We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book through Motel directly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranchester Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ranchester
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This motel was fine. We made reservations through Travelocity while on the road (by phone) and were given the prices you get when you go on-line. ($109 for 2 beds). I thought that seemed high for its location so I called the motel directly and got the same room for about $75. I saved over $50 for two rooms booking through the motel. I called Travelocity to cancel the reservation and to complain about their price-gouging. They said they didn't know the prices had dropped. I justv checked the price on-line and they still have the higher price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishwarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

We drove over the Bighorn mountains late at night thinking we would find a place to camp. Unfortunately, the mountains were still deep in snow and all the campgrounds were closed. We got to the bottom of the hill close to I-90 and came through Ranchester completely exhausted (on our way toward Montana). We saw the motel and jumped at the chance to sleep in a bed. The woman who checked us in was very nice to me even though it was late at night. The room was very small and everything inside looked like a throwback to the 1960s, but it smelled very clean. I didn't notice any of the bad odors mentioned by other reviewers. I felt completely comfortable here and was happy to have a quiet place to sleep. No complaints about anything at all given the circumstances.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Tiny check- in office had a really bad odor which was nothing compared to guest room. I took two steps in and knew I could not sleep there. I can't tell you what it was that smelled so badly. I have never smelled anything so rank in my life and I am a nurse. Went right back to the office and told the women I no longer wanted to stay there. She refused to give me a refund saying I had made a reservation and that she would spray the room. No amount of spray would have covered up what was present. The more she refused to give me a refund the more I knew I made the right decision not to stay. Apparently she only knew how to run charges not give refunds. I am thankful to my credit card company who I called immediately. Even though this little motel in Ranchester is near by my family I will never go there again and will make the drive to Sheridan WY if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel as it was the only one within a few minutes from Sheridan Wyoming. All the hotels in Sheridan were booked.

The outside looks ok. It is a smaller, one story, older hotel.
My mom said the office smelled of urine.

Our room seemed clean but it smelled horrible (smoke) and was very hot. It took a long time for the air conditioner to cool it down.
They only had soap in the bathroom, no shampoo.
The beds were hard.

In the morning there was coffee in the office. My mom tried to get ice. She said the hotel attendent had to get an ice chipper and the ice looked a bit dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNW901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bloomington, Illinois
1
Reviewed 19 August 2005

We stopped here for a good night's rest while on our way to Yellowstone. If all you want is to get a few hours of sleep, this is probably as economical as you will get out there.

However, this is strictly bare-bones accomodation. Our room was extreemly cramped. The fixtures and layout of the room made me wonder if this was originally conceived to be a motel (which it must have been judging by the outside). There were two spotlights in the back corner of the room that served as the room light, the TV was on a wall mount so close to the bed that it seemed to float over it, and everything seemed older and cheap.

From the outside, this place does look nice... just don't expect that level of asthetics to continue on the inside.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Il_Lord26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daventureandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranchester
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
423 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mill Inn
Mill Inn
#5 of 19 in Sheridan
375 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sheridan
13.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Motel
Holiday Lodge Motel
#7 of 19 in Sheridan
74 reviews
19.9 mi away
Elk View Inn
Elk View Inn
#1 of 4 in Dayton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchester Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchester Western Motel

Address: 350 US Hwy 14, Ranchester, WY 82839
Region: United States > Wyoming > Ranchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ranchester
Price Range: £42 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ranchester Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ranchester Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing