We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Wild Horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Springs KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock Springs KOA
RI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Wild Horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A short drive off I-80. Many trains nearby but very few horns. Was able to do some hiking in the area behind the campground. The sites are all gravel. In some sites the RVs are so close only one RV can open its awning. There is very little grass and very few trees which should not be a big surprise since we are in the desert. It doesn't rain very often, but when it does be prepared for some mud. The office staff was very pleasant and the office is well stocked with whatever you might want or need. No rain means a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the worst RV park ever and defiantly the worst KOA. although I planning to quit using KOA's completely. At best this is an ok overnite stop. They want $44. a nite including tax. for a dirt/gravel parking lot. where the sites are WAY too small. and you have to park back to back and face to face. The slide almost touch the slides of the rig your back to back with and you can't open your awning if the rig your facing has there awning open even have way. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE....EVER

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is an overnight campsite and the usual KOA. As with most KOAs we have reviewed recently we feel they are overpriced, this one was $35.76 for just water and electric. Restrooms old but very clean. Wifi Tengonet and flaky. Tarmac roads and gravel sites which are level but it rained overnight and the gravel turned to thick mud that stuck to our shoes. The free homemade cookies were delicious and a nice touch. It's a functional interstate campsite, road noise was minimal and campsite in industrial area. We do recommend with caution about price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here one night on our way to Glacier Park. Everything was gravel and they had plenty of pull-throughs and some back-ins. Wifi was OK. Trees were small. We felt like we were camping on the desert. The pool was good and the staff was friendly. Seemed like average spacing and our site included a picnic table. All the services worked fine. Like mentioned before, this was just a one night stop so we never really got a feel for the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped over night. restrooms, pool, laundry, WiFi and cable great. Spaces are close, dusty and the entire place is gravel. Plan on a head to toe scrub when u leave. The spaces are level and there is a separation from full time people. Did I mention the gravel and dust. Staff are supper!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stopped at this KOA for one night on our vacation. That is usually how we use the KOA's because they are usually by the exit and usually you know what you are getting. This one was just like we expected. Staff was nice and it suited us for our one night stay. I do wish that KOA had some other type of rewards program they honored like Good Sam, AAA, etc. They only take their own rewards program and you have to pay an annual fee for it. This was a clean, easy in and out KOA. We would stay here again when we go through this area.

Room Tip: I put average on the fitness center because they actually had one. It had a stationary bicycle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were headed to the City of Rocks in Idaho on a 12 hour drive to get to our destination. Decided to try a cheaper option than a hotel since we would be camping at our destination.

The KOA was great! We reserved online and check in was quick and easy.

We had a fenced tent area with a little tree and even some grass for our tent. It was a pleasant surprise to what we expected. It was only one night and we left early the next morning but it was a great option for us. A little pricy we think but still would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn
BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn
#2 of 16 in Rock Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
#3 of 16 in Rock Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
2.4 mi away
Motel 8
Motel 8
#12 of 16 in Rock Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Springs KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Springs KOA

Property: Rock Springs KOA
Address: 86 Foothill Blvd, Rock Springs, WY 82901-5551
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 171

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing