We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blah”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here on our vacation to Grand Teton National Park. After a long drive from Salt Lake City we were already in the laid back and friendly spirit of the West and therefore expected a "welcome" or at the very least a "hello" upon arrival, however, we stood by the front desk for a good 5 minutes before the "manager" bothered to acknowledge us. When he finally did look our way he quickly and begrudgingly gave us our keys and a map to find our cabin. When we inquired about the weather in the morning so that we could be prepared and dress appropriately for our raft excursion, his response was "I don't know, I'm never up that early." Enough said.

We purchased the breakfast package which included 2 hot breakfasts and the food was quite good. The first morning our waitress Alicia was very sweet and friendly we actually happened to be seated in her section later that evening for dinner (yup 18 hour shift). The next morning, however, the service was atrocious. Our waiter didn't bother to give us water. He appeared irked that I filled up my glass from the water jug in the lobby, as staying hydrated was important give the high altitude in Wyoming. Upon check out, my husband happened to notice that we were double charged for our rafting excursion. Mistakes happen of course, but it just seemed like the icing on the cake after 2 days of careless customer service.

This place does have some other redeeming factors besides the food: the actual accommodations are nice. The cabins are quiet and well maintained and the location is good for access both to parks. If you really want to get away and disconnect, this is the place for you, as it is VERY secluded.

Pros: affordable, clean, picturesque cabins near many Grand Teton attractions. Tasty food, some knowledgable staff who will give you some information about the park attractions. Can book your excursions directly with the lodge, well stocked gift shop and convenience store in the main lodge.

Cons: hit-or-miss service, poor cellular reception.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank easpitze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    196
    84
    27
    26
See reviews for
230
168
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed the stay near the woods at this lodge. It included a generous Queen size beds along with a great view of the forest and nature. The Patio was useful and the location in which it was close to Yellowstone National Park and Teton national park helped make the travel experience so much better. The near by convenience store and gas station that are a bit expensive but made the trip a lot easier than traveling for 1 hour each day.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you make your own food in contrast to eating in the restaurant. There is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for a night in the cabins after leaving Yellowstone. The cabins are updated and clean and comfortable. If available, ask for a cabin on the perimeter that faces the Snake River. This is a perfect location if you are doing either/both parks during the day. It was a bit isolated for us since we had done both already. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a tasty dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. The convenience store was better quality and more plentifully stocked than the ones in Yellowstone, so stock up here on your way into Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Cabins along the perimeter facing the Snake River were peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cabins (not those at campground) at Headwater Lodge. Premises between Teton and Yellowstone "out in the woods". Very quiet location. Good for trips to south Yellowstone and north Teton. Trips to Yellowstone north loop rather far. Premium King cabin was reasonably sized. Small bathroom smelled but seemed otherwise clean, sink outside bathroom. Porch had not been cleaned in a while. We liked Sheffield's a lot. Went there for breakfast and dinner. A bit on the expensive side which may be blamed on logistics... Gas station and convenience store on-site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal-clear100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had the premium cabin for 2 nights. It was very nice, spacious, and recently remodeled. Private (sort of) patio with forest view, birds, squirrels, even a couple deer. The only thing missing for us was a view of the Grand Tetons. Those spectacular mountains are down the road about 40 minutes. They have a high priced dining room with only average service. But you gotta try the elk meatloaf, or maybe a bison burger at least once. There is also an RV park there I guess, but we stayed away from that part. If you're looking for a comfortable and secluded getaway in the area, this is the place. Those who are looking to experience the Grand Teton National Park might be advised to think seriously of one of the other lodges actually in the park. We spent a lot of time driving back and forth...

Room Tip: Only difference between the standard and premium cabins is whether they face the forest or the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the best lodge if you're visiting between Yellowstone NP and Grand Teton NP. It's right in the middle. The rooms are bungalow style spread over the property with one room adjacent to one other room. The lobby, restaurant, convenience store, and gift shop are a stand-alone building away from the lodges. The restaurant is good and adequate to help you get your day started but it's not fantastic. I recommend dinner at the Old Faithful lodge but you should get a reservation because it gets packed. Anyway, Headwaters has a convenient gas station attached. The people are very, very friendly and come from all over the US. They are all friendly because they love the Yellowstone vibe.

One nit is that there is no cell phone service here and the wi-fi is only in the lobby and it is satellite based (not cell phone or wired based). That means that if there is a cloudy day, forget any wi-fi. Nearby wi-fi is located at Grant's Village and Old Faithful lodge (in Yellowstone) and Jackson Lodge (in Grand Teton NP). If you want to disconnect from technology and enjoy the parks and outdoors, this is the place.

Tip: There is a board in the lobby manned by an expert to the parks. If you don't know what to do or where to go in the parks, just go to the lobby. They can tell you where the best places and most recent sightings of wildlife. He (Michael) was very, very helpful with great tips you won't read about in a tourist guide.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just go ahead and camp instead of wasting your money on the camper cabins. They are $75/night and basically just four walls and a floor. That's it. There is a picnic table outside, but nothing else. I've stayed in WAY nicer camper cabins for WAY cheaper. Either upgrade to the deluxe or just keep on driving!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Football_Mom422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
35.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
19.3 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
9.8 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch

Property: Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Address: 2 Miles South of South Entrance, Yellowstone National Park, P.O. Box 187, Moran, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 newly renovated guest cabin rooms, a campground that includes 50 amp RV sites, tent sites, and camper cabins, and a newly renovated restaurant, bar, and coffee bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagg Ranch Hotel Moran
Flagg Ranch Resort Moran
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins At Flagg Ranch Wyoming/Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing