We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The first room assigned to us had not been cleaned or made up and this was 5:30pm. We were "upgraded" to a king size bed, at least the room was made up.However, I first checked the bed for clean sheets, ok. The bathroom had hair still in the tub/shower and black hairs on the back of the toilet. There was a recliner in the room that really showed age and wear, and needed a cleaning badly. This is an older hotel and needs some repairs and upgrading but not being clean is really no excuse. During the night you could hear the plumbing from the entire building wing and it seemed like system purges all night, very noisy. The desk person recommended the Mexican restaurant on the premises and that was really the only good thing about this stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

It was hard to find..a dumpy front office and even worse accomodations. peeling paint and suspicious looking mold in the bathroom..the tub was patched with an epoxy. The sink was less than spotless..carpet spotted..I was pleasantly surprised it didn't smell.
I'll go to another hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hard to find office unless looking - GPS had trouble finding hotel. Resturant attached to office and is seen first. Room was adequate. Said handicap accessible but bathroom was small and toilet was not ADA. Did have some grab bars. Front desk person was friendly. Breakfast bar in AM was adequate for needs - eggs tasted like they came from powder but ketchup masks a lot. Waffle machine worked well. Bed good. Quiet. Pet friendly fee but NO GRASS. Obviously a passing through stop. Just off interstate. Shower pressure was awful

Room Tip: Sits off the main road and a couple of blocks off interstate. Would ask for a ground floor to cut d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It was a nice room but the carpet was pretty dirty from alot worker type people. The rooms were full and I was wondering if the mirrors or something was going to be broke on our truck in the a m but it was not it has a good area to walk the dogs. Their was a bit of a mix up with our room so we were clear across the lot from our family.But it was down stairs and we were able to park close to our room. It was getting late when we arrived so i was glad we were able to find rooms and that they are pet friendly. It did upset me to have to pay $10 per dog because the room needed a good cleaning. However having cleaned rooms I appreciate the extra work it take to clean a room especially will people leave their dogs in a room alone or to get on the beds. My dogs have their own beds and they use them. They had contential breakfast along with pots and plenty of coffee in the rooms.And a good area for walking the dogs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I told my wife to read the reviews. But she had to have something close to McDonalds.
I could not believe the place.
After dodging the pit in the pavement to get to our room we finally got to our room.
We had to get drunk to sleep.
The bathroom door had to be forced to close. Hair on the floor.
The only good thing (other than the personnel ). Was that the shower had water pressure.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank Cissydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on way from Grand Tetons to Estes Park. First thing was our toilet stopped up. The maintenance person had left for the day and the front desk did not have a plunger. They moved us to another room. Then we could not get good reception on the TV. Front desk said the cable system was lousy. We decided to get ice and wash some clothes. The nearest ice machine was not working. There was no soap in the dispenser in the laundry room. We had to dash across the street to buy laundry detergent at a convenience store. The laundry room was unbearably hot. There was a restaurant attached to the back of the reception area. This was Sunday,so the restaurant had closed at 4pm. Luckily there was a fast food Mexican place next door. The only good thing was the hotel was near I-80 so we could make a quick getaway the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Easy access to this motel, near gas stations and fast food restaurants at junction of I-80 and Wy 191. This is an older property, the rooms need updating, the pillows were uncomfortable, the bath/shower needed to be replaced. Good Internet access, AC worked great, and the room was quiet despite the motel being full. We appreciated the night manager taking the time to fix our TV. Breakfast was served next to the motel check-in counter so the seating area was small, but the food was fine: cereal, toast, waffles, eggs, bacon, juice, etc. Our room had a frig and microwave, but the room next door did not, so you might want to request this in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Springs
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 16 in Rock Springs
232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel 8
Motel 8
#12 of 16 in Rock Springs
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 16 in Rock Springs
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Green River
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1635 Elk St, Rock Springs, WY 82901-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rock Springs
Price Range: £36 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rock Springs
Rock Springs Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing