We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, fair price”
Review of J W Hugus

J W Hugus
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Have outdoor patio seating right on the North Pllatte River, on the main street in downtown Saratoga.
Restaurant details
Description: Have outdoor patio seating right on the North Pllatte River, on the main street in downtown Saratoga.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good meal, fair price”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a good meal at a fair price. There's not many options in Saratoga, but if you're eating away from the Resort and Spa, we'd recommend this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, not sure if anyone was working?”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had breakfast, it was very good!
That being said, I'm not sure why but the 4 employees that were working wouldn't help us, refill drinks, bring our check, check on us, etc. It was So weird. We serviced ourselves, they were not busy- just seemed like a very sad environment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BecMurawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food with nice people!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This stop was an unplanned, last minute, late evening meal. Actually, I wanted food & my buddy wanted pie - we both came away very pleased! He had apple pie a la mode and said it was one of the best he had ever had - real vanilla ice cream with a bit of cinnamon sprinkled on it and delicious pie. I had a couple of hard shell tacos that were crammed full of beef, lettuce, tomato and some black olives, with small sides of very good sour cream & salsa. They were excellent!
The service was great and prompt. This place is at the north end of town, just before the river bridge and well worth stopping for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peachtree287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Foods OK and The Service is OK”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The foods good and the service is OK. Between 2 and 5 PM it's one of the few options in Saratoga. If you go in thinking that it may take a while to be greeted and sat and after that it may take a while for a server to show up, you'll be in the correct frame of mind. The patio is very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrnebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Saratoga!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in Saratoga for the 4th of July holiday and had a wonderful time! The only thing lacking was the food. We went to a couple of other restaurants and were under-whelmed (Lollipop's and Duke's). We had breakfast as JW Hugus and the food, service, and ambiance were outstanding. The restaurant was filled with locals, unlike the downtown restaurants. We sat outside on the porch and watched the river go by. Everyone loved it, including our 5 and 7 year old boys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyM7551950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J W Hugus also viewed

 

Been to J W Hugus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing