We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Lander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Lander
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lander
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited Lander for the fourth of July this year and stayed at this hotel. I have stayed here before, but it has been quite a while. The hotel is no longer affiliated with Best Western. We heard from some locals that it was because they weren't keeping it up to the BW standards.

Our stay went pretty well, but I was continually bothered by the complete lack of customer service during our stay. I imagine that this is one of their busiest weeks (it was very difficult to find a parking spot most nights), so it could have been that they were understaffed. But, they should have known that well in advance. Here are some examples to illustrate the lack of customer service:

- One of the couples in our party arrived to their room and found the toilet clogged. They called the front desk and they sent over a plunger and told the guests to plunge the toilet. Not really the ideal way to welcome your new guests.

- There was no working ice machine in our building (furthest from the main road) despite the presence of multiple signs pointing to the "ice machine". We saw numerous guests roaming through the building trying to find the ice machine. A sign stating that there wasn't in fact an ice machine anywhere in the building would have been nice.

- We called the front desk and told them that we were out of towels and wanted some more. They told us to try to track down the maid in our building and ask them for towels. They said that where was nothing else that they could do.

- At breakfast one morning they ran out of bread for toast. When asked by the guests to bring some more out they refused to do so.

Breakfast:

The breakfast was decent for a free continental breakfast. The selection was adequate if you were there early and aren't very picky. The breakfast ends way too early (9:00 am). We slept past that time one day that we were there. The really annoying thing was that it didn't even really last until 9:00. If they run out of something as basic as bread at like 8:30 they will refuse to bring any more out. We went elsewhere for breakfast a few times.

Pool:

The pool is small but adequate. It was hot while we were there, so it was nice to take a dip in the pool. My one complaint is that the water was kind of cloudy. I am not sure if it was a chemical change or what, but I made me hesitate before getting in.

Overall:

I considered giving the hotel a three rating instead of two because the hotel itself is still in pretty good shape and the rooms were fine. But, it was very apparent that they are not putting in the time and money to maintain a high standard and provide good customer service. I expect that the hotel will continue to decline in quality and customer service unless something changes.

Room Tip: It is better to be in the building closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholls1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
41
48
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had to book at the last minute, due to some unforseen business in Wyoming. After some less then pleasant options in the area found this place. The woman at the desk was great and incredibly friendly without being fake. The room was in very good condition, and spacious. They had a continental breakfast as part of the deal, and we were pleasantly surprised to find hot items on the buffet. Great bakery items.

Room Tip: Even though it is at a major intersection, it was a bit hard to manuver to entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The girl at the desk when we arrived was on the rude side, at checkout the man at the desk was decent. The room was very clean and nice, but you could hear voices,and banging through the thin walls till very late into the night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeh6421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel in 2013 and we were please to see that it had improved. The king room was large with comfortable bed. Air conditioner was hard to regulate the temperature - either too warm or too chilly. Ask for a room in the main building. There are two buildings and walking to the restaurant on a chilly morning was uncomfortable. Watch out for the breakfast because they offer minimum items that are either cold, or stale. There have been no improvements in the breakfast items since our last visit. On the up side, the lady at the main desk is quite nice and efficitent. Her name is Judi. There aren't many motels in Lander, but while the BW looks very nice from the street, looks can be deceiving.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Monte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Staff very freindly and Helpfull. Location on the main road made it easy to find and to get to all the local sites. Large clean room. Nice woork out room and pool and spa were easy to get too. In the winter pool is outdoors

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a wonderful place. We came off a white out snow storm (freaking in September!) off Highway 287 to this wonderful and welcoming place. Our room was ready and clean and warm and the staff was so friendly and thankful that we made it thought the snow storm. In fact we liked this place so much we stayed a 2nd time on our way home from Yellowstone National Park.
The beds were very comfortable, the hot tub was nice and relaxing and the breakfast was very good. They even had BACON!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very rude when we checked in. Got the impression we were bothering him and he was doing us a big favor! Would have gone elsewhere but town was busy with a school function so didn't have a choice. Won't stay again if we can help it! Breakfast...blah. Kind of noisy next to highway. Nothing special by any means, especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lander
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Pronghorn Lodge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Lander
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Riverton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Wind River Hotel
Wind River Hotel
#3 of 12 in Riverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverton
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverton - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lander

Property: The Inn at Lander
Address: 260 Grandview Dr, Lander, WY 82520-2928 (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Inn at Lander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Lander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Lander 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Lander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Lander Hotel Lander
Best Western Lander
Best Western Hotel Lander
Lander Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing