We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Coachman Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thermopolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coachman Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Thermopolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Having just returned to the UK I cannot believe some of the comments I have read. This Motel is brilliant. Clean spacious rooms, delightful staff, especially reception, and a wonderful breakfast. Even a cheery goodbye from housekeepers the following morning. All I can say is that if you don't like it - don't go. All the more room for me on my next visit tothe USA. Without doubt, the best Motel on our three week visit to Wyoming and Colorado. Many thanks Coachman - we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillianandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

I will say this is a comfortable clean hotel, a few minutes from downtown and Hot Springs Park with decent breakfast for families on a budget, but bewarned that you need to be a sound sleeper to have a great stay. We were in the corner smoking room (forgot to explicitely ask for non-smoking when I called - so remember if its important to you). The room was big, clean, and unique.

However, the AC unit which consistently went on and off was insanely loud during startup, and would wake both us and our 11 month up every 30-60 minutes. When on, it was loud but a least consistent white noise, which was better than listening to the next door neighbor's TV running all night, loud and clear through some poorly insulated walls. I might stay here again if well inebriated to sleep through the thin walls and loud AC, but certainly not with a baby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank locolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Nice room, good location with plenty of activities: rafting, Fun at the thermopolis water parks, dinosaur museum... And the best hotel staff ever offering an excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank Cyrille-Revel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We took a detour through Thermopolis on our way home from Yellowstone and stayed at the Coachman. It was nothing fancy, but reasonable value for the money. Our room was large and clean, very plain and perhaps a little tired looking. It smelled musty, I think from the A/C. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was simple but good, although I'm actually surprised to see this motel listed under TripAdvisor as a B&B. We paid $60 for our last minute stay, compared to a $150 quote for a smoking room at the Holiday Inn in Cody, WY, so overall, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the Coachman for 4 nights for a family reunion that took place in Thermopolis. We chose this motel because we weren't charged for the roll-away bed and they offered a great hot breakfast every morning--waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs and somtimes a fruit salad. We stayed here with our 4 kids ages 12 to 4 and there was enough space in the room for the roll-away bed and our 4 year old slept on a mat on the floor. The room also had a refrigerator and a microwave which we used a few times to keep bottled water and soda cold and we even made some microwave popcorn. Family vacations can be really expensive and by choosing a budget friendly motel we were able to splurge on some of the fun attractions in town like the dinosaur museum and the Star Plunge hot springs. The beds were on the firm side which I didn't mind, but my husband wished they were softer. The towels and bed linens are definitely worn, but not worn out. This is not a fancy place, but for the price and our needs, it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

On our trip to Yellowstone we took a 2-day side trip to Thermopolis. We chose the Coachman Inn, and am glad we did. The owners are amazingly nice and helpful, and made us feel as if we were friends of the family staying with them. They went out of their way to help us out with anything we asked. Breakfast was delicious -- especially the waffles!!! The rooms were very clean and well cared for. Others in our party stayed in a room that was currently under renovation but was fully functional. All in all, the Cummings family clearly loves caring for their guests. They made us feel as if we were staying in a Bed & Breakfast. I am very glad we chose the Coachman Inn and would definitely stay again on a future visit to Thermopolis.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nygns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We booked this motel based on previous reviews and what a mistake that was. Firstly we phoned up to change our booking and they didn't have us booked in. Luckily they had a spare room for the 2 nights we requested. There was a reunion on at the same time as our stay. We checked in and paid for 2 nights. We had the family room for the 1st night which has 4 queen beds and a bunk all in the same room. There is heaps of space but no privacy once the children went to bed. The bathroom is tiny compared to the size of the room. But the worst thing is you can hear everything from your neighbours room. We could clearly hear their conversations not to mention the TV. Unfortunately our neighbours were up most of the night and the paper thin walls didn't allow us to get much sleep.
The next morning we asked to check out (not because of our poor room,) but my husband couldn't get cellphone coverage (overseas network) and this was critical for his job. Reluctantly she gave us our money back but was very rude in the process.
The breakfast is adequate but when we asked for more fruit she said there was none and quickly scooped the bowl of remaining fruit away.
They certainly need a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank trippersNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
6.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 3 in Thermopolis
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn Motel

Address: 112 US Highway 20 S, Thermopolis, WY 82443-9403
Region: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thermopolis
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing