We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rawlins Western Lodge
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, CO
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Decent overnight stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Older motel being renovated. Room furnishings were nice. Bathroom was a little rough, but serviceable. Walls are thin, so hope for quiet neighbors. I had a quiet night and got a good nights sleep. Fast food, mini-marts, and grocery store all within easy walking distance. Rate was reasonable for Rawlins. Friendly, helpful staff. No phones in rooms. I mention this because my AT&T GoPhone had no service in Rawlins. The hotel provides good WiFi service, so I was able to use Skype for phone service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
41
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

If you are passing through Rawlins, WY, and need a great place to lay your head the Key Motel is the place to stay.

Undergoing renovation in stages, its owner Mike, who bought it 2 years ago, is creating a charming place that is a throwback to times when motels offered personal care for their guests.

The room was very clean with 400-count Egyptian linens and plush towels. New HD flat panel TV's provide excellent viewing of your favorite shows.

New air conditioning and windows installed throughout and the real wood furniture offers a rustic feel that is perfect for its location in tiny Rawlins.

The recent boom in processing at the Sinclair facility has sent local hotel rates skyrocketing which makes the rates at the Key Motel so appealing. The quality is exceptional for its price!

New pillowtop mattresses meant I slept like a baby, which is unusual for me when traveling. These have pillowtop on both sides so even when it is flipped the mattress is comfy.

Mike has his priorities right by renovating the interior first, so don't let its exterior turn you away. The aging sign will be repaired in next stages as well as exterior painting/siding etc. What do you care about more, how well you sleep or what the sign looks like?

Stay at this charmer and you won't be sorry.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Mike, the owner, is awesome.Thanks for holding the room for us. Clean room, comfortable bed, decent rates. The motel is showing it's age, and is very basic in it's amenities. Mike goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PixlPshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Very clean with large vanity in bathroom. Towels large and thick. Room large lots of space even with kingsize bed. Great place for a great price. Owner friendly and knowledgeable about area and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank smalsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Good value for the money. Just the basics and very clean. Could use some updating but overall adequate. The front desk people are very helpful and informative. Many places in Rawlins are charging a premium because of the boom in gas/petroleum/coal industry making this place even more attractive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This motel was locatated right off of I-80 in Rawlins WY. I stayed there for one night, and really enjoyed my stay. It is conveniently located right next to a Chinese restaurant so if your hungry after a long drive, you're in luck! The owner of the hotel was very hospitable and friendly. The place has Wi-Fi, HD TV and satellite cable with tons to watch if your winding down for the evening. The room was comfortable with AC and a big comfy bed. I learned that the motel had been recently renovated and was built in the 70's according to the owner, Mike. If you want a place with character and want to steer away from the big hotels and crowds, it'll be right up your alley!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawlins, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

As travellers who have seen quite a lot of places in the US we have come to all kinds of places to sleep. The Key Motel in Rawlins, WY is certainly one of the best experiences we have had in years. The prices are in the budget category, for sure, so do not expect luxury additions like a "hot breakfast", which in most cases is rejectable anyway. But the rooms are large and in immaculate condition, perfectly clean, with very good beds, and with a complete set of furniture.The linen and towels are first class. We have seen much worse for easily double the price! The motel is very conveniently located, near Rawlins' East Cedar Street, near US 287.

So if you wish or have to stay in Rawlins or its vicinity, do yourself and your wallet a favor and book a night or more at the Key Motel. We will surely return when our route will bring us here again.

Arthur Teerlink and Ineke Slootweg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rawlins hotels
0.7 mi away
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
#4 of 18 in Rawlins
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
#12 of 18 in Rawlins
86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Cottontree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 18 in Rawlins
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rawlins
Hampton Inn Rawlins
#1 of 18 in Rawlins
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rawlins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawlins Western Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawlins Western Lodge

Property: Rawlins Western Lodge
Address: 1806 E Cedar St, Rawlins, WY 82301-6016 (Formerly Key Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Rawlins
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rawlins Western Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-80 at exit 215. The Rawlins Western Lodge was completely renovated in 2013 and boasts an extensive western art collection. We offer clean quality rooms at an affordable rates, the Rawlins Western Lodge is the best lodging option available in Rawlins for the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rawlins Western Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing