We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The Old Place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room was clean --- otherwise, this facility is too old to exist any longer. Old stairs going up (bend with weight), neighboring room door obviously kicked in prior to our visit, siding warped and about ready to peel off. Everything in the facility is just plain OLD. Don't know why this was rated so high on some of the web sites. Staff were ok.

Room Tip: Go to another place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goudzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
We are an older property which gives us a rustic charm. Thanks for appreciating our clean rooms and friendly staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    33
    17
    26
See reviews for
41
48
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very small rooms - Two double beads stuffed into a room only big enough for one bed
Dirty - Carpet and floor were sticky. I skipped my morning shower because of how dirty to tub was.
Rude Staff - The man behind the desk was very unplesent and dismissive of me and my wife.
Terrible Breakfast - worst hotel breakfast ever.

Don't waste your time or money!

Room Tip: Avoid this place if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
A pleasant greeting at check-in, clean rooms and carpets, and great breakfast at no charge!
That's how most of our customers respond to their stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheridan hotels

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

While it is not right off the freeway, it is closer to downtown Sheridan, making it easier for us do some shopping. The air conditioner worked very well, if a bit loud. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The location was quiet and easy to find. The Deluxe Continental Breakfast consisted of hard boiled eggs and coffee. There was a waffle maker there, but no batter. It would have been nice to see some pastries and juice as well as waffle batter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Clean, comfortable and a great breakfast. Thanks for your stay and a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Man at front desk was very unfriendly and kinda rude when checking in. Hotel was spouse to be pet friendly but staff acted like the didn't want pets. The room needed major updating. Doubt we would ever stay there again. The only thing good about it was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp62765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We actually pride our selves on our friendliness and our courtesy which in this case surpassed our guest response. Thank you for your great appreciation of our hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We thought we would stay at this motel as we are member of the value club where we could get a 15% discount. When we made the reservations we were given a upgrade deluxe room for the same money of $93.60. We got two queen beds. When we got here we found that the room was really small. Two queens with a table and two chairs and a dresser and large TV stand. Because the room was so small everything is crammed in to it. There is no night stand between the two beds because there is no room. They had to put the clock on the air conditioner because of no night stand. Not sure what made this a deluxe room. We did get a small microwave and frig which takes up most of the dresser top. There is a low, low hanging light between the table and TV. My husband and I have both hit our heads on it a couple of times. The sink isn't too big so when a coffee pot and the fixings are on it there is no room for your stuff. The tray under the coffee pot is dirty. The toilet seat is loose so it moves back and forth when you sit on it. Only one garbage can in separate bathroom. In general, the place is pretty old. Haven't slept in the beds yet but they feel comfortable so far. One good thing. We have been at other Americas Best Value Inns and this is not up to par with the others. Oh I forgot, the ice machine and the cotinential breakfast area is in a separate building about a 1/2 block away. Need to almost drive your car over there.

We won't be back!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Maybe a regular room would be better if it had less stuff in it. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and your appreciation of our 15% discount for club members.
Your room was in transition to our new furnishing style and was crowded due to the extra dresser which had not yet been removed. Also we find that those guests who take the time and energy to walk across the parking lot to our upgraded breakfast room are rewarded with a generous hot breakfast at no extra expense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The room didn't seem clean and the building was very run down. Plus it was overpriced due to their being a rodeo in town so a terrible room cost over 100 bucks. Very poor experience, would not have stayed there if I would have known the quality of the rooms





Room Tip: Rooms were small and seemed like the walls were very thin so I felt like our neighbors could hear us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We thank you for your taking time to evaluate your stay with us. We guarantee cleanliness and are subject to supply/ demand economics like most businesses. There was a rodeo and rates did double at the properties around us while we increased by only $10 per night. Also we offered a great breakfast which our local competitors do not although they are quick to double rates. Like politics all business economics is "local". Our customers often use social media and 'tripadvisor' without this understanding. Here's to better understanding and communication in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The room is outdated. The bathtub needs to be replaced because the drainer got rusted. The bathtub drainer got clogged. The showerhead is too low. I am 5 ft 11 in. The shower head is at 5 feet. It needs to be moved higher. The breakfast is across the parking lot. It is separate building. The mattress is old and uncomfortable. The shower curtain got mold. There is a sign on the shower wall saying they have very limited hot water. What a joke. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheridanManager2013, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We like to think of our older property as having a rustic charm and we are continually upgrading our furnishings. Thanks for giving us high grades for service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in Sheridan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Sheridan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#2 of 19 in Sheridan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan
Address: 580 E 5th St, Sheridan, WY 82801-3119 (Formerly Best Value Inn Sheridan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned by the Johnson family for two decades, we offer a clean, friendly, and restful sleep with a hot breakfast to start your next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing