We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Medicine Bow National Forest
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Range of mountains close to Laramie which offer a wide variety of outdoor sports.
Northfield, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I highly recommended fitting this into any trip itinerary if you're in the area. The views are stunning. Stop if you can and take a small walk down to Lake Marie, just beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Japedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    26
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
louisville, tn
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AWESOME SURPRISE!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had one day in Laramie before heading south to Estes Park, Colorado. Saw many reviews on Trip Advisor recommending this drive if time allowed. It was unbelievably beautiful!! We walked the road down to a campground on Libby Lake and it couldn't have been more peaceful, serene and beautiful. Still lots of snow mid July. Had no idea this mt range was hidden in eastern Wyoming.
Thought it was funny that the mgr at the campground we stayed at lived in Laramie and had never visited. To all the locals…take the time to enjoy the beautiful nature outside your backdoor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
1,040 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“A Sight To Behold”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you live near Laramie or your traveling south maybe to Denver and you have the time take a side trip to visit this area. There are many people who use this area for winter sports but, if you just want to see a gorgeous area take the drive. We were heading to Denver and saw this on the map and decided to take a side trip. It was very much worth the extra time. When you get to the peak at 12,000 ft you even see a plaque that commemorates a plane crash there in 1955. We visited in June and there was still a lot of snow on the mountains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bates City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Snowy Range still had snow in July”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

While heading to Reno recently we noticed a sign for Medicine Bow National Forest and Snowy Range Scenic Byway. We asked a couple at a gas station about it and they told us we would be sorry if we missed it. It is an absolutely beautiful drive with scenery around every turn. There was still a lot of snow on the hillsides and under trees. The lakes were beautiful, especially Marie Lane and Silver Lake. Traffic was light and we had no problem negotiating the 41-mile drive with several stops for photographs. Be sure to make this part of your trip if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Snowy Range - Aptly named”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Late June . . . most of the snow will be gone, right? Apparently not.

That being said, the area is beautiful, even if not fully accessible "early season."

To make the most of your visit, stop at the Forest Service information center just west of Centennial, Wyoming.

Activities (when the snow limits such things): 1) Park by Lake Marie and follow the asphalt trail up to Mirror Lake. When we were there the access roads were closed, but were occasionally visible - we were able to "follow" the road and then hike a bit up above the lakes. 2) East Fork of the Little Laramie River - multiple loop trails through verdant pine forest with frequent views of the river. 3) Sugarloaf Recreation Area - the road was blocked by a 16' snowfield, but we were still able to hike in to Libby & Lewis Lakes. Well worth the trip - not just the lakes, but views through the "Gap" all the way to the north. We were able to follow the Gap Lakes trail for a bit, until it became a stream that disappeared into willows and another large snow field.

We'll be back "in season" to take advantage of an amazing trail system that visits enumerable lakes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medicine Bow National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Medicine Bow National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing