We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service EXTREMELY LACKING!”
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lovell
Reviewed 14 February 2011

After waiting to speak to the owner, to request my room key, well after a half hour wait, I finally had to take the agressive route, and demand it. (after paying for the room well in advance???) Holy crap. If busy, I can understand the HORRIBLE service. (maybe) But, if you just aren't cut out for customer service, think about another line of work. Like a wise man once said, Iif you can't swing a pick and shovel, don't apply fo a pick and shovel job." Enough said. Good riddance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTruthMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Western Motel.

Thanks for your stay and the review.

We have taken all steps towards improvement and you have to check in again.

We won’t justify, but rather invite you to stay again and feel the new experience.

Guest reviews always help us to improve.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

First the good news, the room was clean. We pulled into the parking late after dark to find cars jacked up, young people milling about the lot, and some annoying kid on a skateboard. I actually thought it was a garage. It was difficult to find where to park, it was difficult to find the office. Someone walked over to me and asked if I needed help. I said "reservation", he yelled at someone then directed me to the office. On the way I heard him make some snide comment about "tourist". The owner/operator was very pleasant although not very talkative. In the room I noticed there was NO security chain on the door and there was a large gap between the door and the frame. It did not appear safe. WIFI would not work in my room ( owner said I may have to use it in the office ). We were close to a train track with lots of traffic which made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iangillamoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Western Motel.

We appreciate you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your feedback. Glad that you found the rooms clean.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

We have implemented complete security measures and ensure that there are no unsafe elements.

We are addressing your observations related to the rooms. Each room is now individually checked and certified before checking in a new guest.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Upon arrival, we were told that our PREPAID reservation was just a reservation, that it had not been paid. She refused to call up our reservation on the computer and argued with us until we began to call our reservation provider. Then, all of a sudden she had the payment and checked us in.
This, in my opinion, was an obvious attempt to commit fraud by way of a double billing.
The rooms were dirty, there was food remnants in the drawers, some kind of pills scattered under the bed, stains on the comforter and mildew all over the shower. The room had clearly not been vacuumed or properly cleaned.
There were mosquitoes coming in through the heater, we had to cover it with a towel The water in the shower refused to stay on by itself.
It was so bad we took photos and will be reporting this place to the local health department and BBB.
One of the absolute worst hotel experiences I have EVER had.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon_idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmangali, Manager at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

First of all, it has always been our policy that when guests make reservations, either by phone, third party or online, we obtain their credit card information for the purpose of holding or reserving their room only. We never charge credit cards when prospective guests reserve, and the only time we would charge their card is only upon check in. It was about 1:00 a.m. when they arrived and she stated that room was already paid for. During that time, I explained to her the above policy and she still insisted that they had prepaid it and has showed no proof of payment. Since she stated that their company is paying for their stay and she does not have the credit card information, I have to research their information and luckily we were able to find it. Their card indeed was NOT prepaid and it was at that time only, after obtaining the card information (which only the manager can access), that we were able to charge their card. Our company challenges them that if they can show us any statement that we have double billed them, we will gladly give back to them triple the amount that they paid for their room. Our establishment has no intention of committing any fraud or double billing that they are implicating on us.

As to our rooms, we have remodeled almost all of our rooms as well as replaced brand new appliances and furniture on these rooms. Likewise, we have always made it a point to replace new clean sheets on all the rooms upon checkout, clean all the bedrooms and bathrooms, and make sure everything is in proper order. To date, we have not received any issues or complaints from guests who have recently stayed in that room, either before or after they stayed there. In fact, there were many guests who have attested and favorably complimented our rooms as well as our service. Even the communities around us have noticed the improvements we have done in our establishment. Of course, despite our efforts to make things as good and clean as possible, there might be some things that might have been unintentionally overlooked, which we might not be aware of. In any case, we have all the intentions to make all our rooms clean and comfortable. I hope they should have let us know about any concerns and of course we would only be happy to fix, replace or correct them as quickly as possible. They never informed us about it. The heater that they were referring to is, in fact, brand new and has just been installed January of this year (2010). With all our heart, we are truly committed to provide excellent service as well as a nice and comfortable place to stay for all the guests. I just sincerely hope that this couple is not one of those who would cruelly put down or harshly criticize or hurt others who have been striving to establish and make things better for other people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The rooms were adequate and clean. A 50's or 60's motel, but economical. We stopped in Lovell in part because Powell (30 minutes west) and Cody (another 30 minutes west) are more than twice as expensive. You will get more in the other towns, but this is a great budget stop. It did not include breakfast, but the attached restaurant was also economical.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Western Motel.

We appreciate your review and are also glad that you found the hotel clean and amenities useful.

We shall definitely improve our services still better.

Please visit us again and enjoy our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Informal and friendly check-in in the restaurant. Ask for the password for the free wifi access when you check-in. The restaurant serves good food which is home cooked.

I had arranged by phone to have a package delivered before arriving which was useful. It was waiting for me on arrival.

The rooms are a bit tired, but clean and comfortable with a fridge and microwave.

Good value for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jp_from_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Western Motel for your last stay.

We are really glad to read your review.

It makes us proud when we get a remark from our guests that they liked the stay and it motivates us to still better our hospitality.

We shall further improve our rooms.

Do visit us again at the earliest and we shall be more than happy to serve you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

It is an older accomodation but clean and quiet, the people running it were very friendly and helpful.
Check in is a bit strange as they don't have a reception(anymore), you check in at the restaurant which is onsite. Rooms have micro/fridge, no bath but a shower.
Wireless internet is availiable, ask for it when checking in.

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Yellowstone National Park.
If i were to do it again I would choose accomodations closer to the park as it takes you around 2 hrs to get to the east entrance of it. Staying in Cody is a lot closer..

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Western Motel.

We appreciate your review and are also glad that you found the hotel clean and amenities useful.

We shall definitely improve our services further.

Please visit us again and enjoy our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We were looking for a place to stay that was reasonably priced.We were on a motorcycle trip. We found it on the internet and called the motel directly. It was an older motel but the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. It wasn't a fancy place but it was quite and clean and a good place to stay for the money. I would stay here again when and if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gma2Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernmotellovellwy, Webmaster at Western Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Western Motel for your recent stay.

It is very nice to observe that you liked the cleanliness, hospitality of our staff and the stay.

Your appreciations make us empowered to offer the best of us.

We are eager to see you again soon and offer our best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Address: 180 W Main St, Lovell, WY 82431-1717
Region: United States > Wyoming > Lovell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lovell
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Western Motel, a "relaxing cowboy country retreat" for everyone -- young and old --a place to hideaway from an everyday stressful and fast-paced lifestyle. At some point, we need some kind of a break to recharge our batteries. With such a momentary escape, going back to the old grind is just a breeze! Therefore, our goal is to provide comfort, relaxation, convenience and the best service possible during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Motel Wyoming/Lovell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing