We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turpin Meadow Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

What a great place. The staff was friendly and helpful and always willing to help you with anything you needed. My family stayed at the ranch in late July along with several other groups of good folks. Every day was a great experience filled with great memories that will last me the rest of my life. We had a blast, and the food was awesome too! If you go to this ranch and expect ritzy 5 star facilities you will be disappointed. The ranch looks and feels like a REAL ranch, not a damn Hilton high-rise. The buildings are older, the mosquitoes are plentiful, and wildlife is all around you. If you do not want this experience, then stay in town or better yet, do not even go to the state of Wyoming because that’s pretty much all there is there.
If staying in a cozy cabin, being very close with nature, riding horses, and meeting some great wonderful people is what you are in to, then this is the guest ranch for you. Some other folks who have written poor reviews on here sound like a bunch of damn sissy, wait on me hand and foot, whiners. This is a great place; I would go back in an instant. I recommend this ranch with no reservations!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teach36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was one of the best vacations our family has ever experienced! The accommodations are rustic, but that is what you would expect at a dude ranch in Wyoming. We stayed in the Grizzly cabin because there were six of us and it was nice (decorated with western decor) and clean and had everything we needed although we were mainly there just to sleep and shower. The staff is excellent and is constantly looking to serve you and help you in any way possible; not only were they servants, but we felt like we made some pretty good friends in the process! Their food is great also and their chef can cook the most basic of food and make it extra delicious! We fully participated in all the activities (rodeo, chuckwagon western show, horseback riding, fly fishing, Yellowstone, white water rafting, biking, volleyball etc.) they had to offer and that made our trip super fun, allowed us to meet some good friends and really saved us money in the end. Everything we did is something we would have done on our own if we had booked outside of TMR and so ultimately it saved us money to have everything all inclusive. Everyone in our family didn't want to leave at the end of our vacation and we look forward to hopefully visiting again in the future!!

Room Tip: Just ask; the staff will guide you as much or as little as you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We recently had the pleasure of lodging my family and friends at TMR while my son getting married at the Jackson Lake Lodge nearby. Becky and the staff were most helpful, while we were making wedding preperations in Jackson our relitives and friends arrived to the cabins. We had prepared welcome baskets for each cabin and the TMR staff placed them for us for each of our guests before they arrived, it was great to have them help out like that! Also, we wanted to have a breakfast send off the morning after the wedding and TMR staff cooked and served a special breakfast for about 30 of us in a clearing by the river, everyone really enjoyed their stay and we cannot wait to return to the ranch for some relaxing quite time together.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Most expensive place we stayed in and the very worst by far. Uncomfortable beds. Small cabins sold as two rooms but more like one room. Cramped and a bit smelly. Lots of bugs. Broken shower. Good breakfast and friendly staff but way overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMRBuffalo, Guest Relations Manager at Turpin Meadow Ranch, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We do not have anyone by the name of Brunsky on our books. Maybe it was booked under a different name but we do not know if we served this family or not. We are sorry for their dissappointment. We hope we can continue to improve our services based on critiques of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at TMR for five nights, and all we needed was a place to crash after a full day in the area parks. We requested the most basic of services during our stay: clean towels and that the shampoo, conditioner and soap chiclet in our room be replenished. This did not happen, even though we signed up for these services on the ranch's service request list. After their system failed the first time, I spoke with the manager, Becky, regarding the issue, and she was very apologetic. I thought the issue was resolved, but the poor service continued to the point where I was going to the their laundry facility (very dirty, with a cat litter box next to the washers and dryers) to get supplies for us. Upon check out, we spoke with her again to voice our disappointment and concerns with the poor service, and she was again apologetic, and took "full responsibility" for things not being done. She said that they had been very busy and things had been overlooked. NOT the way to run a hotel. Rustic does not mean lacking in service or amenities. The building we were in had exposed plumbing pipes running along the ceiling from the (approx) 20 gal hot water tank to the diagonal corner for the bathroom. There was not sufficient hot water to wash and condition my shoulder-length hair and shave my legs before it ran out, and such low water pressure that the hand-held shower head wouldn't work on the shower massage setting. One of us always had to wait for the hot water to replenish in order to shower. I solved the problem by getting up earlier each morning to shower WHILE ON VACATION. The bathtub in our cabin was installed backwards - the drain and faucet opening were on the far side of the shower head, and no bathtub plug was provided to enable a bath. WY must have different building codes than my state - I took photos of what I was sure would be violations here. One plugged-in light fixture didn't have a light bulb and presented a safety hazard if a small child had been in the room. A bare bulb with a pull string was the light fixture in the bathroom, and the bathroom ceiling had been pieced together from various pieces of wood. TMR's website makes the rooms look very nice, but the one we stayed in was very small and the walls are so thin. or possibly poorly constructed, that we heard the mosquitos buzzing outside at night, and the comings and goings of other guests at late night/early morning hours. The prices for activities seemed rather steep, and the published rates for meals that we received upon check in were$15/adult for lunch, $22/adult for dinner. We only ate one hot meal at the ranch, and the food tasted faintly of propane. It's a shame that the ranch doesn't have the quality of service that matches their amazing setting.

Room Tip: The cabins with lower digit numbers are closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We did not stay at the ranch, although it looks lovely. We called from Jackson and arranged a horseback ride with one of their guides. The guide was great, the horse I rode was a mustang and excellent to ride, and my family was alone with the guide which made for a wonderful trip through the hills.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odd_Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Myself and my daughters (11 and 16) just returned from Turpin Ranch. I can't say enough about how beautiful and relaxing the ranch is. The entire staff will do whatever it takes to make your trip enjoyable. Extreme hospitality. Great food. Horse rides in the mountains. Flexibility to make your trip as exciting or relaxing as you want. Don't miss out on this ranch! We all had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzindy8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
15.4 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
7.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
4.3 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
15.4 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,890 reviews
18.6 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turpin Meadow Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpin Meadow Ranch

Property: Turpin Meadow Ranch
Address: 24505 Buffalo Valley Road, Moran, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turpin Meadow Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Buffalo Fork River, Turpin Meadow ranch offers endless views of the Teton Range. We are grateful for this special and cherished place. With a backyard of 2.5 million acres of wilderness, the ranch is located between Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, making it one of the most idyllic and sought after spots on the globe. Completely restored in 2013, our 80-year old cabins now have luxurious bathrooms, gas-lit fireplaces and locally made furniture. Other amenities include down duvets, fine linens, hand-crafted bath products and serene and private porches with views. The Main Lodge is also completely restored with soaring fireplace, beautiful new bar and patio, framing stunning sunrise and sunset views of the iconic Grand Teton and Mount Moran. The casual yet refined Lodge retains classic architecture and offers the most modern amenities of a brand new gourmet full service kitchen perfect for accommodating guests, destination diners and groups. Trail rides into the Bridger-Teton National Forest, overnight pack trips into the Teton Wilderness, fly fishing, campfires, eating, drinking, Nordic skiing, snowmobiling, snow biking, cook-outs, hiking, mountain biking, reconnecting with family, reading, writing and relaxing. The perfect vacation at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turpin Meadow Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turpin Meadow Ranch Hotel Moran
Turpin Meadow Ranch Wyoming/Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing