We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”
Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hostel
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved this place”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had driven 10 hour from Estes Park, Co. to see the Tetons. By the time we got there, we were, needless to say, a bit weary. The staff was accommodating and pleasant, and the room was clean, but rustic, we knew that it would be, though. It was the perfect setting, both inside and out, for what we needed it for...simply an overnite place to rest our heads. Please do not miss out on the entire property, both inside and out. Would have stayed there longer, but already vacationing in Colorado, simply an adventure we decided to take. Thank you so much. Will mention to all of our friends who are venturing to the Tetons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    87
    41
    33
    26
See reviews for
73
66
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Tough to rate this one. If I simply compared it to a name brand full service hotel, I'd give it 1 or 2 stars. But this place is one third the price. It's all about expectations and what's important to you. We stayed for 2 nights after a backpacking trip, knew what to expect, and it was fine. The walls are thin, the floors are thin, people are friendly. Don't expect isolated privacy. You will hear your neighbors and you will hear people walking past the property. If you leave your door open for ventilation, expect other guests to stop by while you're sorting your gear. Every single guest and staff member I saw was friendly and considerate.

The place quiets down around 11p and gets going again around 7a. If that's the time window you like to sleep in, you should be okay.

This is not a typical hostel with shared rooms and baths, although there are a few choices like that. Most rooms are 1 king bed (actually 2 twins shoved together) or double bunk beds, both types with private bath (nice new fixtures this year).

There is no AC, no TV, no shampoo, no hair dryers, no phone, no alarm clock. They provide soap, towels, pillows, and linens. Simple.

First tip: Try for the top floor away from the stairs. The stairs and external walkways are old, wooden, creaky, and shaky.

Second tip: if you're driving, bring a small window fan and a 25 foot extension cord (there are no outlets near the window). It will really help cool the room down in the evening. Otherwise, there is very little air flow.

Third tip: If you like coffee, bring some quarters and a cup. There is surprisingly good coffee in the lobby in the mornings for $0.25 with your own cup and $0.50 if you use their cup.

Fourth tip: Ask the staff for retaurant recommendations in the Village and in Wilson. Tell them what you want and they'll give you good advice.

Say hi to the mountains for me. I miss them already!

Room Tip: Try for top floor room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retailwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here one night before a backpacking trip and one at the end. It was a perfect choice because of the easy-going and helpful staff and the location right at the trail's start. The Hostel has laundry facilities, a nice yard to relax in and a basement lounge that is probably pretty popular during ski season. The room was fine for the two of us. Everything was clean and worked well. My only complaint was that it is not the place to stay if you want to go to bed early. The mainly younger clientele stay up late and you can hear every conversation and activity from several surrounding rooms. If you are a night owl, it should not be a problem and the value for your money is clear.

Room Tip: I like having a room on the eastern facing side (west looks across at a hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Clean room, however very dark. No A/C. Only little window. It's only a hostel so don't expect anything more than a bed,little table and chairs. Actually we stayed in a room with so called king size bed and private bathroom. Comparing to the room itself bathroom looked quite new and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wu_Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

By hostel standards, this place is the epitome of luxury - by hotel standards, like a nice Motel 6. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, and the coffee in the lobby was the best hotel coffee I've ever tasted. I was worried from some of the reviews that the hostel might be loud & rowdy, but not at all - I saw as many older couples like us as I did young people (although be warned, there's no elevator so if you have issues with stairs this place isn't for you). There was no AC, but at this altitude it's hardly necessary, even in July - we brought our own small fan and it made the room the perfect temperature. This is the perfect home base for attending the Teton Music Festival, hiking in Grand Teton National Park, and living almost like a rich person at middle-class prices. Our home base in Jackson from now on will be the hostel - just be sure to book early because word is getting out about this wonderful place & rooms fill up fast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband, the dog and I stayed here for two nights in mid June 2011. We wanted somewhere dog-friendly, affordable and close enough to YNP and GTNP to visit both on our short stay. The Hostel is a mile from the south entrance of GTNP. About an 1-1.5 hrs to Yellowstone driving through Grand Teton NP. We drove up to Yellowstone for a day trip and made it back to the same evening...doable, but not suggested....it was a whirlwind. The photos on The Hostel's website lead you to believe it is more remote than it is. There a several new, huge resorts right next to it, dwarfing it in comparison. Anyway, the room was adequate in size, clean and "rustic". Only complaint is that we were on the bottom floor and could hear people "galloping" on the walkway above. We walked through, but didn't spend time in the common area (TV room, game room, lounge), but it looked nice...it reminded me of a college dorm. In all, we enjoyed our stay at the Hostel. It was a cheaper alternative to the resorts nearby. I'd stay again for a visit to the Tetons!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chulaleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had a room and a cowboy style king and a shower. Air conditioning or even a window that would open would have been nice. The walls were actually bare plywood! Every movement on the second floor could be heard. For my $95 a night, I got the Internet, no air, no tv, lots of noise and not much else. I stay at mom and pop places all the time, but this is too basic for me. They do have a nice cat in the lobby. I'll spend the $135+ in Jackson next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4catcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Teton Village hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#5 of 7 in Teton Village
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
23.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Property: The Hostel
Address: 3315 Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel, a classic slope-side ski lodge at the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, and a great summertime base for exploring the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Newly renovated rooms in Spring of 2011 for an affordable, clean and comfortable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Teton Village
The Hostel Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing