We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the basics”

King's Saddlery and Museum
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is home to a large collection of artifacts from the Old West and tools of the modern cowboy.
Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Back to the basics”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stopped in on our last visit to Sheridan and it was worth it! The store has a variety of items for horses but there was also another side to it that had home decor items as well. The museum is across the alley from the actual store located on the main street. We watched them making ropes and we even picked up a few for our boys to practice. They have every size rope and made from many different materials all priced very reasonably! We checked out the museum and there is so much to see and read you could easily spend half a day in there. The museum asked for a $2 donation and you cannot learn that much from a museum for so cheap! I would take the time to stop in for this one!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank biancas61886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    53
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loaded with great old western gear”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is packed with interesting old tack. As a collector of old spurs it was fun to go look at the rare old ones in there. The rawhide braided things were another favorite. The old saddle making shop is great too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great history and a MUST see if anywhere near Sheridan!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have little experience with the Old Western way of life but this place FAR exceeded what we even expected! It's a suggested $2 donation (COMPLETELY worth it!) and the artifacts and old saddles on exhibition were amazing! Just the smell of the leather walking into the museum was cool! Our 2 kids ages 9 and 11 LOVED it and we could have stayed for hours, or even taken 2 days to see everything, but didn't budget time correctly! Don't skip this great place and take the time to learn about the history of the Old West!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank USMCvet-RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

For a $2 entrance fee, this is an absolute bargain if you enjoy looking at guns, saddles, ropes, harnesses and related memorabilia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A forgone time”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This museum is a gem of the good days in the west. Not your routine museum, what other place can you go and see it still being utilized by the people it represents, "cowboys". During our visit several customers came in either buying items or having their equipment (saddle, spurs) repaired.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rettup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Saddlery and Museum also viewed

 

Been to King's Saddlery and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing