We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectedly good”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unexpectedly good”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Clean rooms, outside being updated, very very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here during the National High School Rodeo Finals. The city was basically sold out of hotel rooms, and some hotel chains were jacking their prices up 100%. This hotel didn't, and offered great value for the price. Nice breakfasts that change daily, clean large indoor pool, good parking, close to the mall and restaurants, and easy highway access. I would definitely stay there again. It was such a welcome surprise compared to staying at the horrible Shilo Inn in Casper, Wyoming during the College National Finals Rodeo. I often stay at Hilton properties, and was very pleased with this hotel. The Shilo Inn in Casper made you want a body suit it was so grimy, this hotel made you want to come back again.

Room Tip: stay on north side, the south side faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSF2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    88
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
81
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My kids and I are in a road trip and have stayed at many wonderful hotels. This is not one of them. The place is run down, the halls dirty, and the wifi doesn't work. We booked our room through Priceline. Made our own bid, arrived, and we're told we'd have to pay another $25 if we wanted two queen beds, for a total of $105 (plus taxes). Meanwhile, their room rate is listed online for $84.95 for two queens. My fault for going through Priceline--won't make that mistake again--but the dirtiness and lack of wifi is enough to make this hotel a pass. Their pancake machine is fun, though, and our room appeared to have new carpeting.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank XZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were looking for a good value for a one-night stay in Rock Springs, & we can definitely say we were pleased with this hotel. They were undergoing major renovations to the face/front of the hotel (late June 2014)--but this did not affect our stay. They stopped major work around 5:00, so our night went completely undisrupted. The rooms were clean & the beds were comfy. Unlike most of our stays we decided to enjoy our early arrival with a visit to the pool. It was empty, so we were able to have a quiet dip with our daughter. Breakfast was actually very good in comparison to some of the more common chains--biscuits, gravy, egg patties (these were not very tasty, sausage, & pancakes. All the regular items like coffee, juice, cereals, etc. were offered as well. We really enjoyed our stay & would stay again on our way to Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward Ne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great room - wonderful beds - good breakfast - new to us was the "automatic" pancake machine that produced good pancakes. Sufficient food up the end of the breakfast hours. We did not have a prior reservation. Exterior of hotel was being refinished with a type of stucco, and we were told that it couldn't be done earlier as the weather was too cold. Several folks were enjoying the pool.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisnokmail41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This was a month before arrival booking and was very disappointed with the pet charge of $25 non refundable deposit for a small dog as this was never disclosed to me at the time I booked. I was advised they were pet friendly and they are, they just charge a lot for a pet. Choice hotels only charge $10. So something to keep in mind if you travel with your pets. The pool was nice and clean as well as the room. There was only 2 towels and we had three people in the room. Construction everywhere and the lobby and hall floors were filthy. The clerk was off standish and put out by our arrival after a 15 hour drive I would hope to be greeted with a smile and not a sourpuss as we could have stayed elsewhere you would think they would be more hospitable and glad for our business. The breakfast was terrible..they were out of coffee at 715 am and there was no milk

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civilsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

No pack n plays. Our room had no base boards - weird. The tub was caving in. Only one outlet in the bathroom. 3 bath towels ( horribly stained ) in a 4 person room. Floor sloped. Pillows were completely flat. Dirty carpet. It was a really bad room for $125. They had a power strip as the only choice for power in the room. Overall, not a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricandHannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived and found about 50 workers putting new stucco and paint on the outside of the building. It looked like the whole building was under construction and hidden from view by scaffolding. Staff was great and got me top floor (3) room on the backside away from the noise. Workers did not bother me during my brief stay. Did not use the pool but it looked about average. Room was average size and bed was quite comfy. Bathroom was clean but sparse. Breakfast was very simple with only pancakes (which was broken) mini-muffins, two kinds of cereal and coffee. No yogurt, fruit or bagels. Very simple for a quick bite. There is a Mexican rest. on site that they provide coupons to you when you check in. I walked in and the food did not smell great so I did not eat there. Parking is fine but the lot fills up early and you have to park about 200 yards from the door if you arrive after 6pm or so.

Room Tip: See above notes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
0.3 mi away
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
#7 of 16 in Rock Springs
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rock Springs
2.7 mi away
Best Western Outlaw Inn
Best Western Outlaw Inn
#2 of 16 in Rock Springs
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 2518 Foothill Blvd, Rock Springs, WY 82901 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing