We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backcountry luxury - a serendipity!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyoming High Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, WY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Backcountry luxury - a serendipity!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Since we love to ride horses on new trails, we have had the opportunity to see many guest ranches that lease Forest Service property. The main lodge at Wyoming High Country is the most luxurious, by far. Our King room (in the Lodge building) was richly decorated with Western decor, our bed slept well, and our room was fresh and well-maintained - to the point of looking brand-new, although I think the Lodge building opened in 2009. Cheryl, Howard, and Paul are relaxed, welcoming, likeable hosts. With experience owning a restaurant, they fed us well: shrimp over polenta for dinner and eggs benedict for b'fast. A bow-hunter camping nearby dropped in for meals and conversation. The Lodge's fireside seating tempted us to lounge and read.
We had arranged ahead of time to rent 2 saddle horses from their corral for 1-2 days. Even though the outfitter moved his other horses to winter pasture, High Country was true to their word and kept 2 horses on site for us. An early winter storm moved into the entire Big Horn area, so our trailride was a winter wonderland. It was extra work for Howard and Cheryl to keep 2 horses warm and feed in the cold corral for our riding pleasure, and we deeply appreciate their efforts.
Wyoming High Country is an oasis of comfort in the Big Horn mountains. We will return to explore more of their trails and waterfalls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We so enjoyed having you here! We love to have guests at the Lodge and accommodating your passion for riding was no hardship! We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    14
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
32
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stopped at this lodge many times thru the past 7 yrs and have seen the lodge go thru building fazes & management changes. I met the new managers in July 2013 a couple wks into their new jobs at the lodge. They were not very welcoming and got the impression upon arriving that it was a nuisance to have customers just walk in, they were rude. I understand they were new but they knew nothing about the area, so they couldn't help ppl with questions. The people in our group have nothing good to say about the visit & the new managers and we don't plan to go back. On a separate note it was nice that the previous manager Corey was always welcoming, friendly and always talked highly about the area & things to do. It is not that way there now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WY Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I am dismayed by this review.

We do not believe we have ever been unwelcoming to anyone. We and the Lodge have received nothing but positive comments since taking over.

I'd ask WY Traveler K to contact us directly so we can discuss how we "were not very welcoming and got the impression upon arriving that it was a nuisance to have customers just walk in, they were rude."

It is true that we are not from the area and in the early days we could not provide a lot of information, but we have since availed ourselves of the knowledge of the locals we have met and can provide trail suggestions and wildlife viewing areas.

I'm sorry you feel this way WY Traveler K, I hope you will stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The managers were from North Carolina, they had no idea of what was going on. This was June 21, the sewer was backed up and running down the road to the corrals. The Fire Marshalls were there and they were shutting the place down so there were no lodge rooms available. The guy from the forest service told us that the lodge no longer complied with the regulations of the U.S Forest service. We asked the U.S. Forest Service ranger what they had to do with it?, and the lodge is leased from the U.S. Forest Service and they can terminate the operation any time that it does not comply. We are never going back; there are two wonderful places in the Laramie Mountain that are privately owned close to Casper. This Wyoming High Country (Lodge) is a joke.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fordvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ford,
We are sorry that your stay at Wyoming High Country was disappointing. Unfortunately we were in the midst of a management change. We assure you that everything has been addressed and the Lodge has been running beautifully since our arrival in July. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracemont, OK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The managers are fairly new to the facility and are quite good at what they are doing. They also try hard to please you. Three family style meals are available to you each day, the managers are very good cooks and I'm pretty sure you will enjoy the meals they prepare. Previous managers left a hefty job for cleaning up the cabins, etc. The lodge rooms are quite nice and this is the accommodation that I recommend, at least until the managers have the time to get everything squared away. This facility is great for riding your ATV's in and around the trails as you will not have to haul them somewhere to ride. You can ride from the facility. We saw a number of moose on and near the facility also. Okay, would I stay there again? Yes, in a lodge room.

Room Tip: Cabins need to be cleaned up, stay in a lodge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreidaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you! We are working hard to make this a destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are dreaming of the perfect setting for a stay in the high country woods, this is the place. The whole place (buildings, setting, furnishings, wildlife) is as "high country" as you can get. And there is satellite tv in the lodge and even wi-fi for us "gotta-stay-connected" types. While we did not eat from the menu, there seemed to be a fine, perhaps unexpected, selection. I suggest that folks with kids be certain of what will keep their kids entertained. Check out the website for outdoor activities, e.g. horseback riding and hiking. This is 100% rural.

I want to explain my "poor" rating as to "sleep quality" as well as my "4" overall rating: both mattresses in our room were covered with plastic beneath the fitted sheet. I roasted and woke up at 2:15, 3:10, 4:15, and 5:20 because of my discomfort. I am usually a very sound sleeper. I figure a practical solution when we go back (as we will) is to ask ahead for removal of the plastic or for adding a couple of sheets to insulate from the plastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Gramps45,
You will be happy to know that we have removed all of the plastic mattress covers. Come on back for a GREAT nights sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Camping in early summer is always an adventure, and sometimes you just need a backup plan. We were so happy to find the Wyoming High Country Lodge late one evening after discovering that the nearby campground was covered in snow drifts and fallen trees from a recent storm. When we pulled up to the lodge Corey came out to welcome us and we quickly began to feel right at home. We had a wonderful evening chatting with Dawnie and decided to spend two nights with them. It was so refreshing to experience the genuine hospitality that Dawnie & Corey offered to us. We hope to visit again this season!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we went up snowmobiling a few times and after our first experience. we made it a point to ride to the lodge warm up, an dry off every time. corey and dawn are so friendly and inviting they are no pressure and make you want to stay!!. we plan on staying a lot this summer!!!.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeymartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovell
18.1 mi away
Elk View Inn
Elk View Inn
#1 of 4 in Dayton
77 reviews
26.0 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
25 reviews
24.4 mi away
Greybull Motel
Greybull Motel
#1 of 5 in Greybull
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Greybull
Historic Hotel Greybull
#1 of 2 in Greybull
174 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wyoming High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyoming High Country Lodge

Property: Wyoming High Country Lodge
Address: Highway 14A, Lovell, WY
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyoming High Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyoming High Country Lodge is operated as a mountain resort, under a special use permit by the Forest Service, and offers recreation activities to the general public. Wyoming High Country Lodge has an upscale lodge, with lodging, rustic cabins, meals, fueling station, and camp store services in support of its recreation activities. Our elevation is at approximately 9000' with some of the most spectacular views ever seen. Outside of the windows of your selected accommodations, you will have the opportunity to see Elk, Moose, Deer, Coyote, Squirrels, Chipmunks and any other wildlife known to the area. Our main lodge has 4 rooms with a Queen and a Full Bed, 1 room with a King bed and 1 room with a Queen Bed. Each room has a full bath. We have 4 cabins that are rustic in design with full baths, bunk beds that will sleep up to 9 people with refrigerator and microwave. These are fantastic for families or groups. We also a bunkhouse cabin with 3 twin bunks. We have shower facilities on site for your convenience. We have guided side by side tours in the summer and fall and are very popular for the snowmobilers and snow kiters in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyoming High Country Lodge Lovell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing