We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in the Wind”
Review of Sweet Melissa Cafe

Sweet Melissa Cafe
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Wind”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I found this restaurant thanks to the direction of the Food Coop and it was great. I had the seitan steak dinner with mashed potatoes and sweet potato with gravy. The meal was quite filling and i had enough for the next day's lunch. It is located in the old section of town and faces the railroad, but that minor distraction was no bother. The young lady who served me was quite helpful and very efficient, while the beer on tap, a local one, was tasty and cold. I thoroughly enjoyed this meal and should I return to Laramie I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    65
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food. Interior badly needs a facelift.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This restaurant has been acclaimed by vegetarians and vegans from all over the world, who probably wondered if they could ever get a decent vegetarian meal along I-80... especially in Wyoming. Friendly staff, eclectic menu. Only thing I can fault it for is the decor or lack thereof. You would think after being rated so highly and doing so much profitable business they could afford to toss out the cheap, diner-style booths and wobbly tables and chairs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ITManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driggs, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, AMAZING desert!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My bf stopped here on our way to CO. He'd been before, but my first time. I'm not a vegetarian...not even close, but I LOVED the food! The soup was really good. All the ingredients felt fresh and savory. Also had the pita with falafel...yum! The best part was definitely the fried banana bread...don't miss out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mile139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
376 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Food Just Average at Best”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wanted to like this place, as we eat vegetarian routinely, though are not die hard vegetarians or vegans. We visited during the off-hours in the afternoon and we were the only people in the restaurant. The food tasted warmed up from lunch and was not as fresh as many reviewers indicate. We had among other things the lasagna, veggieburger an appetizer dip. The food was not bad, but not deserving the high ratings seen. The selection of beer is good. The atmosphere in the restaurant is a bit dark and not too inviting. The service was average lacking genuine enthusiasm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe it was just a bad day”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I went there about a year ago with a friend who eats only there. Well, I had burned veggie burger, the place was dim and unpleasant, they just opened the bar but apparently did not have enough money to spruce the place up. I'm not going there ever again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anyta277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Melissa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Melissa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing