We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it!”
Review of Hobo Hot Pool

Hobo Hot Pool
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were here over the 4th of July weekend. The Hobo Hot Pool was very pleasant, but be forewarned. It is slimy. This is natural hot spring water that flows into two man-made pools. No chlorine makes for a slimy sit! More fun was the hot water that flows into the river right next to the pool. You can sit in the river (not slimy!) and enjoy the hot water. If you walk across the river to the center island (easy - even my 5 year old did it), there is a natural hot spring on the island. Be prepared. It is muddy. Bring your flip flops or river shoes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathyM7551950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    17
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The price is right!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to the Hobo Hot Springs since I was in summer camp back in the 1960s. It's still free and open all the time.

A few years back, the town of Saratoga made big improvements by adding a pump - filtering system and built a smaller pool that's a constant temperature.

The big pool used to get shut down during spring runoff because the water temperature would get too hot. I don't know the geology / hydrology behind that, though.

There are also newly constructed shower rooms. there are mo lifeguards of staff, so be careful. I don't worry about this, but some people haul their clothes with them to the deck.

Saratoga is out of the way - off I25 by 35 miles - but if you have time, check out the Hobo!

Helpful?
2 Thank AlanDOHashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Highlight of Wyoming Trip”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Soaking in the Hobo Hot Springs in Saratoga was the highlight of our Wyoming family trip. We had a week long trip to Medicine Bow National Forest. A day into the trip, we realized there is not much for a 3 and 5 year old to do in the area. Luckily the hot springs saved the trip. They have a "not so hot" 104 degree pool on the side that is great for kids. Please be aware travelers. They drain the springs once every three months, so try to call ahead to make sure it will not be drained when you are there. We were there in early to mid June and the Platte River flooded the springs. Luckily the "not so hot" pool as open as they were cleaning the main springs. The river is right next to the springs, as well as a regular cool water public swimming pool. People were friendly. It is not the ritz posh hot springs, which is why it is so nice. Real people, nice locals, free and family friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Free soak and shower”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This free hot springs is amazing and a "must do" on any trip in the area. The water can be very hot, but cools the further you get from the source. There is a second pool that is much cooler and more kid-friendly. While it doesn't look like much from the parking lot, the newly rebuilt buildings are clean and provide free showers. Don't worry if you don't have a lot of time to stop - the water is so hot that long soaks are difficult. Keep a watch around the pool for cool birds - on a number of occasions we have seen bald eagles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaspoon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in the area!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stopped here on our way to Yellowstone and it was one of the highlights of our trip! Free and clean, the hot springs are very impressive! When you pull up it doesn't look like much but we enjoyed our time in the hot springs! Very relaxing! Oh, and it's free!! There were area locals there that come all the time for it's relaxation and healing properties. Not very often can you go in a true hot springs! Con - it does have a strong sulfur smell but there are showers; the locker rooms was clean but not private. Bring your towels!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HuskerAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hobo Hot Pool also viewed

 

Been to Hobo Hot Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing