We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay in the heart of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Greenport, Long Island Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in the heart of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

This place was great. Upon arrival, the exterior resembles a chalet in the Alps, with giant beams, and stonework - very charming. The reception was warm and inviting. We were upgraded, so that is always nice, and there were homemade cookies set out as we entered the hotel. Little things mean a lot. There is a very convenient secure room for skis, etc. There is even a blond lab who was lying flat on her back for anyone to come on up and pet. The room was immaculate, and had every convenience. The only thing that was not perfect was the wireless internet connection - but, hey we were there to ski!
The hotel is located at the base of the Teton Village ski resort, and very close to the lifts.
We ate several meals at the cafe, as well as the Bistro restaurant. The breakfast was a heart full buffet style and there was polenty of variety. The lunches were also quite good. We had dinner there once (on Super Bowl Sunday) so it was quite lively. The food was authentic schnitzel, and goulash, and it was all delicious. I really have nothing but praise. We own a top rated B&B in Long Island Wine Country, The Stirling House B&B in Greenport, so we set very high standards. The price was reasonable for a resort area so well situated. It might not have the sleek new hotel feel, but that is exactly what we were looking for

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stirlinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    101
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
89
128
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

This was the fourth year we've spent a week skiing JHMR, and we've always stayed at the Alpenhof. On the plus side, the European/Alpine ambiance is great for this beautiful ski resort. The room rates are probably the lowest of the ski-in, ski-out lodging choices. The location is prime, as the Alpenhof was the first hotel built in Teton Village. The staff has always been so warm and helpful. Everyone always seems to actually really care that their guests are properly cared for. As for improvement, the bathrooms really need to be updated/brought up a level. They're like my grandma's back in the 1970's. Clean, yes, but not special in any way. Also, the breakfast buffet has gone WAY DOWN over the years. The first year we stayed here, we couldn't get over how lucky we were to have such an amazing breakfast included in the price of our room! Each successive year, we've been less and less impressed, and this year, I'd have to say it was a big disappointment. Previously, it was a big part of what kept us coming back to the Alpenhof. Now, I think it might be the thing that motivates me to check out some of the other hotels at the bottom of the mountain. Maybe try something different next year?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killergriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Good

- Very close to the Teton Village gondola, good proximity to Grand Teton National Park.
- Comfortable, cozy room.
- Free wi-fi internet, plus internet access in the lobby.
- Friendly, helpful staff.
- Unique Swiss-type architecture/atmosphere.
- Better-than-average breakfast buffet in a restaurant dining room.

Not As Good

- Rooms and common areas feel somewhat tired/dated. Different, but not really romantic.
- No special views.
- The hot tub / pool area was not particularly inviting at night.
- At the time of our visit, the roads going most directly into the park were so poor, I would only consider them passable in a rental car (but not my own car)... hotel staff directed us (and rightly so) via a much longer route from the airport to avoid the poor roads and going through the park in the dark.
- Prices in this area are generally somewhat high for what you get.
- Parking lot was somewhat strangely organized.
- Although a grocery option was nearby, it was limited/pricey. Better options are miles away in Jackson.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
338 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel was right next to the lift in Teton Village. Right now it is inbetween their summer and winter season so it was pretty uiet. The people at the front desk were friendly and efficient. The room was lovely. My husband who has traveled in Europe and Switzerland says he felt just like he was in a hotel in Bern or Zollokofen. The bed was very comfortable and immaculate. The wifi was free and the bathroom was very clean. The towels artistically arranged. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, waffles, potatoes, bacon,sausage, eggs and cereal and pstries, china places and cups beats the heck out of some other breakfast at chain hotels.Sam, their golden retriever mascot was asleep by the front desk. I enjoyed this weekend .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We needed a place that could accomodate myself, wife and one and half year old. We were able to get a suite which was perfect. The staff was super helpful and very friendly. They went out of their way to help steer us to activities our son would like and knew where all the best spots of Jackson were. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh fruit and various other breakfast foods. Best of all it was included in the stay for free. We love Jackson Hole and have found the place we will stay every time we come out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcstar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We have stayed at the Alpenhof for at least 10 years and this year were so disappointed that we are not likely to stay again. They used to have a wonderful breakfast and now it was barely edible and the coffee was worse. Very clean room though and the location in Teton Village is still perfect. But the Alpenhof is now not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahSavytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierce, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

The location is very convenient for travellers going to the GTNP and Yellowstone, while also being close to Jackson. The included breakfast was great - with eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage along with standard continental breakfast fare. We were able to eat a good breakfast, travel throughout the day and not have to eat another meal until evening! The room we stayed in was somewhat small, but we were only in the room to sleep, so it worked out fine. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
0.0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
8.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing