We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Small Portions”

New Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average Food, Small Portions”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The food at the restaurant is about average. I ordered Schezwan Chicken, not spicy, and was given what was essentially just cooked chicken in chicken sauce. It tasted decent, but was nothing like what I asked for (and have had multiple other places, giving some level of similarity between dishes and locations, so I know it's not a case of pitting the food against my 'favorite' place). However, the portion sizes kill my view of the place. I couldn't get full on the small portions they give, and they charge as much as other Chinese restaurants that leave you with the typical second meal worth of left-overs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, IA
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Find another place”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

New Mandarine was very average to poor. Nothing on the buffet made me want to come back. Blah........

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not sure if this is the same restaraunt?”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We went to the Mandarin on US-30, US -287, 3rd Street on the north end of Laramie, about two blocks north of the Gas Lite Motel, and right across from the Cherries restaurant. Google maps matches this location and name, and Tripadvisor is mapping a different location and has New Mandarin instead of Mandarin. However, Tripadvisor is listing the same address for this business as the Mandarin, and does not list any other similar named establishment. As best as I can tell there is only one place with Mandarin in the name in Laramie and this is it. There is some foul up with the mapping.

In any event, this review relates to the restaurant as noted above, and I have no wish to malign any other place. It was the worst Chinese food I have ever had. Just awful. Service was poor too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelFiend34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
“Best food in town”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great food and super service. You get a lot to eat and it's a great value. This is one of our favorite restaurants in town. They will also cook a special Chinese dinner for your group.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolan114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie
1 review
“Best Chinese in town”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This is the best Chinese restaurant in Laramie. Take out or dine in, you cannot go wrong.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsh0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing