We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crowbar & Grill

Crowbar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: opened mid june 2012 - incredible local-sourced burgers & pizza & beer til midnite. Just exactly what this town needed!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Good selection of draft beers an we split a burger and fries which were very large portion. Staff is friendly and helpful. Very affordable and a great meal for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank nhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Laramie's best burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

These folks have an excellent variety of craft beers, plus some outstanding and innovative burgers. The pizza is quite good too, especially if you like thin crust.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurousTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
297 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Happened upon this place and decided to give it a go. Small but friendly. Interesting menu of appetizers, burgers, and pizza. Good selection of unique cocktails and beers. Beers were plentiful without being overwhelming. Excellent detail of all beers on large blackboard behind bar. We had pizza and burgers. Burgers were rally good, pizza was excellent! Read some reviews about poor service. Our service math and been a little inexperienced, but friendly and more than wiling to help. It's a bar, so temper the service expectations and relax. Cool spot and I would definitely return when in Laramie.

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had pizza and beer tonight at the Crowbar. The pizza was excellent. They have Guinness on tap, so that made me very happy. The pizza crust is very good and we will go back. The service was also very good and professional. Our table was super small, so that is somewhat of a drawback. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food and the service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I hesitate to write a good review because it's already crowded enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Two things: first, a five-star review does not mean it would be five-star if it were located in Chicago, San Francisco, or Denver. This is five stars on the Laramie restaurant scene. Second: this review is based on a half-dozen visits, not just one reaction.

Crowbar gets its meat ground daily from an independent butcher in Laramie, and it shows. These are burgers like you would form yourself and fire up on your own grill (if you had the same skills). They're not overly huge and aren't drenched in salt and "special spices." This is a 100% 80/20 homestyle burger on a beautifully dense bun accompanied with real food-quality toppings. Best burger in town with no equal.

I'm not a lover of the Colorado-style pizza, and this isn't exactly an imitator of that brand, but it's in the ballpark. The dough is hand-formed and then cooked in an air/convection-style oven. The air bubbles are knocked down, the toppings are applied, and it goes back in for finishing. The result is a pretty decent crust platform that is an acceptable base for the delicious slighty-spicy tomato sauce and a reserved amount of cheese that is perfectly suited to the cooking method. All that to say this: the pizza is good and satisfying. Not legitimate city pizza, but very good for this location.

Yes, service at the Crowbar is spotty, but the staff is made up of an eclectic group of real people who smile, laugh, and are fun to talk to during your meal. The best adjective I can find to describe the beer selection is "curated." It's a limited list, but the breadth of it is just so perfect, and if you come back in a couple of weeks, there will be a few new things to try.

Crowbar does have a hipster vibe that won't satisfy every diner—but it attracts everyone from college kids to families who dig an old-fashioned bar atmosphere where conversation takes the place of sports on TV (not that there isn't a place for that as well, but it's nice to have a choice). There are a few gifts in the limited Laramie restaurant line-up, and Crowbar stands with Mizu Sushi and a few others as places where locals keep going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crowbar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Crowbar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing