We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit when in Laramie!”

Cavalryman Steakhouse
Ranked #14 of 108 Restaurants in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cavalryman Steakhouse is located on the grounds of historic Fort Sanders, established in July of 1866. In its heyday, the Fort Sanders Military Reservation protected the Overland and Lodgepole Creek emigrant routes, the Denver-Salt Lake City stage route, and the construction crews for the Union Pacific Railroad. Ruins of the fort’s powder keg are visible just southwest of the restaurant’s main building. The Cavalryman building was constructed in 1925 to serve as the clubhouse for the local country club. Just to the east, remnants of the nine-hole golf course can still be found.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit when in Laramie!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After 20 some years of visiting Laramie we swung by the Cavalryman so that my husband could see what it was all about. We just wanted a quick drink and to take a look and the entire staff was more than kind and accommodating.
Ken gave us the 25 cent tour and shared the local history of Ft. Sanders. We had drinks and some of the most wonderful beef that was prepared to perfection. Even the hamburger far surpassed any that we have had and I would recommend it to everyone!
The Cavalryman certainly isn't the frumpy restaurant of the past. The staff and the food could compete anywhere! Great job, thank you for adding much more than history to the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    11
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here on vacation about 15 years ago so decided to try it again. We have been on the road 3 weeks so we are getting a bit picky. The steak melts in your mouth!!!! Both our meals were so good and the margarita was the best I have had in a while!! Don't miss this place. Service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hulapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great steakhouse in Wyoming”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After my cousin's graduation from U Wyoming, the 3 of us went to Calvryman, because I wanted bison. We were not disappointed. From the moment we entered we were well treated and had a fantastic dinner. The maitres' d greeted us and gave us a quick and dirty tour of the area, history and food, and the place. He recommended the locally farmed bison London broil with a bourbon cream sauce. It was out of this world. As well as the rolls, which were like western scones, deep fried mushrooms and the dessert.The chocolate cake was a wonderful and rich flourless cake, which was great, and came with a berry sauce.

If you want to taste great Western fare (i am from Boston), this is the place to go!!!! Don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ekmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Generous portions, good food, great staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've dined at 'The Cav' in the past and felt that it was just so-so. Now, the restaurant is under new management (Ken) and the place is better than ever! Even the quality of the food seems to have improved.

If you've tried it in the past and have been disappointed-- give it another shot. Hopefully you will be as delighted as we were!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thebioarchaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL steak--fresh off the hoof!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Loved this place! The waitress was wonderful. My daughter had a hair in her baked potato and they replaced it immediately. The hostess showed us pictures of the history of the place. The manager (owner?) came around to check on us. The atmosphere was GREAT! Especially if you love history! I was impressed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavalryman Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cavalryman Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing