We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stimulating but relaxing!”
Review of Red Reflet Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Reflet Ranch
Worland, Wyoming
1 review
“Stimulating but relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent New Year's eve at the Red Feflet and we enjoy a 8 course dinning experience that was absolutely delicious and creative. Chef Tracy is excellent at her profession. The host, Bob and Laurance make everyone feel so welcome and special. The views are dessert for the eyes and relaxing for the spirit. The chalets are sitting peacefully on a cliff overlooking awesome scenery. I would wish that everyone could experience the Red Reflet Ranch at least once.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susienwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
26
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worland
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

What a wonderful experience we three had over the Christmas Season. Very beautiful Chalet, excellent dining, terrific surround sound movie room, the views amazing every where we went. Beds comfortable, nice easy carefree feeling the entire time there. Would have liked more snow but you can't control Mother nature!

Room Tip: I believe staying anywhere on this property would prove to be exceptional indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is our 2nd visit, although my wife has also been here another time for some horse medicine training by herself. This time we had a very nice experience. We were welcomed so nicely by everyone. The five-course meal was well-thought out and the service was unusually friendly. Even the chef came out to meet us and make sure everything was perfect. Since we live in a rural area there is very seldom an opportunity for a dining experience as unique as this. Our server took time to explain each course. This Red Reflet is a jewell hidden away in a most beautiful setting. Guests are treated with great care here. I can understand why those who come for an extended stay find it so remarkable. In today's busy and hectic world this is an experience of relaxation and enjoyment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our stay at Red Reflet in August, 2012 was truly an experience our family will cherish forever. Our two children (ages 8 and 10) continually ask when we will return. (Our daughter cried when saying good-bye to owner Laurence Kaplan the day we departed). More than three months later the children continue to talk about our visit on a regular basis. What made it so special? The natural beauty of the ranch and the surrounding environment is stunning. The accomodations are comfortable and luxurious. The staff is friendly and accomodating in a very natural and easygoing way. Upon arrival we were introduced to Tammy (one of the wranglers and such a lovely person) who selected horses for us and devoted as much time as we needed to getting us acquainted with our horses and providing riding instructions in the indoor ring (we are not experienced horseback riders). After completing our introductory riding lesson, we were each provided with our own ATV for use during our stay (kids too!). We were given a comprehensive lesson in how to operate it safely. In our chalet, our fridge and cabinets had been stocked prior to our arrival with hand-picked items we had requested. Each night at dinner (served family style at 7pm in the gorgeous main ranch house) we enjoyed a glass of wine and delicious hors d'oeuvres while sharing the day's experiences with the Kaplans and the other guests. The hospitality director inquired each evening as to what our family would like to do the following day, and he designed our itinerary accordingly. Chef Tracy greeted us each evening with a mouth-watering description of what we would enjoy for dinner, always keeping the details of dessert (prepared by the fabulous pastry chef) a secret until we were finished eating dinner. The food at Red Reflet is OUTSTANDING, much of it sourced from the ranch itself. The Kaplans ate dinner with us each night and we enjoyed wonderful dinner conversation with them and the other guests (all of whom were interesting and well-traveled people, including two families visiting from Europe). A special surprise each evening was the box of home baked goods waiting for us upon departure from dinner which we would enjoy the next morning at our chalet, such as freshly baked muffins or scones. While at the ranch we enjoyed horse back riding as a family each day on beautiful trails with our own guide and ATV riding throughout the extensive ranch property. Our children learned how to shoot at the rifle range. A special treat was our afternoon on the exciting zipline on the property. My daughter rode her ATV to the garden and chicken coop each morning to asist in collecting the eggs from the coop, some of which we then brought back to our chalet to cook for breakfast. The gardener, who is also a local school teacher, spent time with her touring the garden and letting her pick carrots and other vegetables. A litter of puppies had been born a few weeks prior to our arrival, and our children loved visiting and playing with them in the barn each day. After each busy day full of activities, we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub on our deck, enjoying the gorgeous scenery. As guests at Red Reflet, we did not feel like hotel guests but felt that we were welcomed as special houseguests into the Kaplan's home. The owners and staff are so incredibly warm and welcoming that upon departure, we felt that we were leaving friends behind.

Room Tip: The view from the Pond Chalet is divine. A roomy and comfortable chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mps84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Red Reflet is such an experience. Being British, living this real American experience was fascinating. The owners, Bob and Laurence, were the most incredible hosts. They were so generous with everything they provided from the food, to the activities, the luxury accommodation, to devoting their time to ensuring you have the most wonderful stay. I will never forget how kind they were. You cannot possible get bored at Red Reflet. The activities are never ending. They are thrilling, exhilarating, exciting and adventurous. I plan to make this a regular trip for our family. It was truly amazing. Luke, Camilla and Daisy

Room Tip: We stayed in the couples chalet and we have a little baby. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillabelderbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What is Luxury? Having the maitre d' in an expensive restaurant recognize your $100 tip and give you a great table? Having the signature massage and facial at the top spa even though you are client number 20 for that day. There is no doubt that these things are luxurious but Red Reflet Ranch offers the kind of luxury that often you can't buy at any price.

The owners of Red Reflet Ranch , Lawrence (a woman who is smart, witty and gorgeous) and Bob (a man who is intelligent, engaging and knowledgable), are personally involved with making sure that every guest is treated like a valued friend. Every day that you stay you will hear someone on the staff say to you "This is your holiday, What would you like to do to today to make it great for you?' The ranch is set up so there are a limited number of guest groups at any one time so the staff really knows you individually and cares a lot about your time with them.

Let me tell you, these are the friends that you want to have. The ranch property, the lodge and the accommodation in chalets and the farm house are absolutely beautiful. I stayed for 8 days at the beginning of September with 2 friends and even at the end of a summer's tourist season and long drought the place was fresh and refreshing.

There is something for everyone here. Hiking (often guided by Lawrence herself to places you would never find on your own), riding, lounging and enjoying your chalet or the lodge, eating and drinking (here, meal time really is an activity and not just something you do between activities) rock climbing, zip lining, watching a movie in the 'in house' theatre, ATV excursions... If you have any special interest, you just talk with Lawrence or any of the staff about it and they make it happen because they really care and want you to have the best time you can.

The horses here are top notch. They are chosen with care, well trained and kept very healthy. Clay and Tammy, who run the horse program, are highly skilled and have been working with horses most of their lives. Quite honestly they are just wonderful to be around and are easy to become friends with. John and the other cowboys (the real deal) whose real job is to work with the cattle are gracious to the guests and you feel respect for the lifestyle they have chosen. They find the right mount for each guest's experience and there are so many interesting and beautiful places to ride!!! The cowboys are handsome and the cowgirls are spunky and you can, just for the moment, feel like you are a part of it.

Chef Tracy is an unexpected bonus. Highly trained, she could be running a kitchen at an upscale restaurant in a big city (come to think of it, she did!) but luckily for us she likes the Wyoming spaces so seems satisfied to wow the guests with her fabulous cuisine.

Read the review written by the woman ellen. I agree with all that she says, too.

If you want to experience the west (the real west, we're talking Butch Cassidy and The Cattle Range Wars, rodeos and the Big Horn Basin, here) but without chuck wagon dinners for 50 and roughing it in some little log hut, you really need to go to The Red Reflet Ranch.

Room Tip: Panorama Chalet has amazing long views from balcony and main bedroom. I like it best. Couples Chal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iCandy0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I just returned from a 5-day stay at Red Reflet Ranch where I went with a girl-friend to celebrate her birthday. We both love to ride horses and that was the high-light of our trip, riding up to 5 hours each day! Clay and Tammy were very fun (and funny!) and we felt like good friends by the end of our visit. We tried different horses until we found the perfect fit, and they picked out new, beautiful spots for us to ride to each day: along creeks, through aspen and juniper forests, along the edge of a canyon, from the mountain cabin, to the "Top of the World", and along the cliffs of the red mesas that the ranch is named for. We even got to round up cattle! We loved our accommodations in the Panorama Chalet: very luxurious. They stocked the chalet prior to our arrival with breakfast things including multi-colored fresh eggs from their chickens and freshly made pastries each morning (thanks to the resident baker, Stephanie!). We ate lunch and dinner at the lodge with Laurence and Bob, who are the owners, competing in Bananagrams while having appetizers and drinks, then enjoying the excellent and imaginative cooking of Tracy, their chef. Our waistlines got progressively tighter! We barely had time for the other things they arranged for us: zip-lining, hiking on an elk recon (we found them!), dinner up at the mountain cabin, and shooting lessons with Mikey. We needed that hot tub on the deck before bed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Reflet Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Reflet Ranch

Property: Red Reflet Ranch
Address: 10 Lodge Rd, Ten Sleep, WY 82442-8878
Region: United States > Wyoming > Ten Sleep
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ten Sleep
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Reflet Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Red Reflet Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Reflet Ranch Hotel Ten Sleep
Red Reflet Ranch Ten Sleep, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing