We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a trip!”
Review of Gas Lite Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laramie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gas Lite Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Laramie
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an older place, for sure. But it's really cute, has all kinds of weird statues and such on the grounds. Didn't look like the indoor pool was operational. The woman at the desk was very nice. Odd internet access--she prints out a separate sheet with id/password for each device you plan to connect. Works OK, free. Just a little different than usual, maybe a bit slow. Good sized room, tub, fridge, microwave. No coffeemaker.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Gas Lite Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

It is like the other reviewers said with all the decor. The room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom fixtures were old, but clean and functional. The continental breakfast was not much, but we only paid $55, so coffee, tea, juice, Cheerios and Danish were probably good enough. We really appreciated the ladies in the office giving us suggestions as to what we should do in the area. We loved the dinosaur museum, Territorial prison, the ride on Snowy Range road, and the hot springs in Saratoga! Yes, we did it all! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Kind of a fun place, with playful western art murals on the walls and cowboy ranch style decor. It was great to stay someplace besides your usual generic chain motel & do business with owners who care about their customers ~ Maria at the front desk is a remarkable woman & we failed to get the name of the gentleman clearing snow in the parking lot on a 4-wheeler but he went out of his way to accommodate us & we appreciate that kind of service. The motel is older as evidenced by the green bathroom sinks and tub, but lovingly tended & we were favorably impressed. Our room was small but adequate & had two sink areas ~ one in the bathroom and another in a small alcove by the beds. The towels were so fluffy and white they seemed almost brand new. Beds were comfortable & linens were very clean, with actual fitted bottom sheets and fat, fluffy pillows and we slept well. There was an older TV but a large selection of channels including TCM which we love, free wi-fi with good signal and a small fridge/micro. Although not white-glove clean (we found a couple of bottle caps on the floor as we pulled furniture away from the wall looking for an outlet) there was minimal dust & no cobwebs in the corners, etc. Have stayed here before & would not hesitate to stay here agian.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were excited to stay at the Gas Lite. The kitschy exterior and rooms were quirky and interesting. We looked at a room before checking in, and it was roomy and clean, so we took it and dropped off our luggage and headed to dinner. I took a shower when we got back, and I came out to my travel companion looking closely at a bed. He'd found a bed bug. We quickly gathered our stuff, which luckily we'd hardly unpacked, and left. We got a refund, and the check-in clerk said she'd tell the owners in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank drivinexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We were slightly sceptical on arrival at the motel but as soon as we saw inside a room and the life sized animals out the front we couldn't contain our excitement, we just knew it would be great! The place was a classic and the motel rooms couldn't be any cuter. The room was very clean, cute and the western furnishings were perfect. It had everything we needed and was really comfortable. For any Instagramers, there were so many amazing photo opportunities! I was quite shocked to find some of the 'terrible' reviews but please, don't give this place a miss. If you love kitsch, cool and nostalgia this is the place for you. If not, take it all in and appreciate this wonderful motel, all quirks included.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a small hotel. The decorations are cute--not your typical chain hotel for sure. The price was reasonable. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The parking was pretty tight at least on the side our room was on. I would stay here again if I get back to Laramie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our car broke down near Laramie over the Labor Day weekend and the tow-truck driver recommended the Gas Lite Motel over the Motel 6. We had to stay a few days and were happy with it. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's pretty kitschy: littered with animal statues, murals, and other oddities. My husband thought it was hilariously awesome and took a lot of photos. Marie was very, very nice and accommodating. The room was pretty standard for budget hotels, a bit gloomy, maybe, but I didn't notice any odd smell as other people have. The location was good, not directly on the freeway like the Motel 6, and not too far from restaurants, shops, and a park. There was a mini fridge, microwave, TV, AC, and wireless internet. There's also a pool but it seemed to be perpetually "closed for cleaning." The continental breakfast consists of cheerios, milk, and danishes, which was fine by me. If we ever end up in Laramie again (hopefully we don't), this is definitely where we will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laramie hotels
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Laramie
Days Inn Laramie
#4 of 19 in Laramie
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Laramie Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Motel 8 Laramie
Motel 8 Laramie
#10 of 19 in Laramie
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Laramie
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Laramie
Hampton Inn Laramie
#3 of 19 in Laramie
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Laramie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gas Lite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gas Lite Motel

Address: 960 N 3rd St, PO Box 1162, Laramie, WY 82072-2510
Region: United States > Wyoming > Laramie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Laramie
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(formerly Best Western Gas Lite Motel) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gas Lite Hotel Laramie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing