We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ranch Experience by an eastern North Carolina Gal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The last week in September I had the most fantastic ranch experience out west at The Hideout Lodge and Guest Ranch!! The great activities, the delicious meals, the comfortable lodging, the beautiful grounds, and the breathtaking scenery all contributed to the wonderful experience!! Most impressive was The Hideout staff!! The entire staff was so dedicated to making the experience special for each guest!! The high standard of excellence in guest services and opportunities was amazing and so much appreciated!!! The vacation felt more like a “family vacation” for me. I enjoyed meeting and spending time with everyone . . . . other guests and all the staff!!! My activities during the week included horseback riding, trap shooting, fly fishing, archery, roping, and a horsemanship class. All so professionally organized and customized for guest interest and safety. An added bonus was the DVD each guest received with a collection of all the pictures taken during the week. The spectacular pictures that the wranglers and other staff took each day captured the memories of a life changing vacation!!! The Hideout owners and staff . . . . and the entire Hideout experience . . . . .the BEST you can imagine!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just left The Hideout and can't wait to return. First, the scenery is breathtaking. Second, the horses are great. Third, the food is some of the best we've eaten anywhere. Fourth, the atmosphere created by Peter, Marijn, head wrangler Tom Bircher and everyone else connected with the ranch is over the top outstanding. There are half-day rides and whole day rides. Everywhere you turn the scenery is different and awesome. We come away wanting to know more about the geology of the area. The cattle rides are great fun and are real working roundups.
Though it's primarily for riding, there are many other activities that are provided - such as flyhfishing, trapshooting, crossbow and they'll even teach you how to use a lasso.
The price for the ranch is expensive, but covers everything except renting chaps and purchasing neat stuff in the shop. The shop has lots of great things and the prices are fair or below regular stores. I love the fact that you're not nickel and dimed.
We miss it already!

Room Tip: There's a hot tub. No Swimming pool. No fitness center, but who needs one when you're outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyzyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is one of the best vacations I have taken. If you love to ride, you will not be disappointed as there are morning, afternoon or all day rides. The evening cocktail time is when you can choose the following days activities. Deciding between riding, fly fishing, archery and trap shooting. We were able to move some cattle for one of our all day rides and the scenery is so beautiful. All the staff treat you like family and are very warm. You will have no worries with Tom or any of the other wranglers as you are matched well with your horse and are in good hands. I am definitely going back next Sept.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgal241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were a little bit sceptic when we arrived in this green, irrigated, very neat, clean and luxurious spot in the middle of nowhere. Is this a ranch? No dust, and where are the horses? We feared rules and prohibitions. But all that melted away when we started horse riding. The scenery (miles and miles of beautiful and diverse empty land), the wranglers (so friendly), the food (delicious), the organization (even unforeseen situations were quickly resolved), the punctuality (every morning at 8.30 horses where taken care of, saddled and waiting in the trailers), the surprises (the pictures of the rides every night on screen, and the tasteful choice of sandwiches to take with you on the ride), the wine, the horses, the tack, the barn, the waitresses.
People here work really hard to give each and everyone a good time, and they succeed.

Room Tip: we found two queen beds for three women a bit too small. Book a "casita" when you are with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liesbet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The week at the Hideout exceeded our expectations in every way. My wife rode every day while I fly fished and rode. The accommodations were terrific and the food out of this world! The staff were, to a person, friendly and accommodating . The service overall was off the charts. We will probably go back again next year because it was that good. Worth every penny. Neil G

Room Tip: We had the Casseta room ( two bedrooms with great view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilgsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Responsive and willing horses, gourmet cuisine, stunning scenery, fun wranglers, a most approachable head wrangler, superior office and ranch staff and very elegant and charming owners. That is just some of what you can expect at The Hideout Lodge in Shell, Wyoming. They have 90 well fed horses for just 25 guests. Their regular western tack is superior but you may upgrade to custom saddles for an additional charge. If you want to ride hard and fast, learn to ride, sort cows, flyfish or just enjoy the beauty of this breathtaking property, book this.....you will not be disappointed. This is riding trip number 7 for me, and although sometimes it's like being asked to name your favorite child because each riding trip offers new adventures, I can say without doubt, this has the best combination of everything I look for in a riding vacation. And with a flyfishing afternoon with Mike from The Humble Fly (what a thrill!), I can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Only saw ours 22 and 23. Stunning views of the mountains and close to main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our week at The Hideout was like no other vacation we have ever had! Who would have thought at ages 60 and 61, we would be learning to ride horses in one of the most breathtakingly beautiful parts of our country!! (Not to mention learning how to fly fish and trap shoot!) We were not only learning how to ride, but every day we were out riding on a different trail or in a different area, with each spot more beautiful than the last. EVERYONE at The Hideout was so friendly and accommodating, encouraging and helpful, and all ran very smoothly and professionally. Great food, great rooms, great horses, great views, great people...great vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loonkpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch

Address: 3170 Road 40 1/2, Shell, WY 82441
Region: United States > Wyoming > Shell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Shell
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Hideout Lodge And Guest Ranch
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Shell
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch Wyoming/Shell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing