We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Bighorn National Forest
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over one million acres of scenic mountains, valleys and alpine tree forests: great for hiking and biking.
Buckley, Washington
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a great time riding through the bighorn national forest on a motorcycle. got caught in a hail storm but still loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhernandezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    52
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stunning Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We drove through the Bighorn National Forest via route US 14A from Devil's Tower heading towards Cody. You can either take the US 14 or the US 14A - as we wanted to go to Bighorn Canyon we took US 14A. This is a very scenic route, the views are stunning and some of the roads are very steep and winding - it takes time as the speed restrictions are set at 40. Some of the mountain sides at the top still had snow on them and this was the end of June. I would definitely recommend this route if you are in no hurry.

We stopped off at the Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark, which is 3 miles off the road up a beaten track, but it was temporarily closed due to a religious event.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
205 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We drove through the canyons and mountains of the Bighorn National Forest via Route 14A and 14 on our way from Cody and Shell Wyoming to Sheridan. The canyon carved by Shell Creek is quite impressive in its own unique way, but the real hidden gem here is the Shell Creek Waterfalls which pour down a deep chasm below some well done walkways and observations points at the little visitor's center.

The alpine fields at the top of the mountains are quite pretty to behold, and the vistas near the Fallen City rock formation of the plains beyond the forest are well worth the stop.

Keep in mind there are two other routes through this forest; I'm glad we chose this one with all the hidden scenery to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A small slice of heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Ive never seen such beauty and sereneness. We saw a moose and its calf eating by the river. We camped in a field with deer and antelope around. I would like to have my ashes scattered here some day it was so magnificent..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2fivegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Big Horn Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just driving over the mountain is a beautiful drive but if you have time to take some of the side roads there is even more spectacular scenery. There are camp grounds at different areas to stay in and trails to hike. The flowers are beautiful and so much to photograph. Each season is beautiful and if you are lucky you can see elk, moose, and sometimes bear.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bighorn National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing