We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect cabin for a family vacation in the Tetons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Budges' Slide Lake Cabins
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect cabin for a family vacation in the Tetons”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Our family of four stayed in Cabin #4 in July 2012 and is a beautifully built cabin. We had a full kitchen, king bed in a bedroom on first floor and 2 twin beds in the loft for our 8 and 12 year old children (they loved the loft). The Budges have the cabin well stocked with kitchen supplies. We bought some groceries in Moose and enjoyed cooking breakfast at the cabin each day. My husband and son caught fish on the Gros Ventre River which flows through Slide Lake and we had some fresh brown trout on the grill one evening. I loved the in cabin washer/dryer which allowed us to pack less clothes on our trip. We enjoyed the wildlife around our cabin. We saw a red fox and enjoyed watching a small black bear that we nicknamed Huckleberry that ate berries behind our cabin. He was not a nuisance as he walked right past our garbage cans and couldn't have cared less. Just great to see wildlife in its setting. The Budges were very helpful about where we could go fishing and horseback riding. As others have stated, it is secluded and quiet but isn't that what vacation should be about. We loved our 5 nights in the Tetons at the cabin and if we get the opportunity to go back we will definitely be staying here again. I have already recommended the place to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed at one of the cabins in October 2011. We had a chance to look in two of the other cabins and they were also very nice. I am sure they are all the same level of cleanliness and comfort. We had two queen bedrooms, a loft and I think a sofa sleeper that we didn't use. The bedrooms each had a table and chairs in them. The living area had two couches and the eating area had TWO kitchen tables. Plenty of room for two families to stay together and not feel crowded. The kitchen was even spacious. The cabins are all next to the lake. The views are wonderful! It is very close to GT Natl Park. A little far to Yellowstone, but what a wonderful place to come back to! After spending the day in the parks, my husband took his canoe out on the lake and did some fishing, Grandma watched movies and the kids played board games while I made dinner. I can't describe how relaxing it was or how wonderful it was to have so much space on a vacation. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

The icing on the cake. The cabin was everything we wanted in a cabin and more. Actually never even met the owners but that didnt stop us from enjoying it. Everything was perfect!
Location was very isolated ( too the point that going there the first time was a little hairy) but after the first time it was a breeze. Very quiet at night which was a nice change. Hopefully be back there some day. We stayed in cabin 3 and the view was amazing. It was nice to relax there after long days of sightseeing.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NelsonRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Just had the pleasure of staying at
Cabin 2 at Budges Slide Lake. Our group consisted of two couples. We had more than enough space, including two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a loft and a washer dryer. There was even a dish washer--how unexpected and appreciated! What a great value--well appointed, clean, spacious and in a great location. The cabins are about a 20-30 minute drive from Jenny Lake in Teton park and about the same distance to Jackson. The cabins are right on Lower Slide lake--secluded, quiet and with lovely scenery. While it was a bit of a drive from hwy 89 (10-15 mins), it was completely worth the drive. The owners were very helpful and friendly and have appointed the cabin with everything guests could need. We were mostly visiting Tetons to hike and this place was a great place to come 'home' to after a long day out on the trails. The guest books in the cabin were full of pages and pages of positive reviews. Lots of opportunities for wildlife viewing near the cabin too. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MplsTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

It was a pleasure to spend 8 nights from Oct 12- 20. I had cabin #1. Having read recent reviews I can verify their accuracy. If you want some solitude and natural beauty this is the place. The cabin was extremely clean and well appointed. It is off the main highway but that was no problem for me. You can view wildlife all along the way to Jackson. It makes a great base camp as you tour the area. The Budges were very helpful and friendly. The night sky was spectacular and the resident beaver kept me entertained. I hope to come back next year.
M. Boyer

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent a week at Budge's #4 cabin in August/September. The cabin is very pretty, quaint, and tastefully appointed, and extremely clean. The location is quite out-of-the-way, next to lower slide lake in the Gros Ventre valley. The location suited our taste for quiet and seclusion, but be advised it's about 30 minutes from Jackson. It's very close to Antelope Flats, which is teeming with bison and antelope, particularly around sunup and sundown. The cabins' location is very convenient to Teton National Park, about 20 minutes to Jenny Lake visitors center. I would highly recommend Budge's, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groenlo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We felt we really hit the jackpot here! My husband, two daughters (11 and 13) and I stayed in cabin 4 for eight nights and could not have been happier. The cabin was spotlessly clean, beautiful, comfortable, and had all the amenities we wanted, including comfy beds. The setting is spectacular, right on the lake. We were in secluded wilderness (with a beaver as our neighbor and a pine marten visiting us on the deck), yet close enough to all the activities in Jackson Hole. We went whitewater rafting, horseback riding, took the tram to the top of the Tetons, went to Yellowstone, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelly
16.4 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
17.4 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
17.0 mi away
Fireside Resort
Fireside Resort
#1 of 4 in Wilson
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,093 reviews
15.4 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#20 of 40 in Jackson
1,121 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budges' Slide Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budges' Slide Lake Cabins

Property: Budges' Slide Lake Cabins
Address: Near Grand Teton Park, P.O. Box 4, Kelly, WY 83011
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Kelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kelly
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Budges` Slide Lake Cabins Hotel Kelly
Budges' Slide Lake Cabins Kelly, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing