We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, LOTS of wildlife!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gros Ventre Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, LOTS of wildlife!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was my first time staying at this campground, but it surely won't be the last. VERY friendly and helpful check-in staff! Campsite was ok, a bit cramped, but doable for a one night stay. But the wildlife action around here is phenomenal for a photographer. A herd of bison, a coyote, and 9 moose (including 3 babies) all seen within a short amount of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We enjoyed Gros Ventre Campground using our small a travel trailer and did not need hookups. Restroom facilties and water were convenient. There were trees and shade. We did a lot of activities in Jackson, Wyoming so the campground was a located in a perfectly! We also went to Jackson Lake and Colter Bay for showers but there are closer places in Jackson. My husband and I enjoy hiking and did the 6-mile loop at Jenny Lake and about another mile to Hidden Falls and Inspiration Point with beautiful views. The weather was a little rainy so cooled it down which was welcomed. We saw a huge moose on the trail and he finally moved so we could walk by....got some great photos. We saw herds of Bison at times when we were leaving for our day. I would recommend this campground. It is 1/2 price for seniors so we paid $10.50 per day. Also for variety, we went to the Bar J Ranch Chuckwagon-Music Show, worth the money, $22 a plate and up. Rode the tram at Teton Village for fun, great views! and took a Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trip and dinner :).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank concertina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Doesn't have the spectacular mountain views of Grand Tetons' other campgrounds, but it's away from the crowds of the park, so that was nice. A moose walked through our site and a herd of bison blocked off the street not too far away. The woman at the front desk was not accommodating to our simple requests and was actually quite grumpy, but a man checking sites on his bike honored our request, so we were happy to have come across him.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jebian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This campground is very nice. Great location (only 15 min. from Jackson), and reasonably priced. Lots of spots and clean. Easy access to the rest of the park.
But, no hookups. Not even electric, unless ADA. No showers in restrooms either. Perfect if you have a motorhome, because you can empty every day and use your generator (8a-8p). I would gladly pay $5 more each day for electric. They could learn a lot from Custer State Park.
Again, nice campground and great location, just need electric and showers, please.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I visit Jackson and the Teton National Park every summer. I always stay at Gros Ventre Campground because I know I will always find a camp spot. The facilities are virtually identical to those in the other campgrounds but the campground is huge so there is always room for one more. There are loops for motor homes and loops for tent campers, like me. I regularly see moose in the campground and always see buffalo on the road. When the others are full there is always room at Gros Ventre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bobbolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo
Level Contributor
461 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stay at the Gros Ventre campground every year on our annual trip to Yellowstone. We love how close the campground is to Jackson because it's easy to wander into town for shopping or other activities. There are always Bison about and my kids enjoyed fun watching a Bull Moose wander through camp. The prices are decent for a night's stay and the campground is always quiet with a lot of campsites to choose from. We have a 28 foot travel trailer and there are always ample sites to choose from.If you are on your way to visit Teton or Yellowstone, I would recommend staying at this campground.

Room Tip: You can't reserve campsites and so it helps to show up earlier in the day. Although, we have nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mea37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I wrote review a few weeks ago that was rejected - so trying again because really want people to know what a wonderful little jewel this is -- only place we have seen large wildlife.

If you want to get back to the basics, and enjoy the simple pleasures of our beautiful outdoors and Grand Teton National Park, I whole-heartedly recommend Gros Ventre Campground as your 1st stop between Jackson Hole, Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park (and/or as you come from North before going to Jackson Hole, of course)!

Gros Ventre (pronounced "Grow Vaunt." and means "big belly" in French) Campground is the closest campground to the town of Jackson (aka Jackson Hole). Situated between Jackson Hole, Wyoming (11.8 miles) and Moose (11.5 miles). You do NOT want to miss Jackson Hole and Gros Ventre campground is a perfect jumping point. Moose hosts the Grand Teton National Park’s headquarters, a very nice Visitor Center (open year-round), and Grand Teton Natural History Association. There is also a post office.

You can usually get a spot at Gros Ventre Campground. It generally fills in the evening, if at all. We had no problem finding a site. The campground lies along the Gros Ventre River with a mix of sites in sagebrush, or beneath cottonwoods. The Gros Ventre River is a short walk and runs adjacent to the campground.

While enjoying our Summer 2012 journey IMMENSELY, it was a working journey as Deb's Professional Services had events scheduled in Jackson Hole -- Gros Ventre was perfect as it was close and easy to get back and forth to Jackson Hole driving our motor coach. During our Summer 2012 Yellowstone Journey, Bob and I preferred campgrounds with lower elevation, easy terrain/access, not far from our main route. Gros Ventre Campground offered us all of this (elevation 6,565 feet) – and so much more.

While there are no hookups, its campers come in a variety of ways. There were people who had back-packed in and pitched their tent (on campground tent pads) and others who had larger luxury motor coaches. The area is spacious, however -- if you are in a big rig i.e. 40 feet or more with slide outs, etc. your choices are very limited (loop A had a lot of them when we walked through there).

Office
• It is first-come, first serve basis, except for Group Camping.
• Check in at office BEFORE going to spot re availability. If you do not already have a favorite spot, they will assign you one dependent on size of your rig and your specific needs.
• There is staff on duty during office hours
• Staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area
• You can purchase ice
• You can purchase firewood ($6/bundle and please do not use firewood from other parks as it increases danger of disease to our forests, etc.)
• Dump Station (fee for non-campers)
• There is informational materials available
• You can trade, check out books
• Back porch in wooded area with a picnic table & electrical outlet
o to sit a spell
o signal for cell phones
o use/charge your laptop, phones, etc
o WIFI

website for group reservations --
http://www.gtlc.com/lodging/gtlc-campgrounds-gros-ventre.aspx

350 individual campsites and 5 large group sites. Maximum allowed per site is two tents, two vehicles, and six guests. (2 motorcycles = 1 vehicle, RV = 2 vehicles, trailer = 1 vehicle)

The camping areas are comprised of 7 loops, each loop having narrow, paved roads; and connected along a main road running through the campground. We moved our location to a further loop – liking more of a feel of not right up by the office – more in with nature so to speak, able to use generator, and not as much traffic. Moving was no problem – but make sure you do it officially through the office. We found the loops are designed though so that traffic does not appear to BE a problem. We ran our generator at various times, of course NOT during designated quiet hours. Each loop appears to be different in the scenery, as well as the type of site and rules i.e. generators are allowed to be run only in designated loops.

BATHROOM AREAS: Each loop contains 2 bathrooms. Suggest you bring along your own sani-wipes, etc.
• Clean and Maintained
• Flush toilets
• Potable water
• Community Bear Box
• At night (VERY dark) each bathroom is lit by inside lights and a few dim outdoor lights.

EACH CAMPSITE for the most part is roomy and level – all are gravel, and:
• sturdy picnic table
• fire pit
• barricade (While we experienced no problem, I am told to be careful in some rigs re these. To allow rear end to hang over the barricade - so front end is off the road, set the jacks manually WITHOUT dumping the air suspension. This is a precaution to avoid fiberglass damage on the barricade).

PAYMENTS & RESERVATIONS: This is a Grand Teton National Park campground and accepts National Park and certain Inter-Agency passes. Being seniors, we paid $10/night for our motor coach. We had no other vehicles.

Campsites are available on a first come basis. Advance reservations are only taken for group sites. I gave a website earlier for this.

2012 Rates
Campers with vehicle $20.50 per night
Golden Age or Golden Access Passport $10 per night
Group Tent Sites, $25 non-refundable registration fee, $5 per person per night
Golden Age or Golden Access Passport, $2.50 per person per night

Open dependent on season/weather. Usually May to October

We stayed at Gros Ventre Campground in our 30 foot motor-coach (no slides) “Gypsy” from August 6 to August 13, 2012. We are fully contained and did not use the bathrooms often – except during our walks. They were clean and maintained. Suggest you bring your own hand wipes. Showers are NOT available on site – but the friendly office volunteers will be able to direct you to where you can obtain a shower.

VERIZON worked sporadically for our cell phone and computer. Having a full-service office available in our Deb’s Professional Services motor coach, “Gypsy”, it is vital we have a dependable source of electricity and WI-FI. We are fully contained, thereby having a generator that allows us to boondock. We also have Verizon wireless internet for my netbook in addition to our own MIFI hotspot for our full-size, stationery equipment. The back porch of the office always had a great signal and was pleasant area. I enjoyed time spent working there on my netbook, and using their electricity and Wi-Fi.

Gros Ventre Campground borders the National ELK Refuge and the Gros Ventre River. (Entrance to The National Elk Refuge is between Jackson Hole and Gros Ventre.)
We loved our many leisurely walks to/along the Gros Ventre River which runs alongside the campground. There are lots of areas to walk within the campground. Because of boulders etc., and my husband and I only walk on easy terrain, which for the most part this really is – there were some areas where we could get closer to the river than others.

The nights are VERY dark and quiet. We enjoyed sitting by our campfire with the view of the starry summer night sky – it was out of this world – lol! Seriously, after experiencing the beautiful sunset -- it is like the Western Night Sky comes closer, right down to pull a starry blanket close to you. We loved looking out our back window while lying in bed.

WILDLIFE: We continually enjoyed watching the birds and little critters throughout the park while busy going about their day or playing at our campsite. This is actually the ONLY campsite on our 2012 Yellowstone Journey where we saw large wildlife right from our motor coach. Although we were next to the National Elk Refuge, we had no ELK spottings due to the time of year. According to staff there is minimal BEAR activity (they do have community bear boxes available).

After enjoying the beautiful sunrises, Bob often pointed out MOOSE in the distance, heading toward the river.

One morning while reading in bed, I glanced around at a movement I caught out the corner of my eye – a LARGE moose standing right outside my bedroom window! People were walking up close taking pics, after several minutes (maybe a half an hour! – cause some people ran back to their motor coaches and camps to get cameras while others waited). I was told he is a frequent visitor to Gros Ventre. There were several sightings of moose throughout Gros Ventre Campground, we heard about them from other campers, or saw them ourselves almost daily.

They also have a resident BADGER-- seen almost daily at the other end from where we camped. We saw one once at our campsite as well.

One day we spotted a large BISON in the distance by the road, slowly ambling his way toward Gros Ventre. He was HUGE to be seen so well from the distance, and naturally grew as he came closer! We watched for a long time as he ambled across the meadow and then he began to cut over more toward end nearest the elk refuge.

AMPHITHEATRE & ACTIVITIES. There is an amphitheater, daily Ranger Programs, and church services at least weekly. The amphitheater parking lot, just off the main campground road, is the best place to hook or unhook a towed.

TRANSPORTATION & SHUTTLE. . There is ample and easy parking lot access as you go back into Jackson Hole (close to where you can also pay to get a shower). We prefer to use public transportation whenever we can. There is no bus service. Taxis provide service to the campground. There is SHUTTLE SERVICE during the normal campground season that while it does NOT come to Gros Ventre, it is still a good venue for Park n Ride i.e. North Route – Jackson Hole Visitor Center, Elk Refuge Inn, National Museum of Wildlife Art.

If we are blessed to come this way again -- Gros Ventre Campground will be where we will stay again. It is of course added to our Recreational Concierge list of recommendations.

I hope this has provided you with the information you need in order to decide to make Gros Ventre a stop along your way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank debw241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
16.6 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
20.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
917 reviews
13.8 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,826 reviews
22.6 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
413 reviews
21.9 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Ventre Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Ventre Campground

Property: Gros Ventre Campground
Address: Gros Ventre Road, Moran, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Moran
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Gros Ventre Campground Hotel Moran
Gros Ventre Campground Wyoming/Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing