We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain of Youth Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible motel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Dirty room, dirty carpets, dirty curtains, boards under the mattress, rubbish bins overflowing under the stairs.....nothing good about this place. Don't waste your time and money staying here. Only one restaurant in town was open. A real disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, PR
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Like another reviewer, we stayed here because it was the last room in town. If this happens to you, I'd suggest you just keep on driving to the next town, because this place is a dump. Apparently we got a room that has not yet been remodeled. The carpet was old and stained. The room was filled with mismatched, stained furniture left over from the 80's., including some old kitchen cabinets tipped onto their side and repurposed into tables. The TV was on when we arrived, leading us to believe someone had just been in the room.... There was some cheese stored in the refrigerator. The a/c did not work and the room was hot. The blinds were bent up and not covered with any curtains. TV remote did not work. There is no closet; the wall was broken through the back of the closet to make a "suite" (but the walls were never finished). On the positive side, the linens seemed cleaned, we slept well, and there were some nice toiletries in the bathroom.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thermopolis hotels

Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We decided to stay the night in Thermoplolis after travelling all day. We were disappointed to find that EVERY room in town was occupied by a large group from out of town. After checking out other properties with no help offered, the new manager of the Hot Springs Inn offered to see if he could help. He just had a cancellation and offered it to us a a better rate than any other we saw, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS THE LAST ROOM IN TOWN! We found it to be a little quirky, well done, quiet, and would definitely stay there again if we are in the area. The manager was also helpful in directing us to great places to eat. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowacloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our room was freshly decorated and smelled nice. What surprised us is how huge the room was! In fact, we had spent the night before in one of the upscale hotels in the State Park and this room was quite a bit better - and $50 cheaper!

The bathroom was fresh and clean and looked brand new. There was a full-size kitchen area with plenty of cupboards, a full-size double sink, microwave, and full-size fridge. A table and two chairs make it an overall nice place to spend a week or two.

The onsite manager was quick to respond to our needs and gave us an incredible rate of $39 plus tax for two people! In Thermopolis, you won't find a lower rate than that... and this room was huge, comfy, and the mattresses were good (not great, but we slept well).

We missed it while we were there, but they were getting ready to open up an onsite Mexican restaurant in the main motel building.

The only drawback we noticed is that it's located at a busy intersection, so you do hear traffic, but not much. The heater was a bit noisy, too, but overall, we were very pleased!

Room Tip: If you want a large size room, a full kitchen (minus a stove), with all the comfort of home, try Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a strange little hotel. Everything is borderline good and bad. Starting with the parking lot, very hard to manuver and takes some brainpower to figure out how the layout works. But I suppose it was worth it, because the staff made it all the more great. They're ever-helping and really bend over backwards for any need or want you desire, even at midnight! The room itself wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good. I had to climb some very rustic stairs that look like they're still going under remodeling, but perfectly good enough to walk on, the room was a tad on the smaller side, but the overall theme was intriuging. Very well put together, but not completely properly cleaned, there was still dirt and dust on the table, but at least the sheets and towels were immaculate. The TV was very nice, a nice HD flatscreen with great cable reception. No it didn't have a DVD player, but if I was going to be traveling around with a bunch of DVDs I would have bought my own player. The minifridge truly was mini, very tini, but managable nonetheless. The bed had an interesting design to it, but it was very comfortable. The room still looked like it was in the process of remodeling, which I believe everything here is, new owners and whatnot. But I definately enjoyed my stay, can't wait to see what they can do to the place once the remodeling is finished.

Room Tip: It's right next to the center of town, which is a nice touch, when you're not trying to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We are a family of four with two small girls under the age of six. We were on a family vacation. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had planned to stay two separate nights, but had to cancel the first night due to an unexpected work event. We were given a full refund for that first night and were able to more over the other night by one day without any further charges. The staff was able to answer most of our questions and was helpful in deciding what to do with our short time in Thermopolis. There was free Wifi, and we had no trouble at all accessing the internet. Unfortunately, that was all that was good about our stay. A free continental breakfast and free access to one of the hot springs pools was advertised but when we asked the staff about them, we were told these were no longer available due to a change in ownership. Aparently between the time we booked and the time we stayed, ownership had changed and no one bothered to update the website to indicate these ammenities were no longer available. There were also no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no alarm clock, no phone, no dresser, no desk/table, no shampoo, no hangers, and no dvd player in the room. There was a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. However, there was no access to an outlet to plug in the microwave without moving the microwave. There was a tv with cable, but there was so much static that at times it was very difficult to see the picture. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work. The curtains allowed the light to shine through in the morning. The water took 10 minutes to warm up. There were exposed bed boards under the mattress. The pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. The carpet was very dirty and in desperate need of upgrading. Overall the room was run-down and in need of remodeling. We were very disappointed in the lack of ammenities for the $87.00 we paid. We would not recommend this hotel to our worst enemy. And if we ever find ourselves staying in Thermopolis again, we will definately pay a little more money to stay in one of the much nicer hotels in the area like Best Western or Days Inn. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family of Four B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there July 22nd 2012, just passing through on our way home. I read the reviews and thought it would be an ok place to stay since we were just stopping through. Not only was the room smelly and musky but it was filthy! I wouldn't get in the shower with out my flip flops on. And then in the morning when I went to wash my face I found a bunch black trimmed pubic hairs in the hand towel. Definitely not worth $65!! I would've slept in my car if I had known it was that bad. The owner didn't even refund ANY of my money after telling him about the hairs. Apparently pubic hairs in your hand towel doesn't necessitate any sort of refund at the Hot Springs Inn. There are lot of better motels and hotels just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler999933423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paintbrush Inn
Paintbrush Inn
#8 of 8 in Thermopolis
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain of Youth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain of Youth Inn

Property: Fountain of Youth Inn
Address: 600 Broadway St, Thermopolis, WY 82443-2720 (Formerly Hot Springs Inn)
Region: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fountain of Youth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing