We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much for your money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Teton Park RV Resort
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I am not going to say this was the worst campground I have ever stayed at ever, but for 100+ per night it is disappointing. We were on a 2 week trip through several western states and it was the worst and most expensive on this trip. Most government campgrounds are nicer, but no power. Bathrooms here were clean, just old. Certainly nothing special. Did not use laundry or even see the pool or hot tub. We were out seeing the sights not spending time at the campground. Honestly this should be a $30 a night place. No idea why it is so expensive. The view is only great if you are on the front row. If not you can't see much for the units in front of you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOTOMENC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Can I give -5 stars for Unconscionable, or -4 for Abysmal, or -3 Epic Fail, or -2 for Horrible, or ...

Not sure why I'm bothering. I never would have gone here if I had read the reviews already here. They also have a policy, "Once you see the place, you can't get a refund." We booked two nights but it was so horrible, we left after one night and dry camped in Salt Lake City.

Specifically: Mosquito Swarms - Not surprising since they have huge breeding ground stinky swamp in the middle of the park. No water in the pool though. Sites are tiny.

I'm told they are working on it. Well, they are financing their upgrades with the highest prices for the WORST RV park ever!!

To be fair, the toilets flushed and the showers were free, and the laundry worked (1.75 wash, 1.25 dry) and you could see the Grand Tetons between the trees planted in exactly the wrong place, and the staff was really nice and sympathitic as they explained that they could not refund our second night, even though we had decided to leave the first morning.

My friend felt so bad for being duped into reserving this place, but all the other places were so fantastic, we forgave him.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eBrianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Where to begin? After speaking with a staff member on the phone who described the panoramic views, restaurant, store, and amenities, I reluctantly put the highest single night RV charge ($113.85) I have ever paid on my credit card, but remained optimistic. For that price this promised to be a great experience, right? Wrong.
When we arrived, the Bates Motel from Psycho on the hill would have been appropriate.
The campground is a former bison pasture with uneven patches of gravel thrown about. If it rains, you will likely sink your rig in the mud. Squadrons of bomber-size mosquitos are on duty as the secondary welcoming committee. The grass is uncut hay with stickers. The sites are crowded, not level, and completely third-rate.
We have stayed at numerous excellent 10-10-10 RV parks around the country for under $60. This is a 1-1-1 for $100+. Misleading advertising, outright verbal deception by staff. Complete rip off. We would have been much better off dry camping in Benghazi. If Grand Teton Park RV Resort is your absolute last option, sell your rig and stay at a hotel in town. Worst RV park we have ever stayed in. One night was 2 too many.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were here for third week in June. The most expensive campground we have ever stayed in. It is not a Resort ! Empty pool empty hot tub. Laundry worked but in need of cleaning. The restroom/shower area was not clean. Two of our three days horses from ajoining ranch roamed freely leaving their manure all over the 'Resort' campsites. They were notified and said nothing they could do.Over all maintenance is to point of unuseable. Unlevel sites and little mermount holes everywhere. Cannot recommend to anyone, its a bust.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there 3 days in June 2014 in our travel trailer. Water, sewer, and electric worked fine for us. Staff was very nice and friendly. Store was well-stocked and they put a new deck on the store/office while we were there. Restroom was adequate. As far as wifi, our own Verizon hot spot did not work. The location ( mountains of Wyoming) would explain that, we think. This RV park is centrally located between Jackson Hole, Grand Tetons, and Yellowstone. It is a good place to camp when touring all of the attractions. The new owners are trying to make improvements to a rv park that had not been maintained. The scenery is beautiful and very quiet, too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mimitosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

During our vacation we've traveled with a motorhome through the USA. This RV park was the most expensive one and also the most terrible one. Most of the facilities are closed or out of order. Restrooms are a mess and during our stay in June 2014 partly closed. The site has more weed then grass. Strongly discouraged!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PietervH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We made reservations for three nights. Based on the website it sounded great and we were willing to pay the higher rate because it was located so close to the National Park. What a mistake! We came in after hours and it was raining. We found our reservation laying in the driveway in a puddle of water. Found our spot and started hooking up. Electric indicated an error code so I checked with a volt meter - one leg indicated 89 volts and the other leg was 109 volts so we didn't connect to electric and endured the cold. Next day the neighbor told me they had given him the same spot but he moved due to electrical issues. The management was courteous but offered us nothing. Oh yes, and the WiFi didn't work either. When we told them we wouldn't be staying they informed us that they would have to charge us another day cancellation @ $97 for a spot with no electric, no WiFi, and Ground Hog holes everywhere. We moved 50 miles to Wind and the extra drive was well worth it and at a third of the price we could justify the extra fuel going back to the park. I wouldn't recommend this park to anyone you like.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moran hotels
2.1 mi away
Hatchet Resort
Hatchet Resort
#1 of 1 in Moran
302 reviews
10.1 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
6.7 mi away
Turpin Meadow Ranch
Turpin Meadow Ranch
#2 of 7 in Moran
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
0.7 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Teton Park RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Teton Park RV Resort

Address: P.O. Box 92, Highway 26/287, Moran, WY 83013-0092
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Moran
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Grand Teton Park Rv Hotel Moran
Grand Teton Park RV Resort Wyoming/Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing