We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not meet Holiday Inn Standards (or any other for that matter)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Does not meet Holiday Inn Standards (or any other for that matter)”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This stay started off on a low note when they booked us into a room without a working toilet. The lady running the front desk was kind of like Manuel in Fawlty Towers - personable, eager to please but ultimately clueless as to how to deal with the problem. After much hassle, we finally got another room. There were also a LOT of "out of order" signs to be seen in other parts of the hotel. (I guess they don't post these unless somebody says something since there wasn't one in the first room). Bottom line - the management of this place isn't just frugal, they are downright cheap since they obviously don't keep up with the maintenance. Also, as near as we could tell, there were perhaps only 5 employees working on a Sunday evening including a not so great cook in the restaurant (whoever it was, didn't know how to "plate" a dinner properly).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrynJean_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear TerrynJean_Quinn,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel, it is always helpful to hear constructive feedback so that we may better our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the toilet in your room was not working correctly, I have advised our maintenance staff and they have assured me that it is fixed and in good working order. I'm glad to hear that the front desk staff was friendly and were able to get you another room. I'm not really sure what "out of order" signs you are referring too, there are no "out of order" signs located inside the hotel.

As summer is almost over and we are getting into our slower season and seeing as Sundays are our slowest day, we usually don't have many staff on, so that they may spend time with their families. We are still able to handle all of our guests and make sure that they all have a great experience.

Warm Regards,

Elizabeth Ramsay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    112
    82
    33
    20
See reviews for
80
101
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed one night with our bus tour. Nice hotel good location near places to eat, good pub and a huge Walmart across the way. There was highway work being done during the night but did not disturb us at all infact we had a bit of excitement in the morning as one of the work vans blew up and broke into flames in the hotel car park.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Room was clean,bed very comfortable. Front desk people friendly. However, 2x called front desk and got no answer, and not at busy times. No microwave or fridge in room (I probably could have requested). Biggest problem however was the speed of the internet. Almost at dial up speed. Files that would normally take me 10 seconds to download at other hotels take 12-18 minutes here. Even email is painfully slow. It is baffling that they premier hotel of this town has such terrible internet. If you are coming through on business, as I was, and need decent internet access, you will need to stay elsewhere. I tried the business center but the keyboard on the machine was worn out and hard to use and the printer was not functioning. Not at all worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Scott J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is always helpful to hear constructive feedback on how our hotel is doing. I'm glad to hear that your room was comfortable and that the staff was friendly! We do have fridge and microwaves available if requested, let us know next time you're in town and we'll make sure you get one in your room. I have advised my maintenance manager about the WiFi issue that you experienced and we've talked to our wireless provider to make sure that our hotel is running at optimum speed.

We hope to see you again if you should find yourself in Sheridan again!

Warm Regards,

Elizabeth Ramsay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheridan hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

... worth 15% off per room. We had the buffet - tasty, nothing special. The first floor rooms have sliding glass doors that open into the interior lobby. I always find this strange. We were on the second floor, so not a problem.

We got a coupon for a free beer or glass of wine the night we arrived, for which we were grateful. It was late; we were tired. We had driven way out of our way (there aren't a lot of roads in Wyoming) as a detour around a problem on I-25 and couldn't make it to Billings where we had a reservation. So we were happy to find a room at this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Wibbus,

Thank you for staying with us, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately since we are a Holiday Inn and not a Holiday Inn Express we don't offer free breakfast. Thanks for being IHG Reward members, we value your business!

Warm Regards,
Elizabeth Ramsay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped overnight at this hotel as part of a planned Globus bus tour from Rapid City to Las Vegas over the course of 13 nights. We were on our way to visit the Little Bighorn Battlefield in nearby Montana the following morning. Booked by Globus, the hotel had punch or ice water and snacks in the open atrium area near the reception desk. The hotel itself is 4 floors with an elevator, and the rooms either face outside or the large atrium area with a stream and little waterfall running through it that gave the place a little bit of a relaxing feel.

We had a room with a window overlooking the atrium, which probably wasn't necessary. The room itself was adequate in that it had most of the amenities, including plenty of outlets to charge our phones and cameras. Dinner was on Globus in the hotel dining room that evening, and we had the pick of the menu, which was nice, giving plenty of choices, Ten of us ate at an extended table and so the service was a bit slow. I think most of the people in our party were satisfied with their meals; I had the ribeye, which I thought was just a little better than ok. We also sampled the hotel's rather large bar after dinner, and except for a mixup with a couple of checks the service there was ok, as well. The breakfast buffet, included with our night's stay, was adequate; it did not compare favorably with most of the hotel breakfasts we had during our tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators or on the first or second level, preferably facing outside wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailawaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thanks for staying with us, glad you enjoyed your stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Loved the convenience of this place. I stayed there while doing a tour of Indian Wars sites and it was great that they had a restaurant, bar food too, and the staff were friendly. Small swimming pool, weird golf thing, but the waterfall in the lobby was really relaxing (if a little loud since I couldn't hear people speaking over it).
The hotel is older and I chose it because I remembered it from a trip many years ago to that area. Plus I have priority club and wanted to get the points. But I felt very at home there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanGeorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thanks for staying with us, glad you enjoyed your stay!!! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sheridan, WY!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night after stopping first at America's Best Value Inn which was a total dump. The Holiday Inn Room was less expensive and recently remodeled and redecorated. The hotel itself is older but nice rooms and is pet friendly. There is a grassy area with picnic tables adjacent to the parking lot with an area to walk pets and a small fenced in off leash enclosure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#1 of 19 in Sheridan
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
#10 of 19 in Sheridan
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sheridan
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Sheridan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center
Address: 1809 Sugarland Drive, Sheridan, WY 82801-5724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sheridan.2 Miles from Sheridan Airport (SHR), with complimentary shuttle service. Conveniently located at exit 25, I-90, midway between Mount Rushmore and Yellowstone Park, making the hotel a perfect vacation stop. Both corporate travelers and tourists enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Our 24-hour fitness center is a popular place to unwind. The Greenery Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch daily, with the best salad bar and Sunday Brunch in Sheridan. Sugarland Mining Company opens at 5pm daily. The specialty is Certified Angus Beef, however, they serve a variety of scrumptious dishes. Unwind in Scooter s Bar & Grill, open at 11 a.m. daily. Scooter s features a casual menu in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy your favorite sports on one of 12 screens. Our event space and outstanding service make the Holiday Inn Sheridan a favorite place to meet. Our catering experts will assist you in coordinating every detail of your event, making us a favorite site for weddings, conventions, banquets, military reunions and more. Hotel is near: Phoenix Fuel, Pearl Development, RockWell Petroleum, Fidelity Exploration.Nearby attractions include: Powder Horn Golf, Bradford Brinton Memorial & Museum, Don King s Western Museum, Mint Bar and Kendrick Mansion. The Holiday Inn Sheridan, offering guests a relaxing place to stay in a great town to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheridan Hotel Sheridan
Sheridan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing