We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Powell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I ended up staying here after a terrible experience at the local super 8. There's nothing fancy about this place but the employees were friendly and the rooms are clean. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

When entering the lobby to book my room for my family, I noticed that there was an overwheling odor of cigarette smoke.
The desk clerk was VERY nice and and showed me the room that I would be staying in. The room appeared to be very clean.
Although the room was clean, there were some issues with it that I found after agreeing to it. The air unit had a slight mildew smell when turned on, the shower had low water pressure, the door (which opens to the outside) was in need of a new seal and daylight showed through, and the outlets were old and stripped which made it difficult to plug anything in.
The rate, in my opinion, was extremely high! The desk clerk gave us a discounted rate of $100. The normal rate was $130. For thos price, I would expect closer to excellence.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britster_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Powell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your comments we appreciate the time you took to write your review. We take your comments seriously and use them to evaluate our Inn and make changes when necessary. We have looked at your comments and will take steps to correct the conditions that your described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Unfriendly desk clerk, holes punched in the bathroom door, torn up chairs, really questionable clientele, and lots of noise between rooms. All for $150. Don't believe the other reviews if there was any other choice we would have left. It was cleaner than I expected for the way it looks from the outside.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank puddin1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Powell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your comments we take them seriously. We apologize for the conditions that you describe and hope that you will come back and give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Cody was all full up so we ended up in Powell. The service was friendly, the price was right and the room was VERY clean. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpsadp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Powell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments our staff works hard to provide you with the best accommodations for the most reasonable rates. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I don't go for the fancy chains. When I'm traveling, I'm out and about and not spending time in the hotel. All hotels look the same when you're sleeping. So, when I look for a place to stay, I'm looking for something clean and quiet. A good continental breakfast is a plus.

This place fit the bill perfectly. The rooms were a bit dated, but they were clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast was good. The staff was friendly. The cookies in the lobby were awesome!

Only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is because the pool was closed. The winter cover was still on and it was the end of June, so it didn't look like it was opening any time soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carldjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Note: This story has a pleasant surprise - happy ending. We stayed here on trip to visit Yellowstone in week after labor day because accommodations in our price range weren't available in Cody. We arrived after dark and to be honest, the place didn't look the best. Old signage was on side of building, and the hotel looked old and worn. But the desk person was pleasant and intelligent and the lobby/breakfast area was clean and well kept. The rooms didn't have the most upscale decor, and you could tell it was an older property from the room layout. BUT -- The room was clean and the beds were brand new and very comfortable, in fact among the most comfortable of a 14-day trip that included stays at Hampton Inns and the like, generally our motels of choice. Nice, fresh, fluffy towels (better than other places), a microwave and fridge, nearby laundry facilities which are great if you travel light. The room was quiet, thanks to the older construction, and the wifi connection was excellent. Breakfast was OK - cereal, coffee, breads, biscuits and gravy. The clientele included business folks working temporarily in area and teams of high school students in town for a swim meet. All in all, a good, no-frills place to spend the night. Powell itself is an interesting town and you can get some good eats in much less touristy venues than you'd find in Cody.

Room Tip: You can get a little noise if your room is by stairs up to second floor. AC filtered out a lot of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nosybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This inn provided a very clean environment with great views. The staff were very nice and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on my way in or out of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KShad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
22 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Powell
Super 8 Powell
#2 of 2 in Powell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Powell

Address: 777 E 2nd St, Powell, WY 82435-2004
Region: United States > Wyoming > Powell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Powell 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Powell Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing