We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyoming High Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our time with Cheryl and Howard was all to short. We were made to feel welcome from minute we arrived and they were out the front to see us off on departure. This was a summer visit. The walking, food, scenery and hospitality were excellent. Great rooms and overall accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Summer is an amazing time in the Big Horns! Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Wyoming High Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent location and great hosts that cook wonderful food. Would like to see rates go back to flat room rate as the American Plan takes away the option of sharing a room to keep cost down. We enjoyed our stay very much but at this price it's a little unaffordable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seriously56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thanks for the positive rating.

It's interesting that you mention your interest in going away from an American Plan to reduce costs for a couple sharing a room. One of the main reasons we went to an American Plan was to save people money and hassle. Prior to this, rooms were priced somewhere in the $139 per night range. When you consider that for the winter season, we have been offering a per person rate of $80 with meals included, the cost is actually lower than the prices last year if you purchased breakfast, lunch and dinner in our restaurant.

In general, we have had a very, very positive response to our American plan set up.

Again, thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

It's so nice here! Cheryl and Howard are great, consummate hosts with superb cooking skills, great stories and interesting passions.

Rooms are great, comfy beds, it's the perfect place for an easy backcountry experience and the Mt Baldy location is snowkite paradise.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank LEKCabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thanks for your kind words. We are trying to make everyone's visit the best vacation they've ever had.

By the way, the kiting is getting better every day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Since we love to ride horses on new trails, we have had the opportunity to see many guest ranches that lease Forest Service property. The main lodge at Wyoming High Country is the most luxurious, by far. Our King room (in the Lodge building) was richly decorated with Western decor, our bed slept well, and our room was fresh and well-maintained - to the point of looking brand-new, although I think the Lodge building opened in 2009. Cheryl, Howard, and Paul are relaxed, welcoming, likeable hosts. With experience owning a restaurant, they fed us well: shrimp over polenta for dinner and eggs benedict for b'fast. A bow-hunter camping nearby dropped in for meals and conversation. The Lodge's fireside seating tempted us to lounge and read.
We had arranged ahead of time to rent 2 saddle horses from their corral for 1-2 days. Even though the outfitter moved his other horses to winter pasture, High Country was true to their word and kept 2 horses on site for us. An early winter storm moved into the entire Big Horn area, so our trailride was a winter wonderland. It was extra work for Howard and Cheryl to keep 2 horses warm and feed in the cold corral for our riding pleasure, and we deeply appreciate their efforts.
Wyoming High Country is an oasis of comfort in the Big Horn mountains. We will return to explore more of their trails and waterfalls.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We so enjoyed having you here! We love to have guests at the Lodge and accommodating your passion for riding was no hardship! We hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stopped at this lodge many times thru the past 7 yrs and have seen the lodge go thru building fazes & management changes. I met the new managers in July 2013 a couple wks into their new jobs at the lodge. They were not very welcoming and got the impression upon arriving that it was a nuisance to have customers just walk in, they were rude. I understand they were new but they knew nothing about the area, so they couldn't help ppl with questions. The people in our group have nothing good to say about the visit & the new managers and we don't plan to go back. On a separate note it was nice that the previous manager Corey was always welcoming, friendly and always talked highly about the area & things to do. It is not that way there now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WY Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

I am dismayed by this review.

We do not believe we have ever been unwelcoming to anyone. We and the Lodge have received nothing but positive comments since taking over.

I'd ask WY Traveler K to contact us directly so we can discuss how we "were not very welcoming and got the impression upon arriving that it was a nuisance to have customers just walk in, they were rude."

It is true that we are not from the area and in the early days we could not provide a lot of information, but we have since availed ourselves of the knowledge of the locals we have met and can provide trail suggestions and wildlife viewing areas.

I'm sorry you feel this way WY Traveler K, I hope you will stop by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The managers were from North Carolina, they had no idea of what was going on. This was June 21, the sewer was backed up and running down the road to the corrals. The Fire Marshalls were there and they were shutting the place down so there were no lodge rooms available. The guy from the forest service told us that the lodge no longer complied with the regulations of the U.S Forest service. We asked the U.S. Forest Service ranger what they had to do with it?, and the lodge is leased from the U.S. Forest Service and they can terminate the operation any time that it does not comply. We are never going back; there are two wonderful places in the Laramie Mountain that are privately owned close to Casper. This Wyoming High Country (Lodge) is a joke.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fordvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Ford,
We are sorry that your stay at Wyoming High Country was disappointing. Unfortunately we were in the midst of a management change. We assure you that everything has been addressed and the Lodge has been running beautifully since our arrival in July. Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The managers are fairly new to the facility and are quite good at what they are doing. They also try hard to please you. Three family style meals are available to you each day, the managers are very good cooks and I'm pretty sure you will enjoy the meals they prepare. Previous managers left a hefty job for cleaning up the cabins, etc. The lodge rooms are quite nice and this is the accommodation that I recommend, at least until the managers have the time to get everything squared away. This facility is great for riding your ATV's in and around the trails as you will not have to haul them somewhere to ride. You can ride from the facility. We saw a number of moose on and near the facility also. Okay, would I stay there again? Yes, in a lodge room.

Room Tip: Cabins need to be cleaned up, stay in a lodge room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreidaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl J, Manager at Wyoming High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you! We are working hard to make this a destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovell
18.1 mi away
Elk View Inn
Elk View Inn
#2 of 4 in Dayton
80 reviews
26.0 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
27 reviews
24.4 mi away
Greybull Motel
Greybull Motel
#1 of 5 in Greybull
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Greybull
Historic Hotel Greybull
#1 of 2 in Greybull
175 reviews
23.9 mi away
Antler Motel
Antler Motel
#2 of 5 in Greybull
66 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yellowstone Motel
Yellowstone Motel
#3 of 5 in Greybull
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyoming High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyoming High Country Lodge

Address: Highway 14A, Lovell, WY
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lovell
Price Range: £55 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyoming High Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyoming High Country Lodge is operated as a mountain resort, under a special use permit by the Forest Service, and offers recreation activities to the general public. Wyoming High Country Lodge has an upscale lodge, with lodging, rustic cabins, meals, fueling station, and camp store services in support of its recreation activities. Our elevation is at approximately 9000' with some of the most spectacular views ever seen. Outside of the windows of your selected accommodations, you will have the opportunity to see Elk, Moose, Deer, Coyote, Squirrels, Chipmunks and any other wildlife known to the area. Our main lodge has 4 rooms with a Queen and a Full Bed, 1 room with a King bed and 1 room with a Queen Bed. Each room has a full bath. We have 4 cabins that are rustic in design with full baths, bunk beds that will sleep up to 9 people with refrigerator and microwave. These are fantastic for families or groups. We also a bunkhouse cabin with 3 twin bunks. We have shower facilities on site for your convenience. We have guided side by side tours in the summer and fall and are very popular for the snowmobilers and snow kiters in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyoming High Country Lodge Lovell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing