We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terribly disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatchet Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointed”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We are currently staying at the hatchet and have been disappointed from the moment we arrived. The manager is gruff and rude. Our check in time was three pm. When we walked in our room the beds were not made, there were dirty dishes and beer bottles everywhere. There were dirty towels everywhere. By five pm they finally sent someone to clean the room. They didn't change the sheets, the floor was filthy and there were still dirty towels. The next day when we went to use our credit card it was declined because the hatchet had charged $7000 instead of $700. After all this we decided we would stay somewhere else... They would not refund the money. We asked for the owners information and they wouldn't give it to us. Needless to say our experience has been horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avgregg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    75
    34
    35
    52
See reviews for
89
113
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hatchet has a beautiful view of the Tetons & has everything that could make it a great place. The hired staff was pleasant, but the owner/ manager was not very hospitable.
The room was tiny with very poor lighting. Amenities were lacking, no hair dryer, poor TV, no clock, no coffee & no a/c. We asked about WiFi & were told the charge was $3.00. After spending $160+ on the tiny room, we felt like we were being fleeced, so we passed.
This place has great potential, with better hospitality, and some basic amenities it would be worth staying, but we were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moran hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Beautiful original construction... large logs, nicely jointed, smoothly caulked. That's the end of the good stuff.

Shower was tiled.... on top of the tongue & groove wood. Tile was installed by a rank amateur, with pieces not level (edges poking out), nowhere near parallel or square. Shower bottom is smooth (well except for the sharp edges), and too slippery for safety.

Mattress was hard with nothing between the springs and us! Beer bottle opener screwed to the door jamb... low class.

Nice location, with some care this could have been a gem, but there was an obvious lack of attention to detail, and amateurish workmanship. Paid WAY too much, and have been thinking about it for days.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hatchet was a wonderful place to visit for our family. We had a great view of the Tetons and our room was clean and had a great cabin feel. We enjoyed the breakfast which was delicious and very filing. We recommend the pancakes!! The kids had a great outdoor space to run around and play.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We needed a "Dog" friendly place, plus we wanted to be close the Parks. What a find!! Cozy with a mountain feel. The perfect place to sit outside your door and have a glass a wine and chill. Nothing fancy - but hey, you are in Wyoming. I wanted a cabin and got it. Rooms are clean and the place is peaceful. Short drive to the entrance of Grand Teton National Park, then you can drive into Yellowstone Park. Much better then staying in Jackson where it is so busy and a lot of people. The food was very tasty. You need to order to the Pork Chop glazed with wild Huckleberry and great ribs too! Now for the staff: I must say to Sydney .... Thanks so much for your sweet smile everyday! Then there is Gretta, Ron, Josh and the rest of the crew (sorry I don't remember all the names). They would do anything for you. They treat you like family. Thank you to all at The Hatchet Resort for a great time. A home away from home! It would be nice to have a little refrigerator and coffee pot in the rooms but otherwise what a perfect place for a getaway. Have a great summer to everyone at the Hatchet Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are looking for a cozy resort experience, in Teton National Park, consider the Hatchet Resort. A standard room is affordable and decorated like a log cabin with stone tile shower. The Resort includes the usual gift shop and 2 dining rooms for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However the dining areas are decorated with such attention to mountain detail, from the furniture, to the wall hangings, to the fixtures in the bathrooms. I you are expecting the usual "park cuisine" you wil be pleasantly surprised. Josh, the cook, does a great job with the red trout and the Hatchet burger. Everything is seasoned well and includes fresh vegatables that are not overcooked. Many of the the staff are transplants from Mississippi. Ron, Gretta, Josh and Sydney were so warm and welcoming. Josh and Sydney offerred to take us on a hike behind the resort. We stomped around in the mud, in the rain. but had the best time with these happy young people. It's great to be around folks who love their jobs and are so apprciative of the park's magnificent attractions. Thanks, Hatchet, for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winelover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall, the room we got is clean and neat. There are mouse traps behind the night stand and toilet... but didn't see any mouse or creepy crawlers. They have an old TV with no remote control but that's ok. We didn't go there to watch TV. However, the room does NOT have any coffee maker, kettle, microwave or refrigerator.

The Grand Teton National Park is about 10-15miles away from the Moran junction.

The one thing that I loved about this place is the Whetstone restaurant beside the hotel. The Whetstone restaurant served the best trout I've ever had and is very reasonably priced!

The price was ok for ~$110 per night net of the taxes and other fees, but I would have chosen to stay closer to Jackson Hole to get to the Grand Tetons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
11.5 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
15.1 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,028 reviews
11.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
3.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Property: Hatchet Resort
Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran
Hatchet Resort Wyoming/Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing