We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a great Hostel. Friendly, helpful, and a great bargain for Teton Village.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hostel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was a great Hostel. Friendly, helpful, and a great bargain for Teton Village.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I found it delightful. Everything I expect in a Hostel. My room had been redone recently it was better than most Hostels I have been in. New carpet, sink counter and new shower had been put in. Front desk friendly and helpful. Talk about a bargain compared to everything else in Teton Village. Great bargain and you get to enjoy the special parts of Teton Village. I have been here twice and would love to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skoobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    86
    41
    32
    25
See reviews for
73
66
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I was worried when reading other reviews and I'm happy to report I was worried about nothing.

It's very minimal, but to be honest, what do we do on vacation? Go out and enjoy life, right? Not sit inside all day and mope about our temporary accommodations.

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay here immensely! A previous reviewer commented on the clientele: flower children and foreigners. They were right, yet somehow we managed to go see the sights and enjoy the vacation. (Sarcastic response to dumb comment, what does that matter anyway?)

The room wasn't lit efficiently and the walls were plywood, wasn't air conditioned but had a fan, no TV, clock, or phone, floors were creaky, bare essentials all around, yet we enjoyed our stay.

New shower in our bathroom was a nice surprise, however.

Didn't use their community room, was busy enjoying our vacation.

Only dealt with staff during check-in. We arrived about 3hrs early but was allowed to check in 1hr early when the room was ready. We just walked around and got acclimated to the village. The staff person was nice.

Our bed was comfortable. We had fresh towels and bed was made each day while we were out and about.

The Hostel is what you make of it. I can't imagine paying double/sometimes triple what we paid for spending so little time inside for mere conveniences. Enjoy your time in WY, crash here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HurleyJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teton Village, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved my time at the hostel! The staff was friendly and hardworking, the rooms were simple but clean, and the location and price are incredible! I personally loved it there, it's an old wood construction building that is full of charm. If you're looking for a four or five star hotel, you're likely to be disappointed, and if you NEED television in your room, keep looking, but if you're a regular person who doesn't mind actually talking to your family instead of being glued to a television, you'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I know, it said hostel but the price at 132.00 I expected way more. I have stayed at many hostels for far less money. The room was dark and full of cob webs. It had one tiny little window. Don't do it if there is anyway you can stay somewhere else. I would call this place a dump. Karen Freeman

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenmaryfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Teton Village hotels

Sr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night in the room with private bath and 4 twin beds. We were only expecting a decent/ livable place and nothing very fancy but alas our room turned out to be extremely small, dingy and suffocating! The common area at the basement was no better- dirty tables and non-functional appliances! Quite a disappointment for a place charging 100+ for a night!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rizwan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Choose The Hostel due to the cost and location. I was not expecting anything fancy and it is not, but since my main concern was a private and comfortable place to stay it was perfect.
This is a hostel after all and does not come with any frills or extras. It is also a older building and has notty pine through out...this was a plus for me as I personally like notty pine.
Yes the wood creaked and groaned when you walked on it, but that just added to the charm in my opinion. As with any 'tourist' type location there are going to be difficulties, one was the parking situation - but read up on Teton Village and you will find there is a huge parking lot in the central part of the village with a free shuttle.
Chris was a big help with recommendations for places to eat in Jackson and surrounding area if you don't want to eat in the Village and all of the staff was friendly and helpful.
My Mother (73) and I stayed 4 nights, she enjoyed the 'character' of The Hostel.

It is not a Hotel and it is not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudPurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We pick this places becouse we wanted an affordable price. Paid over 100 for a night - it is way too much for a shelter made of wood. But when I was looking for the place neer Teton Park I really did not wanted to overspend or be driving too much. Comes out the place was not near or the cheapest to our destination. We stayed there 2 nights. It is really simple place. The rooms are very small, makes you suffocate. There were 4 of us and the child. I saw pictures of the room online but for the reasons I explained above i thought we were going to be fine. The first expression when you enter the room you just go pale. The room are very simple, ugly like, grey, sad, and so small. Beds are tiny. For me is the motel for poor students not the family. We hang our colorful jackets on the wall to give more chearfull appearance. The one that slept by the window said the cold was coming from it. I always say if you on the road trip and want the motel just to sleep in it does not matter. Not this time. It was a motel-horror and I would not recomend to nobody. Not for this price. If you do not want to spend evening in the super small room you may use a large lobby. Also the service is very nice, helpful and that's a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niebieski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teton Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#5 of 7 in Teton Village
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Property: The Hostel
Address: 3315 Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel, a classic slope-side ski lodge at the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, and a great summertime base for exploring the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Newly renovated rooms in Spring of 2011 for an affordable, clean and comfortable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Teton Village
The Hostel Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing