We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small slice of heaven.”

Bighorn National Forest
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over one million acres of scenic mountains, valleys and alpine tree forests: great for hiking and biking.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A small slice of heaven.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Ive never seen such beauty and sereneness. We saw a moose and its calf eating by the river. We camped in a field with deer and antelope around. I would like to have my ashes scattered here some day it was so magnificent..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2fivegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    52
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Big Horn Mountains”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just driving over the mountain is a beautiful drive but if you have time to take some of the side roads there is even more spectacular scenery. There are camp grounds at different areas to stay in and trails to hike. The flowers are beautiful and so much to photograph. Each season is beautiful and if you are lucky you can see elk, moose, and sometimes bear.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had to be careful to not crash it was so pretty. Stopped at shell falls, definitely worth it. Saw a herd of Antelope and 2 Moose!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Big Horn National forest has some nice camping spots, fabulous views, nice motels on top of the mountain at Burgess Junction....chances are, you will be able to see some wildlife, too....deer and elk and if you are lucky, moose.....Nice scenic drive from Sheridan to Shell, WY.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SheridanGreymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Bighorns are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the area 3 days to explore the Bighorns. We took all 3 of the scenic drives and thought they were all beautiful and equally scenic. Off of Hwy 16- there is a Fire tower (short hike to top) you can go to- panoramic views in every direction. Tensleep Canyon (on 16) and Shell Canyon (off 14) were amazing. We drove up 14A from Lovell- the views were beautiful as we drove up 14A and from the overlook on top. We saw wild life, beautiful wild flowers, scenery, mountain lakes and streams. Take your time with these drives, get out at the overlooks, explore and experience the Bighorns.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bighorn National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing