We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Budges' Slide Lake Cabins
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A group of nine travellers from Michigan and Ontario, Canada travelled to Budges' cabin in Kelly in August, 2013. What a great experience. Very comfortable, well equipped and super clean. Best place for families to explore Jackson Hole and Grand Tetons. Best Value for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

While it is slightly small for a family of four, we enjoyed it very much. Very clean and quite affordable for Teton. We stayed in the small cabin in Kelly, which is actually closer to the park. There is a small kitchen area which is very nice and convenient. Everything works well. Hope to visit again in the future.

BTW, cell phone reception is not good. Jane the owner is very helpful. I am glad to have taken the trip.

Room Tip: Better than those on the slide lake, since it is closer to the park. The lake is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wonderful secluded location within easy reach of Teton NP. Cabin was very comfortable well equipped and clean. Great for watching wildlife (beavers and nesting osprey pair). Owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Positive: big, clean cabins that had a fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators, ovens, some with dishwashers (not cabin 1), dishwashing detergent, paper towels, dish towels, coffee makers (bring your own coffee and paper filters), washer/dryer and detergent, land line telephones, outdoor gas grills, picnic tables, fire ring next to cabin, wood for fires, board games and puzzles, no TV or internet so forced to relax. Beautiful location with hiking and fishing nearby.

negative: The bathrooms don't have shampoo, soap or conditioner so bring your own! Some cabins had what people left there so you might get lucky and find hand soap under the sink. Cabin 1 doesn't have curtains or shades on the windows in the living area, bedroom area or bathroom on the one side. This makes for a very early morning with the sun waking you up, and nervous for people seeing you while in the bathroom if they walk by outside. No internet. No cell phone service out here. Bring a calling card for long distance calls to other people's cells or to Jackson, etc. You can call the other cabins for free. Some cabins had a few crickets. Not much hot water available. The early bird gets the worm and has a warm shower.
Cabin 4 didn't seem to be able to even fill the tub without running out of hot water. These cabins are 30 minutes from Jackson and 2 hours from Old Faithful Geyser. There was construction on the way to Yellowstone, but I bet they will have construction during most summers.

Overall this is a beautiful location and great for a family reunion where all can have their space and the kids can run around (young ones need to be supervised outside with the lake right there).
The views on the drive back down the hill to Jackson are stunning of the Tetons. The owner was very accommodating and easy to deal with. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in cabin 4, which was clean, well-appointed, and very comfortable. The location of these cabins was perfect for us. Slide Lake was quiet, secluded, yet convenient to both Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks; a great spot to get away from it all. We especially enjoyed watching the various wildlife around the lake and surrounding areas. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was perfect for my husband and me. All cabins are on the lake. Don't think you can go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pez1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our family of four spent the week of December 26, 2012 in Cabin #2 and couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our vacation time. The cabin was perfect for us - our two teenage kids shared one bedroom with a queen-size bed and my husband and I had a king-size bed in our room. Two full bathrooms, washer/dryer, the fully-appointed kitchen even had a dishwasher! All the comforts of home in a beautiful setting in the woods. The cabin was the cleanest place we haver ever stayed - absolutely spotless!

We cooked breakfast and dinner each day at the cabin and never needed anything in the way of kitchen "tools or gadgets" and there were plenty of dishes and cookware. The kitchen was so well-appointed it made it easy to make meals. We found Smith's grocery store on the south end of town to be the best place to get groceries - great selection, better prices and really friendly staff.

The scenery and wildlife that we enjoyed to and from the cabin during our week was amazing! We saw countless bison, elk, moose and big horn sheep. Each trip was an adventure and we couldn't wait to see what animals we could encounter.

We would definately come back to Budges' on a future vacation to this area. We enjoyed the winter weather, snowmobiling, downhill skiing and sightseeing on this trip. Next time maybe we will come during the summer months.

Thank you Budges for a simply wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Our family of four stayed in Cabin #4 in July 2012 and is a beautifully built cabin. We had a full kitchen, king bed in a bedroom on first floor and 2 twin beds in the loft for our 8 and 12 year old children (they loved the loft). The Budges have the cabin well stocked with kitchen supplies. We bought some groceries in Moose and enjoyed cooking breakfast at the cabin each day. My husband and son caught fish on the Gros Ventre River which flows through Slide Lake and we had some fresh brown trout on the grill one evening. I loved the in cabin washer/dryer which allowed us to pack less clothes on our trip. We enjoyed the wildlife around our cabin. We saw a red fox and enjoyed watching a small black bear that we nicknamed Huckleberry that ate berries behind our cabin. He was not a nuisance as he walked right past our garbage cans and couldn't have cared less. Just great to see wildlife in its setting. The Budges were very helpful about where we could go fishing and horseback riding. As others have stated, it is secluded and quiet but isn't that what vacation should be about. We loved our 5 nights in the Tetons at the cabin and if we get the opportunity to go back we will definitely be staying here again. I have already recommended the place to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTraveler217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelly
0.0 mi away
Fireside Resort
Fireside Resort
#1 of 4 in Wilson
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snake River Park KOA and Cabin Village
0.0 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Turpin Meadow Ranch
Turpin Meadow Ranch
#2 of 7 in Moran
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budges' Slide Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budges' Slide Lake Cabins

Address: Near Grand Teton Park, P.O. Box 4, Kelly, WY 83011
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Kelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kelly
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Budges` Slide Lake Cabins Hotel Kelly
Budges' Slide Lake Cabins Kelly, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing