not disappointed on any account. The highlight of our trip was climbing the nose of the Sleeping Indian. It was grueling, but well worth the sweat, and there was a sauna fired up and waiting for us at the conclusion of the hike. I can't say enough about the beautiful location and wonderful staff. Five stars is not nearly enough!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionfromcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
12.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
11.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
11.2 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
11.6 mi away
Spring Creek Ranch
Spring Creek Ranch
#18 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
23.2 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Ranch

Property: Flat Creek Ranch
Address: Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat Creek Ranch - Your own private wilderness retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Flat Creek Hotel
Flat Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing