We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A coffee gem in Laramie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coal Creek Coffee

Coal Creek Coffee
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An absolutely excellent coffee shop and more. Classic coffee shop karma, and some of the best roasted-right-there-coffee you could find anywhere! Been there many years and the locals love it, but visitors hardly know about it.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A coffee gem in Laramie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a find! I was passing through Laramie as I relocated to the west coast, and happened on this place (thanks, Yelp). Excellent coffee! Really nice staff, but I was a little disappointed with the banana bread I had. It was dry, seemed old, and not very flavorful.

I'd still go back though, because the lovely barista made for me one of the best lattes I've ever had. Super think & velvety foam (with almond milk no less!) and perfectly pulled shots. I'll stay away from the banana bread, but maybe try some of their other goods, there seemed to be some good things.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MotoBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for a coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Coffee selections are good and some interesting teas as well as other hot drinks. Snacks and pastries average, but realtively expensive. Good atmosphere and friendly staff if service is slow, so do not be in a hurry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HistoricHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Downtown Location is my Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a great local coffee shop in both Downtown and UW locations. I like downtown in the historical district with a great atmosphere. The coffee is excellent and the people are friendly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot Cider was a hit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at a ranch outside Laramie for a few days - a few very windy, chilly days. The hot cider was a seasonal menu item that started last week and it was the perfect thing for the weather! The service is a little slow - I wouldn't come in if I were in a big hurry, but the atmosphere is nice and relaxed. I like this so much better than a chain. The spinach feta stuffed croissant was great, too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Coal Coffee is a really great coffee house located in downtown Laramie. They offer a great variety of hot and cold drinks in an excellent environment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coal Creek Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Coal Creek Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing